Kings Theatre

Kings Theatre
Kings Theatre
Albert Road, Southsea, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO5 2QJ
  • Telephone 02392 828282
  • Opening times Mon–Sat 10am–6pm; closed Sun.
  • Email
  • Website www.kingsportsmouth.co.uk

Jump to times or comments

The dignified and beautiful Kings Theatre with its Italian Renaissance style of decor is one of the most elegant Edwardian playhouses in the British Isles. The Kings Theatre is the primary theatre in the city of Portsmouth, seating 1600 people and providing a vast and exciting programme for its valued patrons, playing host to touring West End productions.

The Kings is situated on the corner of Albert Road and Exmouth Road in Southsea among a hub of activities – shops, salons, bars, restaurants and art galleries.

Text supplied by third party.

Event times

There are 47 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

10cc

The hits of one of the most successful and influential English pop bands of the 70s, revisited by original member Graham Gouldman and some new faces. The original line-up of Graham Gouldman, Eric Stewart, Kevin Godley, and Lol Creme assumed the name 10cc in 1972. Their first single 'Donna' peaked at number two in the…

Tue 11 Oct

£33 / 02392 828282

All Or Nothing

A musical based on the 1960s group The Small Faces.

Wed 6 Jul

£16.50–£24 (£20–£22; £19–£21; £19–£21) / 02392 828282

Thu 7 Jul

£16.50–£24 (£20–£22; £19–£21; £19–£21) / 02392 828282

Sat 9 Jul

£16.50–£24 (£20–£22; £19–£21; £19–£21) / 02392 828282

Around The World - Classique School Of Dance

A mixed programme from students of the Classique School Of Dance.

Sun 10 Jul

£16.50 ( £13.50; Children £11.50) / 02392 828282

The Bowie Experience

Tribute to the late, great David Bowie.

Thu 22 Sep

£24.50 / 02392 828282

Bringing on Back the 1960s

The New Amen Corner perform hits from the 60s.

Thu 2 Jun

£20 (£18; £17) / 02392 828282

back to top

Buddy: The Buddy Holly Story

  • Directed by: Rob Bettinson
  • Written by: Alan Janes

Celebrate the man and the music as the popular touring production of the rock musical rolls into town again.

Tue 27 Sep

Thu 29 Sep

…and 2 more dates until 1 Oct

Celebrate! By The Movement Initiative

The dance company performs a mixed programme of styles.

Wed 1 Jun

£9.50 (£8) / 02392 828282

The Chicago Blues Brothers

Celebrating the music of The Blues Brothers with a packed revue of blues and soul.

Thu 16 Jun

£25 (£23; £22; £22) / 02392 828282

Chris & Pui Roadshow

CBeebies favourites Chris Jarvis and Pui Fan Lee present a show packed with songs, games and fun for the smallest members of the family.

Tue 25 Oct

£12 (Children £10; £40) / 02392 828282

Dirty Dancing

  • Directed by: Sarah Tipple
  • Written by: Eleanor Bergstein

See Baby not put in the corner in the musical based on the late Patrick Swayze's popular film.

Mon 14 Nov

£20–£45 / 02392 828282

Tue 15 Nov

Wed 16 Nov

£20–£45 / 02392 828282

…and 3 more dates until 19 Nov back to top

Dirty Dusting

Three senior cleaning ladies embark on a brand new business venture together – a telephone sex line.

Mon 6 Jun

£21.50 (£19.50; £19.50) / 02392 828282

The ELO Experience

This tribute band recreates 'Mr Blue Sky' et al, probably with a more stable line-up than the real ELO.

Thu 23 Jun

£22 / 02392 828282

Frankly Sinatra

Stephen Triffitt presents a tribute to Ol' Blue Eyes himself.

Fri 17 Jun

£26 / 02392 828282

House Of Burlesque

Hosted by Joe Black, international burlesque stars take to the stage to present glamorous adult entertainment.

