Sunderland Empire

Sunderland Empire
4–5 High Street West, Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, SR1 3EX
  • Telephone 0844 871 3022

Jump to times or comments

Opened in 1907 as the Empire Palace, this 1,860 seater is one of the largest theatres in the North East. Famous performers include Tommy Steele and Helen Mirren who made their débuts at the theatre, and Sid James who suffered his fatal heart attack performing on the stage in 1976. The dome and tower part of the building has recently been refitted with a state-of-the-art LED and floodlight system that illuminates the main entrance in the evening.

Event times

There are 50 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

ABBA Mania

Celebrating decades of golden hits with a recreation of the live Abba show.

Sat 28 Jan

£16.40–£22.40 / 0844 871 3022

All Or Nothing

A musical based on the 1960s group The Small Faces.

Tue 18 Apr

£23.90–£36.90 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 19 Apr

£23.90–£36.90 / 0844 871 3022

Thu 20 Apr

£23.90–£36.90 / 0844 871 3022

…and 2 more dates until 22 Apr

Beyond the Barricade

A selection of the best-loved songs from new and classic West End shows like The Phantom of the Opera, Mamma Mia, The Lion King and Les Miserables.

Sat 1 Apr

£25.50 / 0844 871 3022

Thu 16 Mar

£18.90–£46.90 / 0844 871 3022

Sat 18 Mar

£18.90–£46.90 / 0844 871 3022

Birmingham Royal Ballet: Swan Lake

  • Written by: Peter Wright

Tchaikovsky's ballet about a princess who's been turned into a swan.

back to top

Brendan Cole: All Night Long

Choreographer, performer and Strictly's dancer Brendan Cole performs more dazzling ballroom and Latin moves.

Sun 19 Feb

£30.90–£46.40 / 0844 871 3022

Buddy: The Buddy Holly Story

  • Directed by: Rob Bettinson
  • Written by: Alan Janes

Celebrate the man and the music as the popular touring production of the rock musical rolls into town again.

Thu 9 Feb

£15.40–£39.40 / 0844 871 3022

La Cage Aux Folles

John Partridge stars as Albin and Adrian Zmed as Georges in this Bill Kenright production about drag artists and family values.

Tue 1 Aug

£17.90–£51.40 / 0844 871 3022

…and 2 more dates until 5 Aug

The Chicago Blues Brothers

Celebrating the music of The Blues Brothers with a packed revue of blues and soul.

Fri 17 Feb

£28.65–£30.65 / 0844 871 3022

Cinderella

The story of Cinderella and her ugly sisters is danced by Birmingham Royal Ballet.

Thu 16 Mar

£0–£46.90 / 0844 871 3022

Sat 18 Mar

back to top

Dirty Dancing

  • Directed by: Sarah Tipple
  • Written by: Eleanor Bergstein

See Baby not put in the corner in the musical based on the late Patrick Swayze's popular film.

Mon 26 Jun

£15.40–£53.40 / 0844 871 3022

Tue 27 Jun

£15.40–£53.40 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 28 Jun

£15.40–£53.40 / 0844 871 3022

…and 3 more dates until 1 Jul

Dreamboats and Petticoats

  • Directed by: Bob Tomson
  • Written by: Maurice Gran

Jukebox musical based on the songs of Roy Orbison, the Shadows, Eddie Cochran, Billy Fury and others.

Mon 19 Jun

£16.90–£40.90 / 0844 871 3022

Tue 20 Jun

£16.90–£40.90 / 0844 871 3022

…and 3 more dates until 24 Jun

Ellen Kent's La Bohème

Puccini's romantic opera is staged traditionally, directed by Ellen Kent and starring international soloists.

Sat 11 Mar

£14.90–£43.90 / 0844 871 3022

Ellen Kent's Nabucco

The four-act opera, composed in 1841 by Giuseppe Verdi, tells the story of the tyrannical Babylonian King who conquers and exiles Jews from their homelands. Sung in Italian with English surtitles.

Sun 12 Mar

£14.90–£43.90 / 0844 871 3022

The ELO Experience

This tribute band recreates 'Mr Blue Sky' et al, probably with a more stable line-up than the real ELO.

