The Talbot Inn
Steeped in history, The Talbot is a fascinating place where details are recounted in a plaque in the bar. There was a building on this site as long ago as 1376 and the building was originally used as a wharf where goods to be moved down the river were loaded. It has been a pub since at least 1774. In those days it was called The Horse and Jockey but was re-named in 1836 (a talbot is an extinct hound). Arkell s bought the pub in 1997. Today The Talbot is a one-bar pub with a partitioned restaurant area and great care has been taken not to spoil the pub s genuine character whenever it has been modernised. The exposed beams are original, as are many other parts of the building. This beautiful Oxfordshire pub, which proudly presents a mouth-watering menu of freshly prepared fair, is one you ll find easy to find but hard to leave. - Modern en-suite accommodation - Traditional Arkells Ales served straight from the barrel - Excellent links to Oxford and the A40, A34 and A420 - Traditional freshly prepared home-cooked food - Serving locals since 1774 - Newly re-furbished bar and restaurant - Genuine character with exposed beams running throughout - Dogs welcome - Plentiful car parking available
Text supplied by third party.