Woodley Theatre, The Oakwood Centre

Woodley Theatre, The Oakwood Centre
Headley Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG5 4JZ

Jump to times or comments

Event times

There are 7 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

The Chalk Garden

Considering it belongs to the watershed era of ‘Look Back in Anger’, the critic Kenneth Tynan wrote of this piece ‘On Wednesday night the West End theatre justified its existence. The play was a triumph!’

Tue 21 Nov

Wed 22 Nov

Thu 23 Nov

…and 2 more dates until 25 Nov

Dial M For Murder

Famously filmed by Alfred Hitchcock, this intense and darkly gripping thriller will keep you on the edge of your seats, and you’ll never want to answer the telephone again!

Tue 7 Feb

Wed 8 Feb

Thu 9 Feb

…and 2 more dates until 11 Feb

Groping For Words

A warm compassionate comedy by Sue Townsend, directed by Rowena Sterry Set in a class for illiterate adults, this play might seem irrelevant in the 21st century but not so; the latest statistics show that 16% of Britons are ‘functionally illiterate’

Tue 4 Apr

Wed 5 Apr

Thu 6 Apr

…and 2 more dates until 8 Apr

Lucky Sods

Lucky Sods - A dark comedy by John Godber. directed by Philippe Duquenoy Premiered by the Hull Truck Company, this thought-provoking comedy enjoyed a run at the Hampstead Theatre and has been regularly reprised ever since. Jean and Morris Sod are the lucky sods of the title – against a context of family loss they’ve…

Tue 13 Jun

Wed 14 Jun

Thu 15 Jun

…and 2 more dates until 17 Jun

The Memory Of Water

A comedy of reminiscence by Shelagh Stephenson, directed by Carla Bellis This was Stephenson's first play which opened at the Hampstead Theatre, London and was awarded the prestigious Olivier Award for Best Comedy. Filmed as ‘Before You Go’ with Julie Walters.

Tue 26 Sep

Wed 27 Sep

Thu 28 Sep

…and 2 more dates until 30 Sep

That Face

The study of a dysfunctional family struggling towards redemption, by Polly Stenham. Directed by John Goodman Winner of the Evening Standard's Charles Wintour Award, the Critics' Circle Award for Most Promising Playwright and the Theatrical Management Association Award for Best New Play.

Tue 13 Jun

Wed 14 Jun

Thu 15 Jun

…and 2 more dates until 17 Jun

Comments & ratings

Post a comment