Wed 14 Jun

back to top

Empire Tours 2017

Empire Tours 2017 at Sunderland Empire

Sat 4 Feb

Sat 25 Feb

Sat 25 Mar

…and 6 more dates until 1 Jul

Evita

Following its roaring success on the West End stage, Bill Kenwright's production of Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice's enduring musical Evita tells the story of Eva Peron, wife of former Argentine dictator Juan Peron, who won over a nation to be heralded as the 'spiritual leader' of Argentina.

Tue 4 Apr

£17.90–£50.90 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 5 Apr

£17.90–£50.90 / 0844 871 3022

Thu 6 Apr

£17.90–£50.90 / 0844 871 3022

…and 2 more dates until 8 Apr

Flashdance

Musical about Alex: welder by day, dancer by night.

Mon 11 Sep

£17.90–£53.90 / 0844 871 3022

Tue 12 Sep

£17.90–£53.90 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 13 Sep

…and 3 more dates until 16 Sep

The Full Monty

Oscar-winning writer Simon Beaufoy has adapted his feel great 1990s film about six washed-up Sheffield steel workers, who swap the dole queue for the stage. Gary Lucy, Joe Absolom, Andrew Dunn, Louis Emerick, Chris Fountain and Kai Owen flex their pecs to great songs by Donna Summer, Hot Chocolate and Tom Jones.

Mon 20 Mar

£13.90–£37.40 / 0844 871 3022

Tue 21 Mar

£13.90–£37.40 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 22 Mar

…and 3 more dates until 25 Mar

Gangsta Granny

  • Written by: David Walliams

The world premiere performance of David Walliams' Gangsta Granny book, about a Friday night with Granny that ends up being more exciting than expected. Presented by the Birmingham Stage Company (Horrible Histories).

Wed 10 May

£19–£26.75 / 0844 871 3022

Thu 11 May

Fri 12 May

…and 2 more dates until 14 May back to top

Grease

  • Directed by: Arlene Phillips (choreographer)
  • Written by: Jim Jacobs

The classic romantic musical, set in an American high school in the '50s.

Mon 1 May

Tue 2 May

Wed 3 May

…and 3 more dates until 6 May

Grease

The classic romantic musical, set in an American high school in the '50s.

Mon 1 May

Tue 2 May

Wed 3 May

…and 3 more dates until 6 May

Grease

The iconic story of girl-next-door Sandy, and her bad-boy love interest Danny Zuko. Featuring the hits 'Grease is the Word', and 'Hopelessly Devoted to You'.

Mon 1 May

Tue 2 May

Wed 3 May

…and 3 more dates until 6 May

Hairspray

The feel-good musical comedy telling the story of Tracy Turnblad, a girl with big hair and big dreams.

Mon 25 Sep

£16.25–£49 / 0844 871 3022

Tue 26 Sep

£16.25–£49 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 27 Sep

…and 3 more dates until 30 Sep

Halfway To Paradise: The Billy Fury Story

Colin Gold and Fury's original backing band, Fury's Tornados, tell his story through words and music.

back to top

Iconic The Show

A live show crammed with hits from iconic movies, including Pulp Fiction, James Bond and Mad Max.

Fri 31 Mar

£27.90–£29.90 / 0844 871 3022

Illegal Eagles

Tribute band to the prolific Hotel California songsters.

Sun 9 Apr

£25.90–£27.90 / 0844 871 3022

Jimmy Carr: The Best of, Ultimate, Gold, Greatest Hits Tour

Acerbic wit and dark, deadpan one-liners from familiar telly face Carr.

Justin's Party

BAFTA-award winning character actor Justin Fletcher presents a family-friendly mix of games, jokes, songs and plenty of surprises.

Sun 19 Mar

back to top

King of Pop - The Legend Continues

This incredible production stars the world’s leading MJ tribute artist Navi who is joined by Michael Jackson’s iconic guitarist – Jennifer Batten. Jennifer was Michael’s "right-hand woman" on three sell-out world tours. She was initially hand-picked to play on the Bad Tour but Michael was so impressed that she joined him…

Sun 7 May

The Magic of Motown

Tribute to the sweet soul sounds of Motown starring the supremely-talented Magic of Motown band, with hits made famous by the Isley Brothers, Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, Martha Reeves and more.

