Theatre Royal

Theatre Royal
Sawclose, Bath, Somerset, BA1 1ET
  • Telephone 01225 448844
  • Email
  • Website www.theatreroyal.org.uk
Photo of Theatre Royal

Jump to times or comments

Events at this venue

There are 26 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

The Best Man

Gore Vidal’s award winning play about the race to the White House starring Martin Shaw.

Mon 9 Oct

£29.25–£43.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 10 Oct

£29.25–£43.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 11 Oct

£29.25–£43.25 / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 14 Oct

David Baddiel: Fame: Not The Musical

It's been a whopping 15 years since David's last stand-up show, so tonight he's exploring the different ways he's perceived: whether it's token Jew, new lad or comedy rock'n'roller.

Sun 28 Jan 2018

£27.50 / 01225 448844

David Baddiel: My Family: Not The Sitcom

An irreverent portrait of family life, memory, ageing, infidelity and gay cats.

Sun 28 Jan 2018

£30.56 / 01225 448844

Driving Miss Daisy

The story by Alfred Uhry of the Jewish widow and the African-American chauffeur set across the course of a 25 year backdrop of prejudice, inequality and civil unrest. Starring Sian Phillips and Derek Griffith.

Wed 6 Sep

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Thu 7 Sep

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Fri 8 Sep

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Sat 9 Sep

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

English Touring Opera: Giulio Cesare - Cleopatra's Needle

The company performs the second part of Handel's most celebrated opera, an epic drama set in the midst of the Ancient Roman and Egyptian civilisations. The battle for the Kingdom of the Nile is in crisis as Pompey's family is enslaved, Caesar is presumed dead and Cleopatra is made captive by her brother. Sung in Italian…

Tue 31 Oct

Phone for prices / 01225 448844

  • 19:30

English Touring Opera: Giulio Cesare - The Death Of Pompey

The company performs Handel's most celebrated opera, an epic drama set in the midst of the Ancient Roman and Egyptian civilisations. Caesar has defeated his rival Pompey, though struggles to survive the machinations of King of Egypt Ptolemy and his sister Cleopatra. Sung in Italian with English surtitles.

Mon 30 Oct

Phone for prices / 01225 448844

  • 19:30

Hetty Feather

Adaptation of Jacqueline Wilson's book about a child abandoned at a foundling hospital.

Tue 9 Jan 2018

£21.75–£27.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 10 Jan 2018

£21.75–£27.25 / 01225 448844

Thu 11 Jan 2018

£21.75–£27.25 / 01225 448844

…and 2 more dates until 13 Jan 2018

How The Other Half Loves

How The Other Half Loves juggles time and space as it presents the intricate lives and liaisons, passions and growing panic of three married couples.

Mon 2 Oct

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 3 Oct

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 4 Oct

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 7 Oct

A Judgement in Stone

Crime drama based on the best-selling novel by Ruth Rendell.

Mon 20 Nov

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 21 Nov

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 22 Nov

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 25 Nov

The Kite Runner

  • Directed by: Giles Croft
  • Written by: Khaled Hosseini (book), Matthew Spangler (adapt)

Matthew Spangler's adaptation of Khaled Hosseini's novel about friendships that can span continents.

Mon 6 Nov

£25.75–£39.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 7 Nov

£25.75–£39.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 8 Nov

£25.75–£39.25 / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 11 Nov

The Lady in the Van

The story of Miss Mary Shepherd, a woman who parked her van in Alan Bennett's front garden for 15 years. Originally a memoir the tale has also been adapted for radio and a film. Directed by Jonathan Church.

Thu 17 Aug

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Fri 18 Aug

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Sat 19 Aug

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

…and 12 more dates until 2 Sep

The Legend Of Sleepy Hollow

Theatre School Summer Company students' production of the story of Ichabod Crane and the Headless Horseman.

Thu 24 Aug

The Egg

£12 (Children £8; £8) / 01225 448844

  • 19:00

Fri 25 Aug

The Egg

£12 (Children £8; £8) / 01225 448844

  • 19:00

Sat 26 Aug

The Egg

£12 (Children £8; £8) / 01225 448844

  • 14:00
  • 19:00

Sun 27 Aug

The Egg

£12 (Children £8; £8) / 01225 448844

  • 14:00
  • 19:00

Looking At Lucian

A fly-on-the wall biographical drama about the great painter Lucian Freud starring Henry Goodman and directed by Tom Attenborough.

Thu 17 Aug

Ustinov Studio

£15–£24.50 / 01225 448844

  • 14:30
  • 19:30

Fri 18 Aug

Ustinov Studio

£15–£24.50 / 01225 448844

  • 19:30

Sat 19 Aug

Ustinov Studio

£15–£24.50 / 01225 448844

  • 14:30
  • 19:30
…and 11 more dates until 2 Sep

Mary Stuart

  • Directed by: Robert Icke
  • Written by: Friedrich Schiller

Robert Icke directs Juliet Stevenson and Lia Williams in Schiller's political tragedy.

