Cambridge Junction

Cambridge Junction
Clifton Way, Cambridge, CB1 7GX
  • Telephone 01223 511511
  • Email
  • Website www.junction.co.uk
Photo of Cambridge Junction

Jump to times or comments (1)

Cambridge Junction

Just 15 minutes walk from the city centre, The Junction prides itself in providing cutting edge and new theatre for the local area. With three main stages (J1 which sits 850, J2 which sits 220 and J3 which is a multipurpose space for rehearsals, talks ,etc).

Events at this venue

Sorted by date & time / title

Thursday 27 April

Saturday 29 April

Sunday 30 April

Cambridge Junction
J3 £11.50 (£9) 01223 511511

Wednesday 3 May

Cambridge Junction
£24.50 adv 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£12.50 (£8) 01223 511511

Thursday 4 May

Cambridge Junction
2 £13.25 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£22 01223 511511

Friday 5 May

Cambridge Junction
£7.50 (£6) 01223 511511

Saturday 6 May

Cambridge Junction
£19.50 adv 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
2 £19.50 01223 511511

Sunday 7 May

Cambridge Junction
£10 (Children £6) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£10 (Children £6) 01223 511511

Tuesday 9 May

Cambridge Junction
£16.50 01223 511511

Thursday 11 May

Cambridge Junction
2 £16.50 0141 332 1120

Sunday 14 May

Monday 15 May

Cambridge Junction
£15.50 adv 01223 511511

Tuesday 16 May

Friday 19 May

Cambridge Junction
£12.50 (£8) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£13.50 01223 511511

Saturday 20 May

Cambridge Junction
2 £16.75 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£12.50 (£8) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£13.50 (£11.50) 01223 511511

Tuesday 23 May

Wednesday 24 May

Cambridge Junction
£20.35 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
2 £13.25 01223 511511

Saturday 27 May

Cambridge Junction
Times to be confirmed / £20 festival pass (£15 festival pass) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£20 festival pass (£15 festival pass) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£20 all day pass (£15 all day pass) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£20 festival pass (£15 festival pass) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£20 festival pass (£15 festival pass) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£20 festival pass (£15 festival pass) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£20 festival pass (£15 festival pass) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£20 festival pass (£15 festival pass) 01223 511511

Monday 29 May

Cambridge Junction
£19.25 01223 511511

Tuesday 30 May

Cambridge Junction
£17.60 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£11.50 (£8; £6) 01223 511511

Wednesday 31 May

Cambridge Junction
£11.50 (£8; £6) 01223 511511

Thursday 1 June

Cambridge Junction
£11.50 (£8; £6) 01223 511511

Friday 2 June

Cambridge Junction
£11.50 (£8; £6) 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£24.75 01223 511511

Tuesday 6 June

Wednesday 7 June

Cambridge Junction
2 £29.15 01223 511511

Thursday 15 June

Cambridge Junction
£27.50 01223 511511

Friday 16 June

Cambridge Junction
£11.50 adv 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
2 £19.80 01223 511511

Sunday 25 June

Tuesday 27 June

Cambridge Junction
£18.15 01223 511511

Friday 30 June

Cambridge Junction
£6 01223 511511

Saturday 1 July

Cambridge Junction
£24.75 01223 511511

Tuesday 4 July

Saturday 19 August

Cambridge Junction
£27.50 01223 511511

Saturday 2 September

Saturday 9 September

Cambridge Junction
£19.50 01223 511511

Saturday 16 September

Tuesday 26 September

Thursday 28 September

Tuesday 3 October

Cambridge Junction
£15 01223 511511

Sunday 15 October

Saturday 21 October

Sunday 22 October

Thursday 2 November

Cambridge Junction
£16.50 01223 511511

Wednesday 8 November

Cambridge Junction
£24.20 01223 511511

Thursday 9 November

Cambridge Junction
£24.75 01223 511511

Friday 10 November

Wednesday 15 November

Thursday 16 November

Tuesday 21 November

Friday 24 November

Thursday 30 November

Cambridge Junction
£16 tickets on sale Friday 11th November, 9am 01223 511511

Sunday 3 December

Cambridge Junction
£17 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£18.70 01223 511511

Thursday 7 December

Cambridge Junction
£20.35 01223 511511

Saturday 16 December

Cambridge Junction
£15.40 01223 511511
Cambridge Junction
£12.10 (£8.80) 01223 511511

Comments & ratings

1. Lucy Jones10 Jun 2011, 4:52pm Report

Peter Kirwan : 03 Jun 2011 17:41 | Tags: News | Comments (1) | Close comments | Report a problem

Please wait - comments are loading One comment
Lucy Jones
NOBLE KINSMEN

CAMBRIDGE SCHOOL OF VISUAL & PERFORMING ARTS at The Junction
Tuesday 7 June

Performances of THE TWO NOBLE KINSMEN are still as rare as the proverbial hen’s teeth, though in recent years it has been increasingly popular with drama schools. This revival by an enthusiastic cast of international students – quite probably the play’s first ever Cambridge airing – was not the most profound I’ve seen, but it was certainly the most enjoyable.

I had gone intending to listen for the differing authorial voices, but with five minutes has ceased caring whether this scene or that soliloquy were by Shakespeare, Fletcher, both or neither, such was the exuberance and panache of Jean Stewart’s lively and beautiful production.

It is a Jacobean retelling of Chaucer’s version of the ancient Greek tale of Palamon and Arcite, two devoted cousins who become implabable rivals for the hand of Duke Theseus’ sister Emilia.

Interwoven is a subplot concerning a jailer’s daughter, driven mad (Ophelia-like) by her love for Palamon. Georgina Dugdale gave a virtuoso performance in this touching role; with the fragility of a Puccini heroine and exemplary vocal and movement skills, she all but stole the show.

Whether she or the audience fully understood the filthy significance of the double-entendres that pepper her ramblings – especially after a Doctor (Lindi Lewis – very amusing) has prescribed a curiously modern for of sexual therapy – I rather doubt.

Rebecca Cuthertson’s edition of the text played up the sunniness and funniness, playing down the echoes of earlier Shakespeare plays, and cutting entirely the sexually ambiguous scene where the rival cousins, preparing to fight each other, lovingly arm one another first.

The eighteenth century setting, and the casting of girls as the noble kinsmen, would have made this difficult to play. Generally, though, the former worked remarkably well, for that was an era when male pride taken to its extremes counted for something.

Similarly, the gender-blind casting emphasised the absurdity of the protagonists’ obsession. Caroline Maroney and Mealangell Dolma gave nicely contrasting characterisations, though Ms Dolman’s strutting, self-satisfied Arcite was only a thigh slap away from Principal Boy!

The most affecting performance, though, was not the busiest nor the noisiest: as Emilia, object of the cousins’ rivalry and the only character to see through and beyond the absurdity of it all, Nadia Babke displayed an astonishing serenity and depth of feeling, emerging as the still point at the storm’s centre.

On the minus side, there was too much overacting by sup

Post a comment
RSS feed of these comments