Monk Fryston Hall Hotel Ltd.
Monk Fryston Hall is a stately and picturesque mansion situated in the small village of Monk Fryston deep within the Vale of York. Dating back to the 1500s, the hall and its grounds evoke a colourful history. Today, Monk Fryston hall is a grand hotel offering guests tranquillity, charm and tradition whilst maintaining high standards of service. The oldest portion of Monk Fryston Hall Hotel dates back over 800 years where the original building contained vaulted ceilings, a wealth of stonework and inglenook fireplaces the building was a monastery around the 12th / 13th Century when land was given to Benedictine monks by the Bishop of York. As the centuries passed, later additions included stone mullioned windows, oak panelling and stone terracing around the main house. Elegant gardens were added to enhance the enjoyment of the residents who were always pillars of the local community. In the 18th Century the owners established a zoo with a collection of animals, an aviary and boating on a lake in the grounds. A folly was added in the form of an imitation of a famous bridge, The Lucerne Bridge, with paintings from The Rime of the Ancient Mariner . In 1954 the manor house was purchased by the Duke of Rutland who ran it as a country hotel it is now owned and managed by a privately owned company, Monk Fryston Hall Hotel Limited The current owners are committed to preserving the special nature of the hotel and its environment with attention to the building s fabric and unique gardens.
Text supplied by third party.