The Globe

The Globe
11 Railway Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, NE4 7AD
  • Email
  • Website www.theglobenewcastle.co.uk
Photo of The Globe

Jump to times or comments

The Globe

The Globe provides a permanent home for Jazz.Coop Newcastle, and is the first bar/music venue in the UK to be owned freehold by a cooperative.

The venue hosts a wide variety of music including jazz, folk, blues, indie, roots and acoustic. Jazz.Coop Newcastle runs a programme of courses, workshops and jam sessions where musicians can learn, share and develop their skills

Events at this venue

There are 8 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

Alter Ego

London-based jazz band playing swing, hard bop, funk and Latin jazz.

Thu 27 Jul

£5

  • 20:00 – 23:00

Folk & Acoustic Night

The first Thursday of each month is folk and acoustic night at the Globe, an open mic evening and jam session. Come along and sing, play and listen.

Thu 3 Aug

Times to be confirmed / Free

Thu 7 Sep

Times to be confirmed / Free

Thu 5 Oct

Times to be confirmed / Free

Francis Tulip Quartet

An evening celebrating the music of Thelonius Monk.

Sat 5 Aug

£5

  • 20:00

Hoodoo Blues

Blues and fusion music with a dance class, followed by social dancing until 3am. Suitable for all levels.

Sat 5 Aug

Times to be confirmed / £5–£10

Sat 2 Sep

Times to be confirmed / £5–£10

La Milonga de los Domingos

Intimate Sunday evening with traditional Latin and classic tango music to dance to.

Sun 23 Jul

£4

Sun 30 Jul

£4

Mystery Train DJs

The Mystery Train DJs present a night of classic 60s pop, backbeat, country and psychedelic soul.

Sat 12 Aug

Free

  • 20:00

Sat 9 Sep

Free

  • 20:00

Sat 14 Oct

Free

  • 20:00
…and 2 more dates until 9 Dec

Stephen Glendinning Quartet

Guitar-led jazz quartet playing modern standards and originals.

Sun 23 Jul

£5

Presented by Jazz Coop.

  • 19:30

Waheela

Improvised noise/rock project driven by a shared affection for shrieking feedback, hard riffs and experimental sounds.

Sat 29 Jul

Free

  • 20:00

Comments & ratings

Post a comment