Norwich Playhouse

Norwich Playhouse
42–58 St George's Street, Norwich, Norfolk, NR3 1AB
  • Telephone 01603 598598
  • Email
  • Website www.norwichplayhouse.co.uk

Jump to times or comments

A 300 seat riverside theatre developed from a Georgian maltings. The programme spans theatre, stand up comedy, live music and children's shows. The building includes two galleries exhibiting work by local artists, a bar and a garden.

St Andrew's multi-storey and Colegate surface car parks are both within walking distance and are open 24 hours. The Playhouse is 15 minutes walk from Norwich Rail Station.

Event times

There are 44 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

Andy Parsons: Peak Bullsh*t

You'll know him best from Live at the Apollo and Mock the Week, but this is Parsons' latest stand-up show. Can he really promise peak bullshit? Come along and find out.

Sat 1 Apr

Sun 2 Apr

Anne Reid: A Night At The Pictures

A cabaret performance by one of Britain's most-loved and respected actors, star of the popular Last Tango In Halifax, Ladies Of Letters, Dinnerladies and Coronation Street.

Sat 25 Feb

£21 (£19) / 01603 598598

The Big Chris Barber Band

The veteran slide trombonist leads his big band in a programme of swing and New Orleans-style jazz.

Tue 14 Feb

£22 (£20) / 01603 598598

Bourgeois & Maurice: How to Save the World Without Really Trying (Edinburgh Preview)

Original songs and heavily stylised attire from critically acclaimed musical satirists Georgeois Bourgeois and Maurice Maurice, who wade through the quagmire of post-Brexit Britain in typically forthright fashion.

Bridget Christie: Because You Demanded It

  • 5 stars

Acute social and political humour from the award-winning stand-up, who repeatedly pokes fun at her own righteous anger, this time taking to task Britain's departure from the EU.

Tue 2 May

back to top

Camille O'Sullivan

Stunning voice and passionate performances of work from the likes of Nick Cave, David Bowie and Jacques Brel.

Thu 16 Mar

£20 / 01603 598598

Fri 17 Mar

£20 / 01603 598598

Chris Ramsey: Is That Chris Ramsey?

Upbeat anecdotes, feelgood humour and witty observations from Ramsey.

Mon 3 Apr

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 01603 598598

Tue 4 Apr

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 01603 598598

Comedy Club 4 Kids

  • 4 stars

Top comedians play to the toughest crowd: kids. And they have to keep it clean.

Sat 18 Feb

£10 / 01603 598598

Stand-up and sketch acts for youngsters by performers on the international circuit.

David O'Doherty: We Are All in the Gutter but Some of us are Looking at David O'Doherty

Armed with a teeny keyboard and an incredible wit, David presents his latest solo show of comedy and songs, the ledge.

Dillie Keane

The Fascinating Aïda linchpin goes solo.

Wed 5 Apr

£19.50 / 01603 598598

Thu 6 Apr

£19.50 / 01603 598598

back to top

Ed Byrne

Stand-up comedy from the Mock The Week regular.

Mon 2 Oct

£24 / 01603 598598

Tue 3 Oct

£24 / 01603 598598

Wed 4 Oct

£24 / 01603 598598

The First Hippo on the Moon

David Walliam's children's book about two big hippos and one enormous dream – which of them can make it to the moon first?

Sat 18 Mar

Times to be confirmed / £11.50 (£8.50) / 01603 598598

Sun 19 Mar

Times to be confirmed / £11.50 (£8.50) / 01603 598598

Mon 20 Mar

Times to be confirmed / £11.50 (£8.50) / 01603 598598

…and 2 more dates until 22 Mar

Frankenstein

Blackeyed Theatre Company presents John Ginman's adaptation of Mary Shelley's Gothic masterpiece. The production fuses ensemble storytelling, live music and stunning theatricality to recount the eponymous scientist's quest to create a sentient being using a bolt of thunder from the heavens. Not suitable for under 12s.

Tue 31 Jan

£14 (£12) / 01603 598598

Give Me Your Love

Theatre legends Jon Haynes and David Woods of Ridiculusmus are back with a funny, fragile and profound fable based on groundbreaking medical research and real-life war testimonies.

Thu 23 Mar

£10 (£8) / 01603 598598

James Acaster: Represent

  • 4 stars

As seen appearing on Russell Howard's Good News and Mock the Week so if the bigwigs like him you probably will too.

Wed 22 Feb

£16; £40 for all 3 shows / 01603 598598

Thu 23 Feb

£16; £40 for all 3 shows / 01603 598598

back to top

James Acaster: Reset

  • 4 stars

Deadpan stand-up from the comically downbeat performer.

Fri 24 Feb

£16 / 01603 598598

Jenny Eclair: How To Be A Middle Aged Woman (Without Going Insane)

Jenny Eclair is younger than Madonna, but you won't catch her falling down any stairs at the Brit Awards. Her new show is about being middle aged and whether you're better off accepting it or fighting to the death.

John Shuttleworth

Sheffield-born actor and musician Graham Fellows takes to the stage in the guise of his best-known character, John Shuttleworth. The nerdy and socially-unaware singer-songwriter will delight with his unique musical offerings and straight-talking attitude.

Wed 15 Mar

£17 / 01603 598598

Jonny & The Baptists: Eat The Poor

The duo perform their musical comedy about poverty, inequality and revolution, with an epic story of friendship, betrayal and swans.

Tue 21 Mar

Jordan Ayers School Of Dance: Freedom

Students of all ages - from toddlers to teens - take to the stage with a selection of specially prepared pieces.

