Playhouse Whitley Bay

Playhouse Whitley Bay
Playhouse Whitley Bay
Marine Avenue, Whitley Bay, Tyne And Wear, NE26 1LZ
  • Telephone 0844 248 1588
  • Box office times Mon–Fri 10am–4pm; Sat 10.30am–2.30pm.
  • Email
  • Website www.playhousewhitleybay.co.uk
Photo of Playhouse Whitley Bay

Jump to times or comments

Open since 2009, Whitley Bay Playhouse has 638 auditorium seats and a 10-seater corporate viewing suite, alongside a sea view. The Playhouse is so important to the local community that a time capsule was created to commemorate its past.

Events at this venue

There are 46 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

The Bay City Rollers

Les McKeown takes audiences back to the heady days when the Rollers dominated the charts and tartan bellbottoms were considered an acceptable choice of attire. Featuring all the best-known songs including 'Bye Bye Baby', 'Shang A Lang' and 'Summer Love Sensation'.

Thu 11 Oct

£24 / 0844 248 1588

Best Of Wham!

Tribute to the 80s favourites with some George Michael solo hits as a bonus.

Fri 12 Oct

£23.50 / 0844 248 1588

Fri 26 Oct

£23.50 / 0844 248 1588

Bikeology

Journalist and TV presenter Ned Boulting takes a ride through the world of bicycles, from commuter s right through to the winner of the Tour de France.

Thu 15 Nov

£22.50 / 0844 248 1588

Black Magic: The Little Mix Show

Tribute show to the girl band Little Mix, featuring chart-toppers like 'Black Magic', 'Power', 'No More Sad Songs', 'Shout Out to my Ex' and more.

Thu 16 Aug

£15 / 0844 248 1588

Buddy Holly & The Cricketers

This breathtaking show has rock n rolled audiences across the globe from Cardiff to California, Barking to Bangkok and Swindon to Sweden and is guaranteed to have everyone singing along to the music and dancing in the aisles.It stars some of the finest actor-musicians in the UK whose combined West End credits include…

Sun 23 Sep

£21 / 0844 248 1588

Bye Bye Baby

The music of Frankie Valli & the Four Seasons.

Thu 18 Oct

£21.50 / 0844 248 1588

Cilla & The Shades of the 60s

A music showcase of the life of Cilla Black taking the audience through the 60s with Black's top hits. Starring Victoria Jones as Cilla Black and joined by the Shades trio.

Tue 18 Sep

£21 / 0844 248 1588

Cloudbusting

If you missed the lady herself's London performances, perhaps this'll do in case she waits decades between performances again.

Fri 14 Sep

£20 / 0844 248 1588

Dick Whittington

  • Directed by: Michael Harrison

London's biggest panto returns, with Julian Clary, Nigel Havers and Paul Zerdin.

Tue 15 Jan 2019

£14 / 0844 248 1588

Wed 16 Jan 2019

£14 / 0844 248 1588

Thu 17 Jan 2019

£14 / 0844 248 1588

…and 3 more dates until 20 Jan 2019

Elkie Brooks

Million-selling British songstress belts out the hits as well as material from her latest album.

Sat 13 Oct

£29.50–£32.50 / 0844 248 1588

The Elvis Years

See the world champion Elvis impersonator, Mario Kombou, in action singing over 40 of the King's hits from a period spanning over two decades.

Fri 23 Nov

£21.50 / 0844 248 1588

Fleetwood Bac

The ensemble performs rock in tribute to the award-winning band.

Sat 11 May 2019

£19.80 / 0844 248 1588

Glenn Tilbrook

Solo show from the former Squeeze frontman.

Wed 24 Oct

£20 / 0844 248 1588

Graham Parker & the Rumour

Reunion of the 70s pub rock mainstays, admired by Bruce Springsteen among others.

Sat 6 Oct

£25 / 0844 248 1588

Henning Wehn: Get On With It

Observations from the German comedian.

Thu 21 Feb 2019

£19.50 / 0844 248 1588

Henning Wehn: Westphalia Is Not An Option

New show from the German Comedy Ambassador.

Thu 21 Feb 2019

£19.50 / 0844 248 1588

Jason Donovan

First came Neighbours, then the West End beckoned, not forgetting an appearance in the celebrity jungle. And now he's singing again, especially for us.

Fri 8 Mar 2019

£27.50 / 0844 248 1588

Joanne Shaw Taylor

Bluesy-rock from the solo artist.

Mon 1 Oct

£24.75 / 0844 248 1588

Les Musicals

Jonathan Ansell of G4 fame and The X Factor star Rhydian Roberts join forces for the very first time and put their combined vocal talents around an array of classic songs from the world's greatest musicals, including Les Miserables, Phantom Of The Opera and Blood Brothers.

Thu 30 May 2019

prices vary / 0844 248 1588

Live / Wire: AC / DC Tribute

Very timely AC/DC tribute act.

Sat 17 Nov

£17.50 / 0844 248 1588

Livewire AC/DC

Live/Wire - The unique six man tribute to rock music´s greatest band AC/DC complete with trademark cannons, a wall of Marshall´s and 2 hours of High Voltage Rock and Roll. The band cover both eras as always with both Bon Scott and ´Pete´ Brian Johnson present to take you on the Rock and Roll train for a night to remember.

Sat 17 Nov

£17.50 / 0844 248 1588

Los Endos - The Ultimate Genesis

The is an all seated concert. You cannot choose your seats when booking on-line through Wegottickets. Your seats are allocated on the day of the event by the venue. Please call the venue to book tickets on 01322 291100 if you wish to choose your seats. Once tickets are booked through Wegottickets and the venue, refunds…

Sat 27 Oct

£20 / 0844 248 1588

The Magic of Motown

Tribute to the sweet soul sounds of Motown starring the supremely-talented Magic of Motown band, with hits made famous by the Isley Brothers, Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, Martha Reeves and more.

