Birmingham Hippodrome

Birmingham Hippodrome
Hurst Street, Birmingham, West Midlands, B5 4TB
  • Telephone 0844 338 5000
  • Email
  • Website www.birminghamhippodrome.com
Photo of Birmingham Hippodrome

Jump to times or comments

Events at this venue

There are 25 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

Acosta Danza

Mixture of classical and contemporary Cuban dance.

Wed 18 Oct

£12–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 19 Oct

£12–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Fri 20 Oct

£12–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Sat 21 Oct

£12–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Aladdin

Birmingham Royal Ballet bring to life the classic tale.

Tue 3 Oct

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 4 Oct

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 5 Oct

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

…and 2 more dates until 7 Oct

The Band

  • Written by: Tim Firth

Brand new British musical featuring the songs of Take That, created in association with Britain’s most successful band. Written by Tim Firth The Band tells the story of five 16-year-old girls who are fans of a male pop group. Playing the boy band are Five to Five, the winners of the BBC show Let It Shine.

Tue 1 May 2018

£29.50–£49.50 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 2 May 2018

£29.50–£49.50 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 3 May 2018

£29.50–£49.50 / 0844 338 5000

…and 8 more dates until 12 May 2018

Beautiful: The Carole King Musical

  • Directed by: Marc Bruni
  • Written by: Gerry Goffin (music & lyrics), Barry Mann (music & lyrics), Cynthia Weil (music & lyrics), Douglas McGrath, Carole King (music & lyrics)

Musical charting the early life and career of the singer-songwriter and her husband Gerry Goffin.

Tue 7 Nov

£27–£45 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 8 Nov

£27–£45 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 9 Nov

£27–£45 / 0844 338 5000

…and 2 more dates until 11 Nov

Birmingham Royal Ballet: Three Short Story Ballets

Three short story ballets: Le Baiser de la fée, Pineapple Poll and Arcadia.

Wed 20 Jun 2018

£10–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 21 Jun 2018

£10–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Fri 22 Jun 2018

£10–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Sat 23 Jun 2018

£10–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Cinderella

Panto fun.

Tue 19 Dec

£22.50–£44 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 20 Dec

£22.50–£44 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 21 Dec

£22.50–£44 / 0844 338 5000

…and 32 more dates until 28 Jan 2018

Crazy for You

Feel-good musical starring Tom Chambers (winner of Strictly Come Dancing) featuring a score from the Gershwin brothers’ songbook.

Tue 24 Oct

£27–£45 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 25 Oct

£27–£45 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 26 Oct

£27–£45 / 0844 338 5000

…and 2 more dates until 28 Oct

Crazy For You

George Gershwin's multi-award winning musical set in the 1930s about the budding romance between Bobby, the son of a wealthy New York banker, and Polly, daughter of the proprietor of a failing theatre in Deadrock, Nevada. Starring Caroline Flack and Tom Chambers.

Tue 24 Oct

£12–£94 / 0844 338 5000

  • 19:30

Wed 25 Oct

£12–£94 / 0844 338 5000

  • 14:00
  • 19:30

Thu 26 Oct

£12–£94 / 0844 338 5000

  • 14:00
  • 19:30
…and 2 more dates until 28 Oct

Dracula: The Bloody Truth

A comedy version of the famous Bram Stoker novel performed by Le Navet Bete.

Tue 15 Aug

£12 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

  • 19:45

Wed 16 Aug

£12 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

  • 19:45

Hairspray

A story of big hair and big heart, set in 1960s Baltimore and performed by Limelight Productions. And no, you can't stop the beat.

Mon 9 Oct

£30–£49 / 0844 338 5000

Tue 10 Oct

£30–£49 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 11 Oct

£30–£49 / 0844 338 5000

…and 3 more dates until 14 Oct

Landscapes

Experience a magical and immersive live show from Mimika Theatre for children aged four to eleven, which uses puppetry to capture the atmosphere, rhythms, sounds and movements of the natural world and transports audiences on a magical journey through the desert.

Wed 9 Aug

£10 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

  • 10:30
  • 12:30
  • 14:30
  • 16:30

Thu 10 Aug

£10 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

  • 10:30
  • 12:30
  • 14:30
  • 16:30

Fri 11 Aug

£10 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

  • 10:30
  • 12:30
  • 14:30
  • 16:30

Sat 12 Aug

£10 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

  • 10:30
  • 12:30
  • 14:30
  • 16:30

Matilda: The Musical

  • Directed by: Matthew Warchus
  • Written by: Tim Minchin (adaptation, music & lyrics), Roald Dahl (book), Dennis Kelly (adaptation)

The Royal Shakespeare Company presents Dennis Kelly and Tim Minchin's multi-award-winning musical adaptation of Roald Dahl's much loved tale about an extremely clever girl, who uses her extraordinary powers to free her classmates from the tyranny of sadistic headmistress, Miss Trunchbull. Directed by Matthew Warchus.

Tue 3 Jul 2018

£45–£65 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 4 Jul 2018

£45–£65 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 5 Jul 2018

£45–£65 / 0844 338 5000

…and 56 more dates until 8 Sep 2018

Matthew Bourne's Cinderella

Matthew Bourne brings to live the story of Cinderella.

