Sudley House

Sudley House
Mossley Hill Road, Aigburth, Liverpool, L18 8BX
Photo of Sudley House

Jump to times or comments

A historic house based in Aigburth in Liverpool, Sudley House was built in 1824 and now contains the collection of former resident George Holt. The museum and art gallery is known for having paintings by Turner, Rossetti, Holman Hunt and many others.

The house also has a children's room with toys and games formerly belonging to upper and middle class children and a small world room with miniature toys, dolls and transport.

Entry to the house is free and there is a shop, tearoom and picnic area available. Sudley House can be found approximately 20 minutes from Liverpool city centre. Parking is limited so public transport is recommended where possible. The number 61 bus to Elmswood Road, the 82 to Aigburth Road and the 80 or 80A bus to Rose Lane will get you to the house.

Events at this venue

There are 8 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

Autumn Wind Chimes

Come along to our monthly family workshop at Sudley House.This month we will be creating a wooden wind chime inspired by natural beauty surrounding the house.

Sat 22 Sep

Free / 0151 478 4016

Focus on…Pre-Raphaelites

Find out more about this influential circle of artists. There will be a particular emphasis on paintings by Millais, Holman Hunt and Rossetti, all of whom have works featuring in the Sudley House collection.

Fri 17 Aug

Free / 0151 478 4016

Halloween Headgear

Come along to our monthly family workshop at Sudley House.This month we will be creating spooky Halloween headgear. Choose from Day of the Dead headbands or Halloween crowns.

Sat 20 Oct

Free / 0151 478 4016

Highlights tour

Join our Visitor Host for an introduction to Sudley House and the Holt family, focusing on some of the wonderful paintings in our collection.

Tue 17 Jul

Free / 0151 478 4016

Sat 21 Jul

Free / 0151 478 4016

Tue 24 Jul

Free / 0151 478 4016

…and 3 more dates until 28 Aug

Tue 17 Jul

Free / 0151 478 4016

Wed 18 Jul

Free / 0151 478 4016

Thu 19 Jul

Free / 0151 478 4016

…and 353 more dates until 10 Jul 2019

Model Image

Join Pauline Rushton, Senior Curator of Decorative Arts, for a talk about the life and career of June Duncan, one of Britain’s top fashion models in the 1950s. June was born in Mossley Hill, Liverpool and worked in London and Paris, modelling for magazines like Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar and Vanity Fair.

Wed 5 Sep

Free / 0151 478 4016

Wed 3 Oct

Free / 0151 478 4016

Wed 7 Nov

Free / 0151 478 4016

Wed 5 Dec

Free / 0151 478 4016

Tea and chat

Tea and chat is part of our 'meet me at the museum' series of free events for older people. Enjoy a nostalgic look back with different themes each session. Everyone is welcome! You can come on your own and make some new friends or bring a pal.

Fri 3 Aug

Free / 0151 478 4016

Fri 7 Sep

Free / 0151 478 4016

Fri 5 Oct

Free / 0151 478 4016

…and 2 more dates until 7 Dec

Teddy bears' picnic

Bring your favourite teddy bear, pack a rug and picnic, and join us for our annual Teddy Bears Picnic with lots of fun for all the family!

Sat 18 Aug

Free / 0151 478 4016

Post a comment