Theatre Royal

Theatre Royal
Sawclose, Bath, Somerset, BA1 1ET
  • Telephone 01225 448844
  • Email
  • Website www.theatreroyal.org.uk
Photo of Theatre Royal

Jump to times or comments

Events at this venue

There are 30 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

201 Dance Company: Smother

The company presents a fast-paced, intimate performance, exploring the relationship of two young men. Choreographed by Andrea Walker.

Tue 20 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

The Addams Family

Musical comedy about the spooky family. Wednesday Addams is all grown up and has fallen in love with a sweet young man from a respectable family.

Tue 13 Jun

£28.25–£41.75 / 01225 448844

Wed 14 Jun

Thu 15 Jun

£28.25–£41.75 / 01225 448844

…and 2 more dates until 17 Jun

Billy-Club Puppets

Federico Garcia Lorca's surreal comedy about the wanting-to-be-married Dona Rosita featuring puppets and live action, is directed by John East.

Fri 30 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Sat 1 Jul

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

David Baddiel: Fame: Not The Musical

It's been a whopping 15 years since David's last stand-up show, so tonight he's exploring the different ways he's perceived: whether it's token Jew, new lad or comedy rock'n'roller.

Sun 28 Jan 2018

David Baddiel: My Family: Not The Sitcom

In his follow-up to Fame: Not The Musical, David Baddiel paints an irreverent portrait of family life, memory, ageing, infidelity and gay cats, with a loving focus on his late mother Sarah and dementia-ridden father, Colin. Contains explicit language.

Sun 28 Jan 2018

Emma

Colin Blumenau directs Tim Luscombe's adaptation of Jane Austen's much-loved tale, telling the story of a young would-be match-maker who schemes to romantically pair the inhabitants of her area, is performed again over 200 years since it was written.

Mon 5 Jun

£23.75–£37.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 6 Jun

£23.75–£37.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 7 Jun

£23.75–£37.25 / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 10 Jun

English Touring Opera: Giulio Cesare - Cleopatra's Needle

The company performs the second part of Handel's most celebrated opera, an epic drama set in the midst of the Ancient Roman and Egyptian civilisations. The battle for the Kingdom of the Nile is in crisis as Pompey's family is enslaved, Caesar is presumed dead and Cleopatra is made captive by her brother. Sung in Italian…

Tue 31 Oct

English Touring Opera: Giulio Cesare - The Death Of Pompey

The company performs Handel's most celebrated opera, an epic drama set in the midst of the Ancient Roman and Egyptian civilisations. Caesar has defeated his rival Pompey, though struggles to survive the machinations of King of Egypt Ptolemy and his sister Cleopatra. Sung in Italian with English surtitles.

Mon 30 Oct

Fantastic Mr Fox

A playful retelling of Roald Dahl's sly tale.

Tue 30 May

£18.50–£25; £20–£27 (Children £14.50–£21 under 16s; Children £18–£25 under 16s) / 01225 448844

Wed 31 May

£18.50–£25; £20–£27 (Children £14.50–£21 under 16s; Children £18–£25 under 16s) / 01225 448844

Thu 1 Jun

£18.50–£25; £20–£27 (Children £14.50–£21 under 16s; Children £18–£25 under 16s) / 01225 448844

…and 2 more dates until 3 Jun

Happily Ever After: Action Transport Theatre

Action Transport Theatre presents a fairytale with a twist featuring highly visual, wordless storytelling and comedy clowning.

Wed 24 May

Thu 25 May

Fri 26 May

…and 2 more dates until 28 May

The Lady in the Van

The story of Miss Mary Shepherd, a woman who parked her van in Alan Bennett's front garden for 15 years. Originally a memoir the tale has also been adapted for radio and a film. Directed by Jonathan Church.

Wed 16 Aug

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Thu 17 Aug

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Fri 18 Aug

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

…and 13 more dates until 2 Sep

Let's Get Clinical

Working with real life stories gathered from local NHS staff and patients, Ten Women and a Man offer an account of a declining institution. Directed by Jesse Jones and Elana Binysh.

Fri 7 Jul

Ustinov Studio

£10 (£7) / 01225 448844

Sat 8 Jul

Ustinov Studio

£10 (£7) / 01225 448844

Love Letters

Love Story stars Ryan O'Neal and Ali McGraw perform AR Gurney's celebrated two-hander about rich WASPs in love.

Mon 11 Sep

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 01225 448844

Tue 12 Sep

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 01225 448844

Wed 13 Sep

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 16 Sep

The Mrs McMoon Show

Mrs McMoon wants to be a star of the stage in this show for young children.

Wed 31 May

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Thu 1 Jun

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Fri 2 Jun

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

North By North West

Adaptation of the classic 1959 thriller by Alfred Hitchcock, in which a businessman finds himself mistaken for a spy.

Fri 21 Jul

£26.75–£40.25 / 01225 448844

Sat 22 Jul

Mon 24 Jul

£26.75–£40.25 / 01225 448844

…and 17 more dates until 12 Aug

North By Northwest

The story of the mistaken identity of Roger O. Thornhill, adapted from the Hitchcock film, is retold live on stage in this comedy thriller and directed by Simon Phillips.