Tue 6 Feb 2018

£25–£47.50 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 7 Feb 2018

£25–£47.50 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 8 Feb 2018

£25–£47.50 / 0844 338 5000

…and 2 more dates until 10 Feb 2018

Miss Saigon

  • Directed by: Geoffrey Garratt
  • Written by: Michael Mahler (lyrics)

Set in 1975 during the final days of the American occupation of Saigon, this tragic musical follows the relationship between an American GI and the young Vietnamese woman who is sold to him for a night.

Thu 27 Jul

£45–£63.50 / 0844 338 5000

Fri 28 Jul

£45–£63.50 / 0844 338 5000

Sat 29 Jul

£45–£63.50 / 0844 338 5000

…and 47 more dates until 23 Sep

Penguin Cafe

Arthur Jeffes' group Penguin Cafe was formed with the intention of carrying on in the tradition of his father's band, the much-loved folk innovators the Penguin Cafe Orchestra.

Wed 27 Sep

£10–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 28 Sep

£10–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Fri 29 Sep

£10–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Sat 30 Sep

£10–£32 / 0844 338 5000

Romeo and Juliet

Birmingham Royal Ballet present the classic ballet.

Tue 26 Jun 2018

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 27 Jun 2018

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 28 Jun 2018

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

…and 2 more dates until 30 Jun 2018

Seeta Patel: Something Then, Something Now

The performer presents her critically acclaimed solo work in Indian classical dance.

Sun 24 Sep

The Patrick Centre

£12 / 0844 338 5000

  • 17:00

Sleeping Beauty

Birmingham Royal Ballet bring to life the classic fairy tale.

Tue 13 Feb 2018

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 14 Feb 2018

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 15 Feb 2018

£20–£55 / 0844 338 5000

…and 7 more dates until 24 Feb 2018

Sunset Boulevard

  • Directed by: Lonny Price
  • Written by: Don Black (lyrics)

Glenn Close stars as Norma Desmond in Andrew Lloyd Webber's musical adaptation of Billy Wilder’s classic 1950 film.

Mon 13 Nov

£32–£47.50 / 0844 338 5000

Tue 14 Nov

£32–£47.50 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 15 Nov

£32–£47.50 / 0844 338 5000

…and 3 more dates until 18 Nov

War Horse

  • Directed by: Toby Sedgwick
  • Written by: Michael Morpurgo (book)

The National Theatre's staging of Michael Morpurgo's novel about a farm horse called Joey caught up in the horrors of WWI.

Wed 10 Oct 2018

£45–£63.50 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 11 Oct 2018

£45–£63.50 / 0844 338 5000

Fri 12 Oct 2018

£45–£63.50 / 0844 338 5000

…and 19 more dates until 3 Nov 2018

Welsh National Opera: Die Fledermaus

Johan Strauss's frothy, ever-popular opera with Mary Elizabeth Williams as Rosalinde and Mark Stone as Eisenstein. With staging and costumes as opulent as a chocolate cake, the show is funny and life-affirming. Sung in English with surtitles in English and Welsh.

Wed 1 Nov

£13–£107.50 / 0844 338 5000

  • 19:15

Sat 4 Nov

£13–£107.50 / 0844 338 5000

  • 15:30

Welsh National Opera: Eugene Onegin

James Macdonald directs this revival of Tchaikovsky's most-loved opera, based on the Alexander Pushkin novel, about the young country girl Tatyana, who believes that the dashing Onegin is the man of her dreams, however is humiliated when he rejects her and flirts with her older, engaged sister. Sung in Russian with…

Fri 3 Nov

£13–£107.50 / 0844 338 5000

  • 19:00

Welsh National Opera: From The House Of The Dead

David Poutney's production of Janacek's compelling and claustrophobic piece, on the semi-autobiographical recollections of Russian writer Dostoyevsky, who survived the firing squad as a result of a last minute reprieve from the Tsar. Sung in English.

Thu 2 Nov

£13–£107.50 / 0844 338 5000

  • 19:30

Welsh National Opera: I Puritani WNO

Welsh National Opera perform Bellini's English Civil War drama – one of his most loved and most difficult pieces.

Tue 31 Oct

£28–£51 / 0844 338 5000

Wed 1 Nov

£28–£51 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 2 Nov

£28–£51 / 0844 338 5000

…and 5 more dates until 8 Mar 2018

Wicked

  • Directed by: Joe Mantello
  • Written by: Stephen Schwartz (music & lyrics), Winnie Holzman

Smash-hit musical that acts as a prequel to The Wizard of Oz, with L Frank Baum's characters brilliantly re-imagined as two young girls who grow up to fulfil their destinies as Glenda the Good and the Wicked Witch of the West.

Wed 4 Apr 2018

£42–£67.50 / 0844 338 5000

Thu 5 Apr 2018

£42–£67.50 / 0844 338 5000

Fri 6 Apr 2018

£42–£67.50 / 0844 338 5000

…and 20 more dates until 29 Apr 2018

Comments & ratings

Post a comment