Playhouse Whitley Bay

Playhouse Whitley Bay
Playhouse Whitley Bay
Marine Avenue, Whitley Bay, Tyne And Wear, NE26 1LZ
  • Telephone 0844 248 1588
  • Box office times Mon–Fri 10am–4pm; Sat 10.30am–2.30pm.
  • Email
  • Website www.playhousewhitleybay.co.uk
Photo of Playhouse Whitley Bay

Jump to times or comments

Open since 2009, Whitley Bay Playhouse has 638 auditorium seats and a 10-seater corporate viewing suite, alongside a sea view. The Playhouse is so important to the local community that a time capsule was created to commemorate its past.

Events at this venue

There are 36 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

Bye Bye Baby: A Celebration Of Frankie Valli And The Four Seasons

Jamie Ledwith scales the falsetto heights of Frankie Valli, along with snappy choreography and a vast catalogue of hits making for a memorable and unforgettable night of nostalgia.

Fri 6 Oct

£18.50 (£17.50) / 0844 248 1588

  • 19:30

Bye Bye Baby

The music of Frankie Valli & the Four Seasons.

Thu 12 Oct

£19.50 / 0844 248 1588

The Carpenters Story

  • Directed by: Phil Aldridge

Theatre show telling the tale of the brother/sister duo, featuring all the songs that made The Carpenters a legend in the world of music.

Thu 12 Apr 2018

£23 / 0844 248 1588

Charlie Landsborough

Septuagenarian country singer who is as entertaining on stage as he is melodic.

Tue 24 Oct

£19 / 0844 248 1588

Chris Bourne

The younger brother of Busted's James Bourne performs his own indie-pop material.

Fri 6 Oct

£17 / 0844 248 1588

Cinderella

Classic panto action.

Sat 2 Dec

£24 / 0844 248 1588

Sun 3 Dec

£24 / 0844 248 1588

Mon 4 Dec

£24 / 0844 248 1588

…and 29 more dates until 7 Jan 2018

The Circus of Horrors: The Never Ending Nightmare

The troupe celebrates its 21st anniversary with its latest spectacular featuring an amalgamation of bizarre, brave and beautiful acts all woven into an Alice in Horrorland type story driven by a mainly original soundscape.

Wed 25 Oct

£22–£26 / 0844 248 1588

Counterfeit Sixties Show

A nostalgic night of 60s music, interspersed with video clips from the era. The band performs songs by The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Monkees and many more.

Sat 31 Mar 2018

£19.50 / 01502 730288

Dirty Dusting

Three senior cleaning ladies embark on a brand new business venture together – a telephone sex line.

Sat 14 Oct

£21 / 0844 248 1588

Dr John Cooper Clarke

John Cooper Clarke, aka 'the people’s poet’ presents his latest show, a mix of classic verse, new material, ponderings on modern life, riffs and chat.

Fri 10 Nov

£20–£25 / 0844 248 1588

Ed Byrne: Spoiler Alert

  • 2 stars

Stand-up comedy from the Mock The Week regular.

Thu 26 Apr 2018

£24 / 0844 248 1588

The Elvis Years

See the world champion Elvis impersonator, Mario Kombou, in action singing over 40 of the King's hits from a period spanning over two decades.

Thu 16 Nov

£18.50 / 0844 248 1588

FastLove

An affectionate celebration of the life and music of George Michael including his early days with Wham!.

Sat 24 Feb 2018

£23.10 / 0844 248 1588

G4

Former X Factor runners up perform pop-opera covers of well-known songs.

Tue 20 Mar 2018

£27.50 / 0844 248 1588

Gary Delaney: There's Something About Gary

The something about Gary is that he has a lot of opinions on jokes and is going to let you hear them (and hopefully some jokes) on his latest tour.

Fri 27 Oct

£15 / 0844 248 1588

Illegal Eagles

Tribute band to the prolific Hotel California songsters.

Sat 28 Oct

£23.50 / 0844 248 1588

The King Of Pop

Get ready to moonwalk the night away at a Michael Jackson tribute show whose star performer Navi once earned a standing ovation from the King of Pop himself.