Fri 22 Jul

£18 (£16; £15; £15) / 02392 828282

Illegal Eagles

Tribute band to the prolific Hotel California songsters.

Sat 25 Jun

£25 / 02392 828282

back to top

International Culture And Arts Festival

A performance by an award-winning music and dance company.

Mon 13 Jun

Phone for prices / 02392 828282

Into The Woods Jr & Annie Jr

Students from The Academy of Musical Theatre perform both musicals. The juniors perform Annie Jr, whilst for the seniors it is Into The Woods Jr.

Sun 17 Jul

£16.50 (£13.50) / 02392 828282

Legends Of Music And Dance

Students of the Giselle Academy of Dance and Theatre Arts perform a mixed dance programme.

Sat 11 Jun

£12.50 ( £10.50; Children £10.50; Children £1 under 5s) / 02392 828282

Let's Hang On: A Tribute to Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons

Tight falsetto vocals and doo-wop harmonies, featuring all those insanely catchy hits such as 'Can't Take My Eyes Off You' and 'Dec '63 (Oh What A Night)'.

Fri 23 Sep

Mad About The Musicals

Music from the West End performed by Gareth Gates and Michael Courtney.

Sat 28 May

£26 (£24; £24) / 02392 828282

back to top

The Magic of Motown

Tribute to the sweet soul sounds of Motown starring the supremely-talented Magic of Motown band, with hits made famous by the Isley Brothers, Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, Martha Reeves and more.

Sun 23 Oct

Maximum Rhythm & Blues

Join 60s luminaries The Manfreds, PP Arnold and Zoot Money for a fabulous evening of Rhythm and Blues nostalgia, and some of the greatest hits ever written! The Manfreds with an all star line up of original members Paul Jones, Mike D’Abo, Tom McGuinness and Mike Hugg with Rob Townsend, Marcus Cliffe and Simon Currie…

Wed 19 Oct

£27–£29 / 02392 828282

Mind, Body And Soul - School Of Dance

A mixed programme by students of Alverstoke School of Dance.

Sun 26 Jun

£13.50 ( £11.50; Children £11.50) / 02392 828282

Nathan Carter

Irish charmer Nathan Carter and his band play an easy listening mix of Irish, country and popular songs.

Wed 14 Sep

£26.50 / 02392 828282

A Night In Venice

The European Baroque Ensemble's leading opera singers take to the stage to perform some of the greatest arias by the likes of Verdi, Puccini and Donizetti, alongside special guest vocalists Maria Kesselma and Jonathan Ansell.

Wed 15 Jun

£22.50 (£20.50; £20.50; £19; £19.50 OAP/; Children £19) / 02392 828282

back to top

One Night In Vegas: Elvis Presley Tribute

Mark Anthony performs a tribute to the King of Rock'n'Roll based on his return to the Las Vegas stage.

Sat 23 Jul

£23.50 (£21.50; £21.50) / 02392 828282

One Night of Queen

Tribute to Freddie Mercury et al, starring Gary Mullen – winner of ITV's Stars in Their Eyes – and his band the Works, bringing you all the Queen hits.

Thu 26 May

£20 / 02392 828282

The Pasadena Roof Orchestra

The Orchestra celebrates the music of the great entertainers from Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington to Billie Holiday and Bix Beiderbecke.

Thu 21 Jul

£23 (£21; £21) / 02392 828282

Peter Pan - The British Musical

JM Barrie's evergreen classic has been adapted by Kings Youth Theatre into this musical production.

Fri 1 Jul

£11.50 ( £9.50; £9.50; Children £9.50) / 02392 828282

Sat 2 Jul

£11.50 ( £9.50; £9.50; Children £9.50) / 02392 828282

Pirates Of The Curry Bean - Summer School

Lou Bundy and her team take the classes for children to learn the skills of acting, singing and dancing, terminating in a final performance.

