Grand Opera House

Grand Opera House
17 Great Victoria Street, Belfast, County Antrim, BT2 7AD
  • Box office 028 9024 1919
  • General enquiries 028 9024 0411
  • Website www.goh.co.uk
Photo of Grand Opera House

Jump to times or comments

Grand Opera House

Northern ireland's premier theatre offers a programme of drama, dance, opera, comedy, musicals and family shows. They aim to raise the profile of artists based in Northern Ireland and bring international productions to Northern Ireland. Since it opened in 1895 the building has undergone several restorations and extensions and was the first building in Northern Ireland to gain listed status. There are bars located throughout the Grand Opera House, including Luciano's Cafe Bar, the Baby Grand Bar, the Circle Bar and the Gods. The venue also hosts meetings, conferences and weddings.

Events at this venue

There are 24 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

The Addams Family

Musical comedy about the spooky family. Wednesday Addams is all grown up and has fallen in love with a sweet young man from a respectable family.

Tue 3 Oct

£21.25–£44.25 / 028 9024 1919

Wed 4 Oct

£21.25–£44.25 / 028 9024 1919

Thu 5 Oct

£21.25–£44.25 / 028 9024 1919

…and 2 more dates until 7 Oct

Annie: Belfast Voice & Dance Academy

  • Directed by: Nikolai Foster

The classic Broadway musical about a red-haired orphan girl growing up in a 1930s New York orphanage performed students of the school.

Fri 5 May

£11.75–£13.75 / 028 9024 1919

Belfast Community Gospel Choir

The local choir performs a mixed programme of gospel classics and modern pop songs.

Sat 20 May

£16.75–£24.25 / 028 9024 1919

Crazy

Martin Lynch directs a comedy about disastrous relationships written by Brenda Murphy and starring Caroline Curran, Ciaran Nolan and Marty Maguire.

Tue 23 May

£18.25–£26.25 / 028 9024 1919

Wed 24 May

£18.25–£26.25 / 028 9024 1919

Thu 25 May

£18.25–£26.25 / 028 9024 1919

…and 2 more dates until 27 May

Del & Rodney: The Comedy Dinner Show

Comedy entertainment inspired by the popular TV show performed by the Comedy Dining Company.

Sat 29 Apr

English National Ballet: Akram Khan's Giselle

  • Written by: Adolphe Adam, Akram Khan

Sadler’s Wells Associate Artist Akram Khan creates a new version of romantic ballet Giselle for English National Ballet. Composer Ben Frost adapts the original score, which is performed by English National Ballet Philharmonic.

Wed 21 Jun

£13.50–£43.25 / 028 9024 1919

Fri 23 Jun

£13.50–£43.25 / 028 9024 1919

An Evening With Sir Michael Parkinson

The veteran broadcast is joined by his son Mike for an intimate, entertaining and informative look at a career that includes interviewing over 2000 of the most important cultural figures of the 20th and 21st centuries. As well as fascinating anecdotes, Sir Michael waxes lyrical about his latest book, Muhammad Ali - A…

Wed 17 May

£23.25–£31.25 / 028 9024 1919

Hairspray

A story of big hair and big heart, set in 1960s Baltimore and performed by Limelight Productions. And no, you can't stop the beat.

Mon 30 Oct

£21.25–£49.25 / 028 9024 1919

Tue 31 Oct

£21.25–£49.25 / 028 9024 1919

Wed 1 Nov

£21.25–£49.25 / 028 9024 1919

…and 3 more dates until 4 Nov

Islands in the Stream

Musical celebrating the queen and king of country: Dolly Parton and Kenny Rogers.

Tue 30 May

£24.25–£27.75 / 028 9024 1919

Jane Eyre

  • Directed by: Sally Cookson
  • Written by: Charlotte Bronte (book)

Sally Cookson directs this bold re-imagining of Charlotte Bronte's novel about a spirited heroine's fight for freedom and fulfilment on her own terms in the face of poverty, injustice and bitter betrayal. A National Theatre co-production with Bristol Old Vic.

Mon 21 Aug

£17.25–£38.25 / 028 9024 1919

Tue 22 Aug

£17.25–£38.25 / 028 9024 1919

Wed 23 Aug

£17.25–£38.25 / 028 9024 1919

…and 3 more dates until 26 Aug

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat

  • Directed by: Bill Kenwright
  • Written by: Andrew Lloyd Webber (music), Tim Rice (lyrics)

Bill Kenwright's production of the Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd Webber musical returns, with X Factor winner Joe McElderry starring as the boy with the troublesome coat.

Tue 6 Jun

£24.25–£38.25 / 028 9024 1919

…and 2 more dates until 10 Jun

The Magic of the Beatles

A recreation of the full Beatles live show, taking you through their different eras from the skiffle-influenced mop top years of 'Love Me Do' and 'She Loves You' to the later psychedelia of songs like 'Strawberry Fields' and the classic rock such as 'Let It Be'.