Sun 26 Mar

£12 (£10.50) / 01603 598598

back to top

Josie Long: Something Better

The politically astute Sidcup-born comedian, who took part in the Channel 4 show Celebrity Island With Bear Grylls as part of the Stand Up To Cancer campaign, waxes lyrical about optimism, hopefulness and the giddy joys of surrounding yourself with people you can look up to.

Sat 18 Feb

£15 (£13) / 01603 598598

Katy Brand: I Was a Teenage Christian

  • 2 stars

The comedian tells the true story of when she was the member of a teenage church group.

Tue 20 Jun

Lee Nelson: Suited and Booted

Lee Nelson, the creation of comedian Simon Brodkin, is the chavvy catch-phrase monger whose Well Good Show has become a BBC3 hit. Now the South London geeza takes his banter to the live stage where it all works best. Brodkin has appeared as Nelson in a host of TV programmes including Al Murray's sketch show Al Murray's…

Mon 27 Feb

Tue 28 Feb

Mark Thomas: Red Shed

  • 4 stars

Incisive humour and satire as Mark Thomas explores the arena where he began stand-up: a red wooden shed in Wakefield.

Thu 2 Mar

£16 (£12) / 01603 598598

Fri 3 Mar

£16 (£12) / 01603 598598

Meet Fred

Hijinx Theatre's endearing comedy about an outsider trying to make his way in the world, which combines music, film, live theatre and puppetry.

Sat 25 Mar

£8–£12 / 01603 598598

back to top

The Nimmo Twins: Normal For Norfolk 20th Anniversary Show: Country Members

Songs, sketches, monologues and anecdotes from the East Anglian comedy duo, Owen Evans and Karl Minns.

…and 2 more dates until 24 Jan

The Noise Next Door: Noise In The Hood

New songs, characters and stand-up.

Fri 17 Feb

Oliver! The Musical

One of the most beloved British musicals ever, Oliver!, brings vividly to life Dickens’ timeless characters with its ever-popular story of the boy who asked for more, Lionel Bart’s sensational score includes Food Glorious Food, Consider Yourself, You’ve Got to Pick-a-Pocket or Two, I’d Do Anything,* Oom Pah Pah*, *As Long…

Fri 30 Jun

£8–£12 / 01603 598598

Sat 1 Jul

£8–£12 / 01603 598598

Pam Ann: Fly

Character comedy from the hostess with the mostess.

Wed 14 Jun

£21–£27 / 01603 598598

Thu 15 Jun

£21–£27 / 01603 598598

The Pasadena Roof Orchestra

The Orchestra celebrates the music of the great entertainers from Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington to Billie Holiday and Bix Beiderbecke.

Fri 3 Feb

£20 (£18) / 01603 598598

back to top

Richard Herring: The Best

A 'best of' compilation from the comedian as he picks the best jokes from his last 12 shows.

Wed 3 May

Phone for prices / 01603 598598

Thu 4 May

Phone for prices / 01603 598598

Romeo & Juliet

Merely Theatre & The Production Exchange present stripped-back Shakespeare. Five actors blast the company's signature style of urgency, humour and clarity to conjure a stirring, visceral theatrical experience.

Wed 8 Mar

£12 (£10) / 01603 598598

Thu 9 Mar

£12 (£10) / 01603 598598

Round the Horne

  • Directed by: Tim Astley
  • Written by: Marty Feldman

Comedy based on the original BBC radio scripts by Barry Took and Marty Feldman.

Thu 9 Feb

£17.50 (£15) / 01603 598598

Ruby Wax: Frazzled

Ruby Wax discusses her new book, Frazzled, which is a guide to mindfulness.

Fri 10 Mar

£20 / 01603 598598

Sat 11 Mar

Sara Pascoe: Animal

Intelligent observations and quirky storytelling from the actress and stand-up.

Tue 18 Apr

£12 / 01603 598598

Wed 19 Apr

£12 / 01603 598598

back to top

Seann Walsh: One for the Road

Sharp and energetic observational humour from this fast-riser.

Sat 11 Feb

Simon And Garfunkel: Through The Years

Performing the songs in a truly captivating way. They will perform many of their hits such as 'The Sound of Silence', 'Mrs Robinson' and 'The Boxer'

Sat 4 Mar

£17.50 (£15) / 01603 598598

Simon Evans: In The Money

Observational stand-up from host of BBC Radio 4's Goes to Market.

Thu 2 Feb

£14 (£12) / 01603 598598

Stephen K Amos: World Famous

Amos, now a well-known face on that there telly, present his latest show of well-spoken funnies.

Wed 1 Feb

Terry Alderton: All Crazy Now

Unpredictable nonsense and absolute mayhem from the Southend-born stand-up.

Fri 24 Mar

Turnstyle 2017

Turnstyle brings you the latest work created by choreographers including Scott Atkins, Emma Brady, Cat Chapman, Katy Dunne and Laura McGill.

Thu 30 Mar

£10 (£8) / 01603 598598

Twelfth Night

  • Written by: William Shakespeare

Merely Theatre & The Production Exchange present stripped-back Shakespeare. The five actors use endless invention and boundless imagination in a production that proves raucous and joyous, witty and moving.

Wed 8 Mar

£12 (£10) / 01603 598598

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Show

  • Written by: Jonathan Rockefeller (adapt)

Based on Eric Carle's hand-painted books, Jonathan Rockefeller's family-friendly stage production uses a menagerie of 75 lovable puppets to faithfully bring to life the four stories: The Artist Who Painted A Blue Horse, Mister Seahorse, The Very Lonely Firefly and The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

William Shakespeare's Long Lost First Play

A comedy show celebrating the Bard.

Sat 4 Feb

Comments & ratings

Post a comment