Broadcast

Broadcast
427 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow, G2 3LG
  • Telephone 0141 332 7304
  • Bar open Sun–Fri 5pm–midnight; Sat noon–midnight.
  • Food served Sun–Fri 5pm–10pm; Sat noon–10pm.
  • Average price £11 (lunch); £11 (evening meal)
  • Email
  • Website www.broadcastglasgow.com
Photo of Broadcast

Jump to times or comments

Eating & Drinking Guide

The 2017 edition of The List's Eating & Drinking Guide is out now – only £5.95 (+p&p).

Closed in 2012, the Captain's Rest is much missed, as a bar and especially as a gig venue. But its effective successor Broadcast – situated much more centrally, practically eyeball-to-eyeball with nearest rival Nice 'n' Sleazy – promises to be just as cherished in time. Owners PCL, one of Scotland’s biggest concert promoters, have sagely let the kitchen out as a franchise, run by Sean Toner – previously at Crabshakk and many other Glasgow eateries before that. Realistic about the limited range of demand for good food on Sauchiehall St, he’s doing ambitious things within the narrow confines of pub grub – pizzas with Mediterranean toppings (up to two-feet large), homemade burgers from high-quality Andrew Reid beef and healthy, zesty salads. Most of the food and drink will be wolfed down pre or post gig but it may in time become as hot a ticket as the near-nightly shows downstairs.

  • High point: Glasgow can never have too many music bars …
  • Low point: but it's still not the Captain's Rest
  • Provides: Vegetarian options (at least ¼ main courses), Children's portions, Children's high chairs, Wheelchair access, Free wi-fi
  • Live entertainment: Live gigs in basement: rock, pop, indie, etc
  • Capacity: 40
  • Largest group: 30
  • Open since: 2012
  • Number of wines sold by the glass: 8
  • House wine: £11 per bottle

Events at this venue

There are 30 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

Acid Mothers Temple

'Motor-psycho' guitar action, ethnic drones and throat singing from this cult Japanese psychedelic group.

Mon 23 Oct

£11 / 0141 332 7304

Autobahn

Post-punk quintet.

Wed 22 Nov

£6 / 0141 332 7304

Cassia

The alt.pop band mixes warm tropical grooves with infectiously raw guitar melodies.

Thu 26 Oct

£8.80 / 0141 332 7304

With The Reason and Start Static.

Cassia + special guests

Scruff of the Neck presents

Thu 26 Oct

Sold out / 0141 332 7304

Childhood

London indie rockers with a retro and psychedelic twist.

Tue 21 Nov

£10 / 0141 332 7304

Wed 25 Oct

£11 / 0141 332 7304

David Ramirez

Socio-political alt rock with a country influence courtesy of the American musician.

Fri 19 Jan 2018

£11 / 0141 332 7304

Diet Cig

Slop pop music from the New York duo.

Wed 18 Oct

£8.50 / 0141 332 7304

  • 19:00

Fakear

The artist from Caen, France, performs his dance and electronica originals.

Mon 23 Apr 2018

£11 / 0141 332 7304

Frankly, the Smiths

Smiths tribute act from Glasgow and Fife.

Sun 29 Oct

£6 / 0141 332 7304

With Alex Wayt.

  • 19:00 – 22:15

Girl Ray

Indie-pop trio from North London.

Thu 2 Nov

£8.50 / 0141 332 7304

Goat Girl

The London-based quartet performs its own take on the indie-rock genre.

Fri 3 Nov

£8.50 / 0141 332 7304

Gurr

Garage-punk duo from Berlin.

Wed 15 Nov

£8 / 0141 332 7304

Howson // Cryptic Culture // Brothers

Scruff of the Neck presents

Thu 30 Nov

£6.60 / 0141 332 7304

The Jasmine Minks & The Jazz Butcher Quartet

A double-headliner featuring two acts from the indie-punk label Creation Records.

Fri 20 Oct

£12.10 / 0141 332 7304

Jordan Mackampa

Singer-songwriter Jordan Mackampa whose music is suffused with jazz-soaked beats.

Tue 28 Nov

£9.25 / 0141 332 7304

Kagoule

Thrilling grunge-pop from Nottingham.

Tue 7 Nov

£7 / 0141 332 7304

Kane Strang

New Zealand-based singer-guitarist.

Thu 16 Nov

£8 / 0141 332 7304

Kllo

Electronic pop collaboration between Melbourne cousins Chloe Kaul and Simon Lam.

Mon 27 Nov

£10 / 0141 332 7304

Lail Arad & JF Robitaille

Lail Arad & JF Robitaille will be hitting the road this Autumn for a 40-date tour across 8 countries!

Tue 5 Dec

£6 / 0141 332 7304

Left Lane Cruiser

Blues rock trio from Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Sat 11 Nov

£13.75 / 0141 332 7304

Lucy-may Tour

Lucy-May is a singer/songwriter from London. Brought up on 60's Motown music you can definitely hear this in her soulful vocal infused with a retro yet new country vibe. Her unique style and edgy look alongside her distinct beehive hair style sets her aside from anyone else out there. Lucy-May released her debut album…

Mon 6 Nov

£11 / 0141 332 7304

Magic Wands

SBD presents: MAGIC WANDS [USA] Friday November 3rd LA band Magic Wands bring their unique "lovewave" sound over to Europe for the "Abracadabra Tour" - in anticipation of their third album, 'Realms', out spring 2018. - They have been remixed by The XX and Crystal Fighters - They have shared bills with The Kills, The…

Tue 31 Oct

Prices to be confirmed / 0141 332 7304

Matt Maltese

Mellow indie singer-songwriter.

Thu 9 Nov

£8 / 0141 332 7304

Mt Doubt

Dark pop and alt.rock noises from Mt Doubt.

Sat 4 Nov

£6–£8 / 0141 332 7304

With L-Space.

Officially launching new EP Moon Landings.

Penetration

Acclaimed punk/new wave veterans.

Sun 22 Oct

£16.50 / 0141 332 7304

Sextile

Los Angeles-based post-punk combo who have been compared to the Cure.

Sun 21 Jan 2018

£8 / 0141 332 7304

Slowcoaches

Slack metal trio from London.

Tue 24 Oct

£8 / 0141 332 7304

Stillia

Alt.indie quartet from St Helens.

Sat 2 Dec

£5.50 / 0141 332 7304

The Strawberries

Rock'n'roll, blues and psyche from Leeds.

Fri 27 Oct

£6.60 / 0141 332 7304

Comments & ratings