Fri 10 Mar

£30.40 / 0844 871 3022

Mamma Mia!

  • Directed by: Phyllida Lloyd
  • Written by: lyrics)

The smash hit musical based on the songs of Abba continues to storm the UK.

Tue 17 Oct

£17.50–£63.50 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 18 Oct

£17.50–£63.50 / 0844 871 3022

Thu 19 Oct

…and 20 more dates until 11 Nov

Mercury

Relive the music, outfits and excitement of the live Queen experience with this tribute band.

Thu 9 Mar

£23.40 / 0844 871 3022

One Night of Elvis: Lee 'Memphis' King

An evening in the company of top Elvis impersonator Lee 'Memphis' King, performing a selection of Presley's hip-shaking greatest hits.

back to top

Puppetry of the Penis

Puppetry of the Penis features two Australians who manipulate their genitals into various shapes, objects and landmarks.

Fri 27 Jan

Ross Noble: Brain Dump

The wild-haired Geordie, prone to wondrous tangents and surreal interludes, wanders back out on tour with a brand new show.

Wed 8 Mar

The Roy Orbison Story

Roy Orbison tribute singer Barry Steele and his five-piece show band singing hits by the Big O plus a special tribute to the time Roy spent with The Traveling Wilburys, and Bono.

Sat 2 Sep

Sensational 60's Experience

The Marmalade, Herman’s Hermits, Chris Farlowe and Steve Ellis’ Love Affair perform their evergreen hits.

Thu 26 Jan

£29.65–£31.65 / 0844 871 3022

Showaddywaddy

Doo wop nostalgia merchants, big in the 70s, with thinning quiffs these days, tour in celebration of their 40th year together.

Thu 7 Sep

£24 / 0844 871 3022

The Simon and Garfunkel Story

Direct from its success in London’s West End, a sold out UK tour and standing ovations at every performance, The Simon & Garfunkel Story is back! Using huge projection photos and original film footage, this 50 Anniversary Celebration also features a full live band performing all the hits including Mrs Robinson…

Mon 23 Jan

Soul Legends

A night of soul classics.

Sat 18 Feb

£26.90–£28.90 / 0844 871 3022

T-Rextasy

Longstanding, respected T-Rex tribute act. Glam rockers brace yourselves.

Thu 16 Feb

£27.50 / 0844 871 3022

Vampires Rock: The Ghost Train.

Steve Steinman's musical mixes comedy with rock music and, naturally, the undead.

Wed 8 Feb

£27.40–£29.40 / 0844 871 3022

back to top

The Wedding Singer

The story of wedding singer and rock star wannabe Robbie Hart, who falls for Julia while helping to plan her big day.

Tue 21 Feb

£16.50–£54.50 / 0844 871 3022

Thu 23 Feb

£16.50–£54.50 / 0844 871 3022

…and 2 more dates until 25 Feb

The Wedding Singer

The cast from The Wedding Singer the Musical (based on the smash hit Adam Sandler movie) perform hits from the show alongside West End hits and 80s classics.

Tue 21 Feb

£16.50–£53 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 22 Feb

£16.50–£53 / 0844 871 3022

Thu 23 Feb

£16.50–£53 / 0844 871 3022

…and 2 more dates until 25 Feb

Whitney - Queen of the Night

Celebrate the music and life of Whitney Houston in a production that features rising West End star Rebecca Freckleton. Follow three decades of hits by one of the most beloved female artists of all time, including I Wanna Dance With Somebody, One Moment In Time and I Will Always Love You.

Thu 30 Mar

£22.90–£27.90 / 0844 871 3022

Wonderland

  • Directed by: Javier de Frutos
  • Written by: Moira Buffini (lyrics)

West End favourite Kerry Ellis stars in Frank Wildhorn's musical adaptation of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

Mon 30 Jan

£21.40–£48.40 / 0844 871 3022

Tue 31 Jan

£21.40–£48.40 / 0844 871 3022

Wed 1 Feb

…and 3 more dates until 4 Feb

You Win Again: The Story of the Bee Gees

A tour through the Bee Gees' career, from the 60s through the 80s with all the best tunes and plenty of dancing.

Comments & ratings

Post a comment