Fri 21 Jul

£15–£25 preview; £23–£35.50; £21.50–£34; £25.50–£37.50 / 01225 448844

Sat 22 Jul

£15–£25 preview; £23–£35.50; £21.50–£34; £25.50–£37.50 / 01225 448844

Mon 24 Jul

£15–£25 preview; £23–£35.50; £21.50–£34; £25.50–£37.50 / 01225 448844

…and 17 more dates until 12 Aug

One Item Only

A story about a young refugee and his struggle for a better life, by Margarita Sidirokastriti.

Wed 21 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50) / 01225 448844

Pop-Up Worlds

Moonfish Theatre presents an interactive show for young people involving hand-made miniature sets and electronics.

Wed 24 May

The Egg

£5 / 01225 448844

Thu 25 May

The Egg

£5 / 01225 448844

Fri 26 May

The Egg

£5 / 01225 448844

…and 20 more dates until 15 Jun

Racing Demon

Four clergymen seek to make sense of their mission in inner-city London whilst facing their own personal crises. Written by David Hare, starring David Haig and directed by Jonathan Church.

Wed 21 Jun

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Thu 22 Jun

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Fri 23 Jun

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

…and 13 more dates until 8 Jul

Racing Demon

Jonathan Church directs this piece about four clergymen seeking to make sense of their lives in inner-city London. Written by David Hare and starring David Haig.

Wed 21 Jun

£15–£25 preview; £15–£25 preview; £19.50–£32; £15–£25; £21–£33.50 7.30pm; £19.50–£32; £21–£33.50 7.30pm; £23.50–£35.50 / 01225 448844

Thu 22 Jun

£15–£25 preview; £15–£25 preview; £19.50–£32; £15–£25; £21–£33.50 7.30pm; £19.50–£32; £21–£33.50 7.30pm; £23.50–£35.50 / 01225 448844

Fri 23 Jun

£15–£25 preview; £15–£25 preview; £19.50–£32; £15–£25; £21–£33.50 7.30pm; £19.50–£32; £21–£33.50 7.30pm; £23.50–£35.50 / 01225 448844

…and 13 more dates until 8 Jul

Sand in the Sandwiches

  • Directed by: Gareth Armstrong
  • Written by: Hugh Whitemore

Award-winning actor Edward Fox stars in an adaptation of John Betjeman's poem about British seaside culture.

Tue 11 Jul

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Thu 13 Jul

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

…and 2 more dates until 15 Jul

Snow White

A pantomime featuring a young girl and her Prince Charming, an enchanted mirror and a shiny red apple.

Thu 7 Dec

£24.25–£35.75 (£21.25–£32.75) / 01225 448844

Fri 8 Dec

£24.25–£35.75 (£21.25–£32.75) / 01225 448844

Sat 9 Dec

£24.25–£35.75 (£21.25–£32.75) / 01225 448844

…and 24 more dates until 7 Jan 2018

A Story From The Sea & The People

TRB Theatre School students perform a double bill of A Story From The Sea by Mike Akers and The People by Miriam Battye. Both directed by Emma Williams.

Thu 20 Jul

£10 (£7) / 01225 448844

Fri 21 Jul

£10 (£7) / 01225 448844

Tales Of Birbal

Mashi Theatre tells the tales of Birbal - ancient stories of advenutre and problem-solving across the Indian continent.

Sat 17 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Sun 18 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Mon 19 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Teddy Bears' Picnic

If you go down to the woods today, you're sure of a big surprise… Let's All Dance is back with this delightful treat for very young audiences. Combining classical ballet, physical theatre, gorgeous visuals and crystal-clear story telling, this fresh, innovative dance company pitches another production perfectly to engage…

Fri 23 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50) / 01225 448844

Sat 24 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50) / 01225 448844

Sun 25 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50) / 01225 448844

Three

A whistle-stop tour through some of the most well-loved childhood tales including Goldilocks and Rumplestiltskin by Wrongsemble Theatre. Three wishes, three pigs, three bears… Ever noticed how many times in fairytales the number 3 pops up? Well, so have Wrongsemble, so they've made a show about it… which just happens to…

Sat 3 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Sun 4 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

TRB Writers' Group

Monthly playwriting group that teaches about writing character, plot, dialogue and story structure over the course of a year.

Tue 6 Jun

1805 Rooms

£100 / 01225 448844

Tue 4 Jul

1805 Rooms

£100 / 01225 448844

Waiting For God

David Grindley directs Michael Aitkens' comedy based on the popular 1990s BBC sitcom of the same name, starring Jeffrey Holland and Nichola McAuliffe.

Wed 24 May

Thu 25 May

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Fri 26 May

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Sat 27 May

The Wind In The Willows

The adventures of Ratty, Mole, Badger and the infamous Mr Toad are brought to life in this amateur production of Alan Bennett's adaptation.

Thu 8 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Fri 9 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Sat 10 Jun

The Egg

£8.50 (Children £7.50; £7.50) / 01225 448844

Wings & His Peers

TRB Theatre School students perform a double bill of Wings by Matt Grinter and His Peers by Silva Semerciyan. Both are directed by Lee Lyford

Thu 13 Jul

£10 (£7) / 01225 448844

Fri 14 Jul

£10 (£7) / 01225 448844

Sat 15 Jul

£10 (£7) / 01225 448844

Comments & ratings

Post a comment