Fri 24 Nov

£20 / 0844 248 1588

Lloyd Cole

The urbane expatriate pop crooner performs material from his latest album alongside Commotions classics.

Fri 23 Feb 2018

£24.75 / 0844 248 1588

Mark Watson: MW

A mixture of classic and new material from the comic.

Sun 19 Nov

£17 / 0844 248 1588

Money for Nothing

A Dire Straits tribute band.

Sun 12 Nov

£23.50 / 0844 248 1588

Moon River And Me: Jimmy Osmond's Tribute To Andy Williams

Former child star Jimmy Osmond has a special place in the hearts of many who grew up in the 1970s. He began his performing career at three-years-old with crooner Andy Williams, appearing as part of the latter's television series. This year marks Jimmy's 50th anniversary in show business and he celebrates with a starring…

Sun 25 Feb 2018

£30–£75 / 0844 248 1588

The Night Pirates

A magical tale for children aged 3+, based on the popular children's book. One night, Tom awakes to find the front of his house being stolen by a rambunctious gang of girl pirates. Follow his adventures in this charming puppet show.

Mon 6 Nov

£12 / 0844 248 1588

Tue 7 Nov

£12 / 0844 248 1588

Oliver!

Lionel Bart's musical about a hungry boy and the criminal fraternity that takes him in.

Tue 31 Oct

£15 / 0844 248 1588

Wed 1 Nov

£15 / 0844 248 1588

Thu 2 Nov

£15 / 0844 248 1588

…and 2 more dates until 4 Nov

The Police Sting Show

Sting / Police tribute act.

Fri 6 Oct

£17 / 0844 248 1588

Ralph McTell

Folk singer-songwriter, famed for the Ivor Novello Award winning song 'The Streets of London'.

Fri 20 Oct

£24.50 / 0844 248 1588

Rhythm Of The Night: An Audience With Ian Waite And Oti Mabuse

The two Strictly Come Dancing stars perform a mixture of ballroom and Latin numbers.

Sat 16 Jun 2018

£27 / 0844 248 1588

Roy G Hemmings Motown Hits Show

A celebration of timeless Motown and soul songs from the longest serving member of The Drifters.

Sat 17 Feb 2018

£24.50 / 0844 248 1588

The Roy Orbison Story

Roy Orbison tribute singer Barry Steele and his five-piece show band singing hits by the Big O plus a special tribute to the time Roy spent with The Traveling Wilburys, and Bono.

Thu 9 Nov

£20.50 / 0844 248 1588

Sarah Millican: Control Enthusiast

You'll know her face from talking about cake and cats on the telly, so here's another chance to see the Millican phenomenon in full flight live on stage.

Wed 31 Jan 2018

Sold out / 0844 248 1588

Sarah Millican: Outsider

You'll know her face from talking about cake and cats on the telly, so here's another chance to see the Millican phenomenon in full flight live on stage.

Wed 31 Jan 2018

£27.50 / 0844 248 1588

Showaddywaddy

Doo wop nostalgia merchants who performed on Top of the Pops over 50 times and have now been together over 40 years.

Fri 12 Jan 2018

£22 / 0844 248 1588

Tue 16 Jan 2018

£13 / 0844 248 1588

Wed 17 Jan 2018

£13 / 0844 248 1588

Thu 18 Jan 2018

£13 / 0844 248 1588

…and 3 more dates until 21 Jan 2018

T-Rextasy

Longstanding, respected T-Rex tribute act. Glam rockers, brace yourselves.

Sat 18 Nov

£21 / 0844 248 1588

That'll Be the Day

Step back in time with a brand new edition of the popular touring show, and hear rock'n'roll hits from the 50s, 60s and 70s.

Thu 19 Oct

£24.50 / 0844 248 1588

Ultimate Bowie

A show capturing the vocal style and visual spectacle of David Bowie's performances throughout the different stages of his career.

Sat 30 Sep

£21 / 0844 248 1588

You're Never Too Old to Rock'n'Roll

A concert from Charlie Grace, Terry Dene and Vince Eager.

Thu 5 Oct

£24 / 0844 248 1588

Comments & ratings