Kings Theatre

Kings Theatre
Kings Theatre
Albert Road, Southsea, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO5 2QJ

Jump to times or comments

The dignified and beautiful Kings Theatre with its Italian Renaissance style of decor is one of the most elegant Edwardian playhouses in the British Isles. The Kings Theatre is the primary theatre in the city of Portsmouth, seating 1600 people and providing a vast and exciting programme for its valued patrons, playing host to touring West End productions.

The Kings is situated on the corner of Albert Road and Exmouth Road in Southsea among a hub of activities – shops, salons, bars, restaurants and art galleries.

Text supplied by third party.

Event times

There are 22 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

Alan Carr: Yap, Yap, Yap

The camp face of Chatty Man proves his status as the King of bitchy comedy.

Fri 26 Jun

Times & prices to be confirmed / 02392 828282

Sat 27 Jun

Times & prices to be confirmed / 02392 828282

Ben and Holly's Little Kingdom

  • Directed by: Richard Lewis
  • Written by: Mani Svavarsson (music)

Richard Lewis' adaptation of the award-winning television animation set in a miniature world of fairies, elves and insects. The production features original music by Mani Svavarsson, with original lyrics by Matt Lewis.

Fri 1 May

Birdsong

  • Written by: Rachel Wagstaff (adapt)

Adaptation of Sebastian Faulks' best-selling novel of love, courage and sacrifice set before and during WWI.

Mon 1 Jun

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Tue 2 Jun

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Wed 3 Jun

Times to be confirmed / Phone for prices / 02392 828282

…and 3 more dates until 6 Jun

Calamity Jane

  • Directed by: Nick Winston

Jodie Prenger stars in this Watermill Theatre touring production of the Wild West musical, which also features a cast of multi-talented actor-musicians. Directed by Nikolai Foster.

Wed 1 Apr

£25 (£23; £22) / 02392 828282

Thu 2 Apr

£25 (£23; £22) / 02392 828282

Fri 3 Apr

£25 (£23; £22) / 02392 828282

Sat 4 Apr

£25 (£23; £22) / 02392 828282

Cantando: Workshop (Ages 3-5)

Learn basic music theory and classic tunes.

Mon 6 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Mon 13 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Mon 20 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

…and 5 more dates until 25 May back to top

Cantando: Workshop (Ages 8-16)

Learn chart-topping songs along with music theatre and songs from various genres.

Tue 7 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Tue 14 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Tue 21 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

…and 5 more dates until 26 May

Cantando: Workshop (Over 16s)

Learn chart-topping songs along with music theatre and songs from various genres.

Mon 6 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Mon 13 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Mon 20 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

…and 5 more dates until 25 May

Dara O'Briain: Crowd Tickler

The Irish comedy star and host of BBC2's Mock the Week returns to with his observational humour in a new show – Crowd Tickler.

Wed 23 Sep

£23 / 02392 828282

Thu 24 Sep

£23 / 02392 828282

The Dreamboys

The ultimate ladies night featuring some of the best looking boys in an all male glamour extravaganza.

Thu 21 May

£13.50–£15 / 02392 828282

Easter Art School (Ages 8-12)

Draw and sketch our beautiful Edwardian theatre and use these as inspiration to create a cardboard construction featuring mechanical movement. With resident artist, Simon Whitcomb.

Tue 7 Apr

£120 / 02392 828282

Wed 8 Apr

£120 / 02392 828282

Thu 9 Apr

£120 / 02392 828282

Fri 10 Apr

£120 / 02392 828282

back to top

Flintoff & Holcroft: Balls Out

Andrew 'Freddie' Flintoff and Clyde Holcroft present this lads-on-tour show as they tour their podcast.

Tue 20 Oct

Forever In Blue Jeans

High energy, hit songs and hot dance in one show as the cast of eight singers take the audience on a musical journey starting in the 50s and ending in the present, passing the likes of Brenda Lee, The Carpenters and Abba on the way.

Sun 26 Apr

£17–£20 / 02392 828282

The Fureys & Davey Arthur

The Irish legends perform with Davey Arthur.

Sun 19 Apr

£18–£20 / 02392 828282

Godspell

  • Directed by: Richard Marcel
  • Written by: lyrics)

A parable of Christ's life featuring a rock musical score by Stephen Schwartz.

Tue 28 Apr

£25–£27.50 / 02392 828282

Wed 29 Apr

£25–£27.50 / 02392 828282

The History Boys

  • Directed by: Kate Saxon
  • Written by: Alan Bennett

Alan Bennett's witty play, which is also a hit movie starring James Corden and Dominic Cooper, follows eight teenage boys on their journey towards academia.

Wed 22 Apr

£20–£23; £22–£27.50; £23–£27.50; £26.50–£29 / 02392 828282

Thu 23 Apr

£20–£23; £22–£27.50; £23–£27.50; £26.50–£29 / 02392 828282

Fri 24 Apr

£20–£23; £22–£27.50; £23–£27.50; £26.50–£29 / 02392 828282

Sat 25 Apr

£20–£23; £22–£27.50; £23–£27.50; £26.50–£29 / 02392 828282

back to top

Let's Hang On: A Tribute to Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons

Tight falsetto vocals and doo-wop harmonies, featuring all those insanely catchy hits such as 'Can't Take My Eyes Off You' and 'Dec '63 (Oh What A Night)'.

Fri 10 Apr

Mindful Living Club

A fun and informative socialising session.

Wed 29 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Wed 27 May

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Return To The Forbidden Planet

  • Directed by: Frederick 'Frido' Ruth
  • Written by: Bob Carlton

Join Captain Tempest and his fearless crew on a stellar adventure into hyperspace in this intergalactic musical. The show includes plenty of rock favourites such as 'Rattle and Roll', 'Great Balls of Fire' and' Johnny B Goode'.

Mon 13 Apr

£22; £23–£27; £26–£28 / 02392 828282

Tue 14 Apr

£22; £23–£27; £26–£28 / 02392 828282

Wed 15 Apr

£22; £23–£27; £26–£28 / 02392 828282

…and 3 more dates until 18 Apr

Sing And Sign

Young children can learn signs and gestures to help them communicate, using action songs, props, pictures and toys in musical activities.

Thu 2 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Thu 9 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Thu 16 Apr

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

…and 6 more dates until 28 May

The Solid Silver 60s Show 2014

Relive the nostalgic sounds of 60s pop in the company of Vanity Fare, Chris Montez, Chris Farlow and Brian Poole & the Tremelos.

Wed 8 Apr

£23.50–£27.50 / 02392 828282

The Young Irish Tenors: Rhythm of the Dance

Irish dance at its most thrilling, with beautiful costumes, experienced dancers and high production values.

Tue 7 Jul

£22 / 02392 828282

Comments & ratings

Post a comment