Traverse Theatre

Traverse Theatre
10 Cambridge Street, Edinburgh, EH1 2ED
Photo of Traverse Theatre

Jump to times, articles or comments

Traverse Theatre

The Traverse has been a key player in British theatre for 50 years as Scotland's long-standing home of new writing, although it's increasingly taking an interest in emerging writers. It's here that audiences got their first taste of playwrights such as Gregory Burke, Liz Lochhead and John Byrne, names now widely known to theatregoers. Part of the cluster of buildings forming the Lothian Road arts quarter, the theatre is in the basement of an office block next door to the Usher Hall. Beyond the large and popular bar and café are two performance spaces. Traverse 1 accommodates up to 350 people – although it feels much bigger – while Traverse 2, with seating for 100, recalls the company’s intimate former theatre in the Grassmarket. Specialising in UK and world premieres, the Traverse also has a busy line-up of visiting companies and hosts everything from children's theatre to puppetry and experimental music. Behind the scenes, it puts in a lot of work with up-and coming playwrights and runs a programme of workshops, classes, readings and discussions. It is one of the liveliest venues on the Edinburgh Fringe.

  • Provides: Free wi-fi

Events at this venue

Sorted by date & time / title

Monday 20 January

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 22 January

Bar £13 (£11) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 25 January

Bar £8 0131 228 1404

Monday 27 January

Wednesday 29 January

2 £4 0131 228 1404

Thursday 30 January

2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Friday 31 January

2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 1 February

1 £15.50 (£5–£11.50) 0131 228 1404
2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Monday 3 February

1 £15 0131 228 1404

Thursday 6 February

1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Friday 7 February

1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404
1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 8 February

2 £5.50 0131 228 1404
1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Monday 10 February

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 11 February

1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404
2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 12 February

1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404
2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 13 February

1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Friday 14 February

2 £7.50 (£5.50) 0131 228 1404
1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 15 February

1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404
2 £7.50 (£5.50) 0131 228 1404
1 £10–£15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Sunday 16 February

Monday 17 February

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 19 February

1 £3 0131 228 1404

Thursday 20 February

1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Friday 21 February

1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
2 £12 (£9–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 22 February

1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
2 £12 (£9–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Monday 24 February

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 26 February

2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 27 February

1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Friday 28 February

1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 29 February

1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Monday 2 March

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 3 March

1 £20 (£5–£16) 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 4 March

1 £20 (£5–£16) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 5 March

2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Friday 6 March

1 £10 (Children £8) 0131 228 1404
2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Monday 9 March

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 11 March

2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 12 March

1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Friday 13 March

1 £17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 14 March

2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404
2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Monday 16 March

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 17 March

2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 18 March

2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 19 March

1 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Friday 20 March

1 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404
2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 21 March

2 £15 (£5–£12) 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 24 March

1 £6 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 25 March

1 £6 0131 228 1404

Thursday 26 March

1 £6 0131 228 1404

Friday 27 March

1 £6 0131 228 1404

Saturday 28 March

1 £6 0131 228 1404

Monday 30 March

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 31 March

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 1 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £20 (£5–£16) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 2 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £20 (£5–£16) 0131 228 1404
1 £20 (£5–£16) 0131 228 1404

Friday 3 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £20 (£5–£16) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 4 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £20 (£5–£16) 0131 228 1404

Monday 6 April

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 7 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 8 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Thursday 9 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Friday 10 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Saturday 11 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Monday 13 April

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 14 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 15 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 16 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Friday 17 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 18 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Sunday 19 April

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Monday 20 April

Bar £12 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 21 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 22 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
2 £12 (£5–£10.50) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 23 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Friday 24 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 25 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Sunday 26 April

Tuesday 28 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 29 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Thursday 30 April

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Friday 1 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Saturday 2 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404
1 £12–£17 (£5–£14) 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 5 May

Wednesday 6 May

Thursday 7 May

Friday 8 May

Saturday 9 May

Tuesday 12 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 13 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Thursday 14 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Friday 15 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Saturday 16 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Tuesday 19 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Wednesday 20 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Thursday 21 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Friday 22 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404
2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Saturday 23 May

2 £13.50 0131 228 1404

Thursday 5 November

Times & prices vary 0131 228 1404

Friday 6 November

Times & prices vary 0131 228 1404

Saturday 7 November

Times & prices vary 0131 228 1404

Reviews & features

The Edinburgh theatre scene beyond the Fringe

20 Sep 2018

We explore why Edinburgh's theatre scene is still alive and kicking, way beyond August

If you're arriving in Edinburgh in September, you're likely to be greeted by a litany of old Fringe flyers, with the occasional Festival poster still tacked up on a wall. But don't for a second think this means that Edinburgh's stages are winding down…

Traverse Theatre's Festival 2018 programme announced

16 May 2018

Including new work from David Ireland and the return of the Fringe favourite Breakfast Plays

Never one to shy away from difficult topics, the Traverse Theatre's complete lineup for Fringe 2018 boasts some of their most challenging works of theatre yet, beginning with the world premiere of James Tait Black winner David Ireland's Ulster America…

Play time: raising the curtain on experimental and traditional theatre

23 Sep 2016

From the Royal Lyceum to Buzzcut Festival, Gareth K Vile looks at theatrical extremes in Edinburgh and Glasgow

Both Glasgow and Edinburgh have strong traditions of popular and experimental theatre. Although the major venues on both coasts of the central belt often collaborate, each of the cities have their own particular performance personality: Glasgow goes for…

Post a comment