Fri 2 Jun

£24.25–£27.25 / 028 9024 1919

Sat 3 Jun

£24.25–£27.25 / 028 9024 1919

Me And My Girl: St Agnes' Choral Society

St Agnes' Choral Society presents its version of the classic musical features numbers such as Leaning on a Lamp Post, The Lambeth Walk, The Sun Has Got His Hat On, Me and My Girl and many more.

Tue 9 May

£16.75–£29.75 / 028 9024 1919

Wed 10 May

£16.75–£29.75 / 028 9024 1919

Thu 11 May

£16.75–£29.75 / 028 9024 1919

…and 2 more dates until 13 May

Million Dollar Quartet

Musical based on a recording session that saw Elvis, Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins working together for the first and only time.

Sat 29 Apr

Mister Maker & The Shapes Live UK Tour

The CBeebies arts and crafts hero embarks on his first ever live theatre tour in the UK. Join Mister Maker and his colourful pals The Shapes for arty adventures, songs and dancing.

Sun 1 Oct

£12–£15.50 (Children £10 under 16s) / 028 9024 1919

Motown's Greatest Hits: How Sweet It Is

Celebrating over 50 years of Motown music with tributes to The Four Tops and The Temptations, Stevie Wonder, the Jackson 5 and many more.

Wed 27 Sep

£17.75–£28.25 / 028 9024 1919

Thu 28 Sep

£17.75–£28.25 / 028 9024 1919

Northern Ireland Opera And Opera Theatre Company: Radamisto

Wayne Jordan directs Handel's timeless masterpiece about a king who will stop at nothing to satisfy his appetites in this of tale of sex, power and corruption, featuring mezzo-sopranos Doreen Curran and Kate Allen and sopranos Aoife Miskelly and Sinead Campbell-Wallace.

Sun 14 May

Not Dead Enough

Olivier Award-winning Ian Talbot directs Shaun Mckenna's adaptation of Peter James's murder thriller in which a detective confronts the mysterious disappearance of his spouse. Bill Ward stars as DS Roy Grace alongside Laura Whitmore, one of the stars of 2016's Strictly Come Dancing on BBC1, and Coronation Street's Stephen…

Mon 26 Jun

£19.25–£36.25 / 028 9024 1919

Tue 27 Jun

£19.25–£36.25 / 028 9024 1919

Wed 28 Jun

£19.25–£36.25 / 028 9024 1919

…and 3 more dates until 1 Jul

The Simon & Garfunkel Story

With a backdrop of projected photos and original film footage a full live band perform Simon & Garfunkel hits including 'Mrs Robinson', 'Cecilia', 'Homeward Bound' and many more.

Fri 1 Sep

£16.75–£24.25 / 028 9024 1919

Sat 2 Sep

£16.75–£24.25 / 028 9024 1919

Sister Act

Craig Revel Horwood directs and choreographs this feel-good musical comedy featuring original music by Tony and Oscar-winner Alan Menken. X Factor winner Alexandra Burke stars as sassy club singer in need of witness protection, Deloris Van Cartier.

Mon 14 Aug

£21.25–£58.25 / 028 9024 1919

Tue 15 Aug

£21.25–£58.25 / 028 9024 1919

Wed 16 Aug

£21.25–£58.25 / 028 9024 1919

…and 3 more dates until 19 Aug

Stay'n Alive: So I Am

Based on real life tales of overcoming obstacles with special guests the Motown Sensations plus disco from the 1970s and rock from the 1980s.

Fri 19 May

£12.25–£18.25 / 028 9024 1919

Sunday Night At The Musicals

Association of Irish Musical Societies members' perform songs from the shows.

Sun 4 Jun

£19.75–£23.75 / 028 9024 1919

Sunny Afternoon

  • Directed by: Edward Hall, Adam Cooper
  • Written by: Ray Davies (music & lyrics), Joe Penhall

British singer-songwriter, Ray Davies, recalls his early life and the career of the eponymous pop-rock group, The Kinks, in this musical biography set during the 1950s and 1960s. Directed by Edward Hall.

Tue 2 May

£17.75–£48.25 / 028 9024 1919

Wed 3 May

£17.75–£48.25 / 028 9024 1919

Thu 4 May

£17.75–£48.25 / 028 9024 1919

…and 2 more dates until 6 May

Thank You For The Music

Double the tribute trouble with a night of ABBA and Bee Gees covers.

Wed 31 May

£24.25–£27.75 / 028 9024 1919

Thu 1 Jun

£24.25–£27.75 / 028 9024 1919

Comments & ratings

Post a comment