Chesil Theatre

Chesil Theatre
Chesil Theatre
Chesil Street, Winchester, Hampshire, SO23 0HU
  • Telephone 01962 867086
  • Email
  • Website www.chesiltheatre.org.uk

Jump to times or comments

The Chesil Theatre (Winchester Dramatic Society) presents six main productions a year, ranging from comedy to classics and also puts on regular rehearsed readings, host occasional visiting companies and runs a regular play writing competition, 10x10.

The theatre has been home to performances for over 150 years.

Open since 1966, the Chesil Theatre occupies a former 12th-century church.

The medieval building provides an intimate 75-seat studio-style theatre and versatile performance space and with around 250 members.

Event times

There are 9 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

After Electra

by April de Angelis. A fabulous comedy that re-imagines the meaning of family and explores how the choices we make can change our lives forever.

Sat 20 May 2017

£11 / 01962 867086

Mon 22 May 2017

£11.70–£13 / 01962 867086

Tue 23 May 2017

£11.70–£13 / 01962 867086

…and 4 more dates until 27 May 2017

After Electra

by April de Angelis. A fabulous comedy that re-imagines the meaning of family and explores how the choices we make can change our lives forever.

Sat 27 May 2017

£11 / 01962 867086

Blood And Ice

by Liz Lochead. The story of the creation of Frankenstein: when life and love are overtaken by tragedy, the shadows consume Mary Shelley and give birth to the most famous Gothic horror of them all.

Sat 21 Jan 2017

£11 / 01962 867086

Mon 23 Jan 2017

£11.70–£13 / 01962 867086

Tue 24 Jan 2017

£11.70–£13 / 01962 867086

…and 4 more dates until 28 Jan 2017

Blood And Ice

by Liz Lochead. The story of the creation of Frankenstein: when life and love are overtaken by tragedy, the shadows consume Mary Shelley and give birth to the most famous Gothic horror of them all.

Sat 28 Jan 2017

£11 / 01962 867086

Gaslight

by Patrick Hamilton. An atmospheric and menacing psychological thriller, this classic drama retains its power to entertain and excite.

Sat 1 Apr 2017

£11 / 01962 867086

Mon 3 Apr 2017

£11.70–£13 / 01962 867086

Tue 4 Apr 2017

£11.70–£13 / 01962 867086

…and 4 more dates until 8 Apr 2017

Gaslight

by Patrick Hamilton. An atmospheric and menacing psychological thriller, this classic drama retains its power to entertain and excite.

Sat 8 Apr 2017

£11 / 01962 867086

Persuasion

by Jane Austen, adapted by Mark Healy. An inventive adaptation of Jane Austen's last novel, bringing you stately homes, Regency Bath, seaside adventures and the lost loves of both the author and her heroine, Anne Elliott.

Sat 15 Jul 2017

£11 / 01962 867086

Mon 17 Jul 2017

£11.70–£13 / 01962 867086

Tue 18 Jul 2017

£11.70–£13 / 01962 867086

…and 4 more dates until 22 Jul 2017

Persuasion

by Jane Austen, adapted by Mark Healy. An inventive adaptation of Jane Austen's last novel, bringing you stately homes, Regency Bath, seaside adventures and the lost loves of both the author and her heroine, Anne Elliott.

Sat 22 Jul 2017

£11 / 01962 867086

The Willow Pattern, Youth Theatre Production

by Judith Johnson. Humourously adapted from an ancient Chinese tale, the piece encompasses poetry, story telling, proverbs and even a little martial arts. Funny as well as thought-provoking.

Thu 16 Feb 2017

Fri 17 Feb 2017

Comments & ratings

Post a comment