Wed 4 Apr 2018

£32.75–£45.25 / 01225 448844

Thu 5 Apr 2018

£32.75–£45.25 / 01225 448844

Fri 6 Apr 2018

£32.75–£45.25 / 01225 448844

…and 7 more dates until 14 Apr 2018

People, Places & Things

Duncan Macmillan's play about Emma, who is in rehab. People, Places and Things explores what truth really is, and how to survive sober in a messed-up world.

Tue 17 Oct

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 18 Oct

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Thu 19 Oct

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

…and 2 more dates until 21 Oct

The Play That Goes Wrong

  • Directed by: Mark Bell
  • Written by: Jonathan Sayer, Henry Lewis, Henry Shields

Award winning company Theatre Mischief presents a play-within-a-play about an amateur dramatic society putting on a murder mystery production.

Mon 12 Feb 2018

£26.75–£40.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 13 Feb 2018

£26.75–£40.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 14 Feb 2018

£26.75–£40.25 / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 17 Feb 2018

Priscilla: Queen of the Desert

High camp musical based on the Hugo Weaving/Terence Stamp/Guy Pearce 1994 movie, following three pals who go on an adventure in a battered old bus. Expect dancefloor fillers aplenty, including 'I Will Survive', 'It's Raining Men', 'Go West', 'Girls Just Wanna Have Fun' and many more.

Tue 14 Nov

£16.25–£34.75 / 01225 448844

Wed 15 Nov

£16.25–£34.75 / 01225 448844

Thu 16 Nov

£16.25–£34.75 / 01225 448844

…and 2 more dates until 18 Nov

The Railway Children

E Nesbit’s classic novel is brought to life by Exeter Northcott Theatre.

Tue 24 Oct

£22.25–£30.75 (£21.25–£29.75; Children £18.25–£26.75) / 01225 448844

Wed 25 Oct

£22.25–£30.75 (£21.25–£29.75; Children £18.25–£26.75) / 01225 448844

Thu 26 Oct

£22.25–£30.75 (£21.25–£29.75; Children £18.25–£26.75) / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 29 Oct

The Real Thing

Tom Stoppard's play about playwright Henry and his actress wife, Charlotte. When Henry’s affair with Annie threatens to destroy his own marriage, he realises life has started imitating art. But are they really in love? Is it the real thing?

Mon 18 Sep

£26.75–£40.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 19 Sep

£26.75–£40.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 20 Sep

£26.75–£40.25 / 01225 448844

…and 9 more dates until 30 Sep

Salad Days

Julian Slade's and Dorothy Reynolds's romantic musical.

Tue 12 Sep

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 13 Sep

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

Thu 14 Sep

£24.75–£38.25 / 01225 448844

…and 2 more dates until 16 Sep

Sarah and Duck's Big Top Birthday

Sarah and Duck are brought to the stage through the magic of theatre and puppetry. Ages 3+.

Sat 9 Sep

the egg

01225 448844

  • 11:30
  • 15:00

Sun 10 Sep

the egg

01225 448844

  • 11:30
  • 15:00

Tue 12 Sep

the egg

01225 448844

  • 10:00
  • 13:00
…and 16 more dates until 30 Sep

Snow White

A pantomime featuring a young girl and her Prince Charming, an enchanted mirror and a shiny red apple.

Thu 7 Dec

£24.25–£35.75 (£21.25–£32.75) / 01225 448844

Fri 8 Dec

£24.25–£35.75 (£21.25–£32.75) / 01225 448844

Sat 9 Dec

£24.25–£35.75 (£21.25–£32.75) / 01225 448844

…and 24 more dates until 7 Jan 2018

Tango Moderno

Tango performance.

Mon 29 Jan 2018

£27.25–£44.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 30 Jan 2018

£27.25–£44.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 31 Jan 2018

£27.25–£44.25 / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 3 Feb 2018

This House

  • Directed by: Jeremy Herrin
  • Written by: James Graham

Jeremy Herrin directs a revival of James Graham's acutely observed political drama set in the halls of Westminster in 1974, when the UK faces economic crisis and a hung parliament. A National Theatre production in association with Chichester Festival Theatre and Headlong.

Mon 19 Mar 2018

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 01225 448844

Tue 20 Mar 2018

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 01225 448844

Wed 21 Mar 2018

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 24 Mar 2018

Thriller Live

  • Directed by: Gary Lloyd, John Maher (musical director)
  • Written by: Adrian Grant (adapt)

A celebration of Michael Jackson and The Jackson 5 featuring top hits and some stunning multi-media razzmatazz.

Mon 27 Nov

£28.25–£39.25 / 01225 448844

Tue 28 Nov

£28.25–£39.25 / 01225 448844

Wed 29 Nov

£28.25–£39.25 / 01225 448844

…and 3 more dates until 2 Dec

The Tiger Who Came to Tea

Pull up a chair and lay another place at the table for a very special guest. Judith Kerr's much-loved children's book is given a magical, musical stage interpretation by David Wood. Ages 3+.

Thu 26 Oct

£15.75 / 01225 448844

Fri 27 Oct

£15.75 / 01225 448844

Sat 28 Oct

£15.75 / 01225 448844

Sun 29 Oct

£15.75 / 01225 448844

Comments & ratings