The Cookie

The Cookie
68 High Street, Leicester, East Midlands, LE1 5YP
  • Telephone 0116 253 1212
  • Opening times Tue–Thu noon–11pm; Fri & Sat noon–1am; Sun noon–5pm.
  • Email
  • Website www.thecookieleicester.co.uk
Photo of The Cookie

Jump to times or comments

Bar and venue on Leicester's High Street with a packed programme of live music and stand-up comedy. When the sun shines you can enjoy their rooftop terrace. Grays at the Cookie man the kitchen, serving up food that's vegan, vegetarian, omnivore and carnivore. For cocktails head up to The Attic.

Events at this venue

There are 44 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

Abandoman: Life & Rhymes

Fast-paced musical comedy sketches and hip hop improvisations from Rob Broderick.

Fri 29 Sep

£13.20 / 0116 253 1212

Andrew Lawrence: The Hate Speech Tour

  • 3 stars

Vitriolic humour from the former double Edinburgh Comedy Award nominee.

Thu 27 Jul

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

Andrew O'Neill is Trapped Down A Well

Whimsical comedy from the occult comedian.

Wed 13 Sep

£11 / 0116 253 1212

Angelos and Barry

Entirely improvised silliness from two of the world's deepest thinkers.

Thu 19 Oct

£16.50 / 0116 253 1212

Baby in Vain

Three-piece Scandinavian indie band.

Sun 8 Oct

£7.70 / 0116 253 1212

Bad Sounds

Self-penned pop from this five-piece from Bath.

Sat 18 Nov

£7.70 / 0116 253 1212

Band of Skulls

Southampton alt.rocker trio who scored big when 'Friends' was included on the Twilight soundtrack.

Thu 31 Aug

£10 / 0116 253 1212

Barns Courtney

Singer-songwriter with a beautiful voice and great lyrics.

Sat 16 Sep

£9.35 / 0116 253 1212

The Big Moon

Alt.rock four-piece from Bridgeport, CT.

Sat 14 Oct

£11 / 0116 253 1212

Boo Seeka

The Australian two-piece, comprising Boo and Sammy Seeka, return to the UK after their sold out headline tour down under. The duo road test their brand new psych soul and hip hop material, as well performing their hits which include Does This Last and Oh My.

Tue 8 Aug

£6.60 / 0116 253 1212

Brix And The Extricated

The five-piece outfit led by Brix Smith-Start and including Stephen Hanley, Paul Hanley, Steve Trafford and Jason Brown, all ex-members of The Fall, play classic material and original garage rock numbers.

Sat 11 Nov

£16.50 / 0116 253 1212

Carl Hutchinson

He's supported fellow Geordie Chris Ramsay in the past and now Carl presents his own show about his (self-confessed) stubborn nature.

Wed 4 Oct

£11 / 0116 253 1212

CC Smugglers

The Bedfordshire-based group plays lively country blues with elements of contemporary Gypsy swing and roots music.

Sat 4 Nov

£11 / 0116 253 1212

Coasts

Bristol indie five-piece with Foals and the Cure influences.

Thu 12 Oct

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

Daliso Chaponda: Laughrica

Cultural and social observations, including musings on HIV, ivory smuggling and dictatorships, from Daliso Chaponda.

Fri 16 Feb 2018

£16.50 / 0116 253 1212

Daliso Chaponda: What The African Said

The debut tour from the raw and cheeky Britain's Got Talent star, who came third in the show in 2017.

Fri 16 Feb 2018

£16.50 / 0116 253 1212

Dead Pretties

Trio influenced by Lou Reed, the Clash, Iggy Pop etc. Claim to be 'better than Taylor Swift' – there's only one way to find out.

Thu 5 Oct

£6.60 / 0116 253 1212

Dodgy

Mid-90s indie trio, best known for their hits 'Good Enough' and 'Staying Out for the Summer'.

