Fort George

Fort George
Old Military Road, Ardersier, Inverness, Highland, IV2 7TD
Photo of Fort George

Jump to times or comments

Following the 1746 defeat at Culloden of Bonnie Prince Charlie, George II created the ultimate defence against further Jacobite unrest. The result, Fort George, is the mightiest artillery fortification in Britain, if not Europe. Its garrison buildings, artillery defences bristling with cannon, and a superb collection of arms – including bayoneted muskets, pikes, swords and ammunition pouches – provide a fascinating insight into 18th-century military life. Positioned strategically on a promontory jutting into the Moray Firth, Fort George was intended as an impregnable army base – designed on a monumental scale using sophisticated defence standards. Within almost a mile of boundary walls was accommodation for a governor, officers, artillery detachment, and a 1,600-strong infantry garrison. Visitors today can see historic barrack rooms which are a time capsule of the domestic life of the Scottish soldier. Fort George is the only Ancient Monument in Scotland still functioning as intended – a working army barracks – yet welcoming visitors.

The Regimental Museum of the Queen’s Own Highlanders is here. There is also a summer living history programme, free audio tour in six languages, as well as a children’s trail. Visitors can also enjoy a shop selling a wide range of gifts and a café.

• 6m W of Nairn, 11m NE of Inverness off the A96

• Open all year. Last ticket sold 45 minutes before closing. Café open limited hours in winter

• Admission: Adult £6.70 Child £3.35 Concessions £5.20

• Wheelchairs available

• VisitScotland grading ????

Find out more about Fort George at historic-scotland.gov.uk

Text supplied by third party.

Events at this venue

Sorted by title / date & time

Monday 27 January

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 28 January

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 29 January

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 30 January

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 31 January

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 1 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 2 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 3 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 4 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 5 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 6 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 7 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 8 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 9 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 10 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 11 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 12 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 13 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 14 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 15 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 16 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 17 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 18 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 19 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 20 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 21 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 22 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 23 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 24 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 25 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 26 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 27 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 28 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 29 February

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 1 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 2 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 3 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 4 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 5 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 6 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 7 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 8 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 9 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 10 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 11 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 12 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 13 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 14 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 15 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 16 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 17 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 18 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 19 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 20 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 21 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 22 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 23 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 24 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 25 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 26 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 27 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 28 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 29 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 30 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 31 March

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 1 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 2 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 3 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 4 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 5 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Monday 6 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Tuesday 7 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Wednesday 8 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Thursday 9 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Friday 10 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Saturday 11 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Sunday 12 April

Free with admission 01667 460232

Post a comment