Mon 25 Jul

£160 / 02392 828282

Tue 26 Jul

£160 / 02392 828282

Wed 27 Jul

£160 / 02392 828282

…and 2 more dates until 29 Jul back to top

Puppetry of the Penis

Puppetry of the Penis features two Australians who manipulate their genitals into various shapes, objects and landmarks.

Sat 8 Oct

£15 / 02392 828282

Romesh Ranganathan: Irrational

In this brand new show, Ranganathan explores the rationality of his worldview and explains why it's everyone else who is wrong.

Thu 15 Sep

£20 / 02392 828282

The Ronnie Scott's Story & Claire Martin

The story of the famous jazz venue including the police raids, drunks, gangsters and missing money, told through a performance by the house band with a full screen projection. Plus an appearance by the singer Claire Martin.

Thu 14 Jul

£23.50 ( £21.50; £21.50; Children £21.50) / 02392 828282

Russian State Ballet: Nutcracker

  • Directed by: Sergei Bobrov
  • Written by: Tchaikovsky

Full-length classical ballet set to Tchaikovsky's music and performed by the renowned company.

Fri 21 Oct

Russian State Ballet: Swan Lake

  • Written by: Tchaikovsky

Tchaikovsky's magical score accompanies this tale of mystery and romance with spellbinding ballet dancing from the Russian State Ballet.

back to top

Sally Morgan

Got a goldfish that you flushed down the toilet that you need to say sorry to? Now's your chance to apologise through the medium of Sally Morgan.

Wed 12 Oct

£23.50 / 02392 828282

Seasons - Classique School Of Dance

A mixed programme from students of the Classique School Of Dance.

Sun 10 Jul

£9.50 ( £6.50; Children £6.50) / 02392 828282

Showaddywaddy

Doo wop nostalgia merchants, big in the 70s, with thinning quiffs these days, tour in celebration of their 40th year together.

Fri 24 Jun

£21 ( £19) / 02392 828282

Soul Legends

A night of soul classics.

Fri 8 Jul

£26 / 02392 828282

Susan Meredith

Studies of local architecture in textured media, created using watercolours, ink and photography.

Wed 25 May

Free / 02392 828282

Thu 26 May

Free / 02392 828282

Fri 27 May

Free / 02392 828282

…and 2 more dates until 30 May back to top

Symphony To A Lost Generation

Adam Donen's epic symphony boasts the world's first fully holographic cast of 250 actors and dancers, who appear beside the Vienna Philharmonic Choir and Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra to depict the human tragedy of the First World War.

Tue 21 Jun

£21.50 ( £19.50; Children £7.50) / 02392 828282

Wed 22 Jun

£21.50 ( £19.50; Children £7.50) / 02392 828282

Technical Summer School

Children have the opportunity to learn all the technical aspects that are required to stage a musical theatre production.

Mon 25 Jul

£160 / 02392 828282

Tue 26 Jul

£160 / 02392 828282

Wed 27 Jul

£160 / 02392 828282

…and 7 more dates until 12 Aug

Thank You For The Music

Double the tribute trouble.

Fri 7 Oct

Theatre Tour

A tour of the theatre's backstage, wardrobe and technical areas.

Sat 4 Jun

£6 (Children £1 under 15s) / 02392 828282

Sat 2 Jul

£6 (Children £1 under 15s) / 02392 828282

Sat 1 Oct

£6 (Children £1 under 15s) / 02392 828282

…and 2 more dates until 3 Dec

Timestep - Keep Calm And Dance!

A mixed programme, performed by students of the Timestep Academy of Dance & Performing Arts.

Sat 16 Jul

£13.50 (Children £11.50) / 02392 828282

UK Pink Floyd Experience: Pink Floyd Tribute

The progressive rock behemoth has a range of its material performed live on stage.

Sat 4 Jun

£21.50 ( £19.50) / 02392 828282

Whitney: Queen Of The Night

A celebration of the music and life of Whitney Houston. This award-winning production features a stellar line up with rising West End star Rebecca Freckleton.

Sat 18 Jun

£22 / 02392 828282

Comments & ratings

Post a comment