Sat 21 Oct

£14.85 / 0116 253 1212

Dream State

Five-piece alt rock and post-hardcore unit.

Tue 22 Aug

Upstairs

£6.60 / 0116 253 1212

Dream Wife

The Brighton-based threesome performs its own take on pop music.

Sun 15 Oct

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

EMA

Modular synths and dark electro-pop melodies from Erika M Anderson

Sat 7 Oct

£11 / 0116 253 1212

Estrons

The Cardiff-based four-piece performs punchy and melodic alt rock.

Mon 2 Oct

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

Flyte

The alternative four-piece from London play dreamy indie riffs.

Sat 30 Sep

£7.70 / 0116 253 1212

Francobollo

Swedish indie band based in London.

Mon 23 Oct

£7.70 / 0116 253 1212

Howie Payne

Liverpool-formed collective The Stands burst onto the scene in 2002 with their raw rock sound. Following their split three years later singer-songwriter Howie Payne stepped out on his own with emotive indie-rock tunes and a passionate folk vibe, which he presents to you this evening.

Sun 22 Oct

£11 / 0116 253 1212

Hurray For The Riff Raff

The outfit hailing from New Orleans, Louisiana, perform their original Americana blues and folk songs.

Mon 14 Aug

£14.85 / 0116 253 1212

Iain Stirling

Upbeat wit and gags from Edinburgh-born stand-up and BAFTA-nominated children's TV presenter.

Fri 9 Feb 2018

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

Inheaven

Loud rock sounds from Inheaven.

Tue 10 Oct

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

Island

LOUTPROMOTIONS.CO.UK @LOUTPROMOTIONS

Thu 9 Nov

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

Island

Rollo Doherty, Jack Raeder, James Wolfe and Toby Richards make up this four-piece from London, performing their indie material.

Thu 9 Nov

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

Itch

Punk and folk with elements of pop, reggae and dubstep from the former King Blues member.

Wed 1 Nov

£11 / 0116 253 1212

James Yuill

Melancholic electronica and acoustic sounds from James Yuill.

Tue 12 Sep

£11 / 0116 253 1212

Juanita Stein

The Australian guitarist and singer-songwriter, known as the lead vocalist in the indie-rock band Howling Bells, performs her solo material.

Wed 2 Aug

Upstairs

£12.10 / 0116 253 1212

Lloyd Griffith in:Undated

Songs and self-depreciating gags from Griffith.

Fri 13 Oct

£8.80 / 0116 253 1212

Mae Martin: Dope

The star of the award-nominated Mae Martin's Guide to 21st Century Sexuality presents her latest show which looks at addictions, and the pursuits of short-term pleasure.

Wed 11 Oct

£13.20 / 0116 253 1212

Marika Hackman

Brighton singer-songwriter in the nu-folk vein.

Wed 15 Nov

£12.10 / 0116 253 1212

Matt Forde

Star of Unspun with Matt Forde dolls out political comedy and satire.

Wed 26 Jul

£5.50 / 0116 253 1212

  • 19:00

Micah P Hinson

Americana singer-songwriter from Memphis.

Wed 27 Sep

£16.50 / 0116 253 1212

Neon Waltz

Indie rock from the Caithness-based band.

Sun 27 Aug

£6.60 / 0116 253 1212

Sløtface

Norwegian punk sounds.

Tue 17 Oct

£7.70 / 0116 253 1212

Together Pangea

American rock'n'roll combo.

Tue 14 Nov

Upstairs

£12.10 / 0116 253 1212

Traps

The indie pop/rock five piece performs.

Sat 2 Sep

£7.70 / 0116 253 1212

Van Zeller

The Bristol DIY outfit plays its garage rock numbers.

Sat 23 Sep

Free / 0116 253 1212

Yak

Psychedelic alt.rock band with connections to Jack White’s Third Man Records.

Fri 6 Oct

£11 / 0116 253 1212

Comments & ratings

Post a comment