Thu 20 Sep

£26.40 / 0844 248 1588

The Magic of the Beatles

A recreation of the full Beatles live show, taking you through their different eras from the skiffle-influenced mop top years of 'Love Me Do' and 'She Loves You' to the later psychedelia of songs like 'Strawberry Fields' and the classic rock such as 'Let It Be'.

Thu 25 Oct

£23.10 / 0844 248 1588

Mark Anthony as Prince

Tribute to funk rocker Prince.

Fri 5 Oct

£21 / 0844 248 1588

Money for Nothing

A Dire Straits tribute band.

Sun 11 Nov

£23.50 / 0844 248 1588

The National Dance Company of Ireland: Rhythm of the Dance

Irish dance at its most thrilling, with beautiful costumes, experienced dancers and high production values. Featuring the Young Irish Tenors.

Sun 29 Jul

£24 / 0844 248 1588

The Neil Diamond Story

Solo show celebrating the life and music of Neil Diamond.

Fri 17 Aug

£22 / 0844 248 1588

Ocean Film Festival

A selection of documentaries celebrating the beauty and power of the world's oceans.

Thu 13 Sep

£14 / 0844 248 1588

Peter Pan

Panto based on JM Barrie's tale of the boy who never grew up.

Sat 1 Dec

£15 / 0844 248 1588

Sun 2 Dec

£15 / 0844 248 1588

Fri 7 Dec

£15 / 0844 248 1588

…and 22 more dates until 5 Jan 2019

Peter Pan

Panto based on the JM Barrie classic tale.

Sat 1 Dec

£15 / 0844 248 1588

Sun 2 Dec

£15 / 0844 248 1588

Mon 3 Dec

£9 / 0844 248 1588

…and 29 more dates until 6 Jan 2019

The Roy Orbison Story

Roy Orbison tribute singer Barry Steele and his five-piece show band singing hits by the Big O plus a special tribute to the time Roy spent with The Traveling Wilburys, and Bono.

Sat 23 Mar 2019

£23 / 0844 248 1588

Roy Wood Rock & Roll Band

The veteran singer-songwriter performs hits from his career proving there's more to him than that one Christmas song.

Fri 16 Nov

£32.50 / 0844 248 1588

The Searchers

The Searchers have survived multiple line-up changes as well as a schism of People's Front of Judea-style bitterness, the echoes of which twang across the internet to this day. Longest-lasting original member John McNally leads the band that gave us 'Needles and Pins' and 'Sweets for my Sweet', with Frank Allen, Spencer…

Fri 15 Feb 2019

£23 / 0844 248 1588

Showaddywaddy

Doo wop nostalgia merchants who performed on Top of the Pops over 50 times and have now been together over 40 years.

Sat 23 Feb 2019

£24 / 0844 248 1588

The Simon & Garfunkel Story

With a backdrop of projected photos and original film footage a full live band perform Simon & Garfunkel hits including 'Mrs Robinson', 'Cecilia', 'Homeward Bound' and many more. The story takes you through the stories that shaped their music, the dramatic split, their solo careers and a recreation of the 1982 Central…

Wed 9 Jan 2019

£24 / 0844 248 1588

Wed 23 Jan 2019

£24 / 0844 248 1588

Some Guys Have All The Luck: The Rod Stewart Story

The story of the legendary mullet-headed rocker, whose scratchy pipes lent a welcome note of sandpaper to such hits as 'Maggie May', 'I Don't Want To Talk About It' and 'Baby Jane', but who also wrote such enduring classics as 'You Wear It Well' and 'Every Picture Tells A Story'.

Sat 15 Sep

£21.50 / 0844 248 1588

Steve Harley

The original Cockney rebel playing his hits including that song … can't think what it's called.

Fri 22 Feb 2019

£30.25 / 0844 248 1588

Stewart Francis: Into the Punset

  • 3 stars

Surreal and deadpan one-liners from the Canadian stand-up and TV regular, as seen on Mock The Week and Live At The Apollo.

Sun 2 Jun 2019

£21 / 0844 248 1588

Suzanne Vega

The American singer-songwriter and guitarist performs folk-infused alternative rock and folk-rock. her latest tour is a duo celebration of the 30th anniversary of her sophomore record Solitude Standing and the 25th anniversary of her fourth album 99.9F.

Sun 22 Jul

£30 / 0844 248 1588

T-Rextasy

Longstanding, respected T-Rex tribute act. Glam rockers, brace yourselves.

Thu 22 Nov

£21 / 0844 248 1588

That'll Be the Day

Step back in time with a brand new edition of the popular touring show, and hear rock'n'roll hits from the 50s, 60s and 70s.

Sat 1 Jun 2019

£25 / 0844 248 1588

UK Pink Floyd Experience

A tribute show that spans PF's Gilmour-led catalogue from Dark Side to The Division Bell.

Fri 19 Oct

£23.50 / 0844 248 1588

Ultimate Bowie

A show capturing the vocal style and visual spectacle of David Bowie's performances throughout the different stages of his career.

Sat 29 Sep

£21 / 0844 248 1588

Whitney: Queen of the Night

A celebration of the life and music of Whitney Houston through three decades of classic hits.

Sun 7 Oct

£24 / 0844 248 1588

Wizard Of Oz

Dorothy and Toto head off on an adventure down the yellow brick road.

Wed 1 Aug

£16 / 0844 248 1588

Thu 2 Aug

£16 / 0844 248 1588

Fri 3 Aug

£16 / 0844 248 1588

Sat 4 Aug

£16 / 0844 248 1588

Post a comment