Before 12pm, Theatre

361 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Henry the Fifth

Unicorn Theatre present a modern telling of Shakespeare's play that explores the way power can lead to conflict. Ages 8+.

Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh

Tue 12 May

Over-8s only

£12 (£8) / 0131 228 1404

Part of Imaginate Festival.

Wed 13 May

Over-8s only

£12 (£8) / 0131 228 1404

Part of Imaginate Festival.

Unicorn Theatre, London SE1

Tue 19 May

£13 (£10) / 020 7645 0560

Wed 20 May

£13 (£10) / 020 7645 0560

Thu 21 May

£13 (£10) / 020 7645 0560

Fri 22 May

£13 (£10) / 020 7645 0560

Hetty Feather

A production of Jacqueline Wilson's book for youngsters, Hetty Feather tells of plucky young Hetty as she searches for her real family.

Churchill Theatre, Bromley

Wed 14 Oct

£16.50–£22.50 / 08441 717620

Thu 15 Oct

£16.50–£22.50 / 08441 717620

Sat 17 Oct

£19.50–£25.50 / 08441 717620

The Duke Of York's Theatre, London WC2N

Sat 8 Aug

£15–£32 / 0845 505 8500

Sun 9 Aug

£15–£32 / 0845 505 8500

Wed 12 Aug

£15–£32 / 0845 505 8500

…and 11 more dates until 6 Sep

Theatre Royal, Brighton

Thu 30 Jul

£16.50–£22.50 / 0870 060 6650

Sat 1 Aug

£19.50–£25.50 / 0870 060 6650

The History Boys

  • Directed by: Kate Saxon
  • Written by: Alan Bennett

Alan Bennett's witty play, which is also a hit movie starring James Corden and Dominic Cooper, follows eight teenage boys on their journey towards academia.

Millennium Forum, Londonderry

Thu 14 May

£15.50; £16.50–£19; £18.50–£24 / 02871 264455

A History Of Feminism

Q: How do men feel about the Suffragettes? A: Envious! They combined violence with a sense of moral destiny. It's an irresistible cocktail! Political sketch writer Lloyd Evans reveals men's secret views on bra burning, Greenham Common, strippers, female quotas, 'all men are rapists', and Welsh lesbian separatist…

The Blue Man, Brighton

Sat 2 May

Free / 01273 726003

Sun 3 May

Free / 01273 726003

Sat 9 May

Free / 01273 726003

Sun 10 May

Free / 01273 726003

Home

Italian company La Barraca – Testoni Ragazzi present a play about friendship and building. Suitable for ages 1–4.

Stratford Circus, London E15

Sat 23 May

£8 (£6; Family £24) / 0844 357 2625

  • 11:30 – 12:00 Home Stratford Circus, London
back to top

Hoopla Character Improv Workshop

Date:  Saturday 11th July 2015. Time: 11:30am - 5pm. Where: Theatre Delicatessen, 119 Farringdon Road, London, EC1R 3DA. Tube: Farringdon (Circle, Metropolitan and Hammersmith & City lines). www.hooplaimpro.com

Theatre Delicatessen, London EC1R

Sat 11 Jul

£30

Hoopla Improvised Singing Workshop

Date: Saturday 16th May 2015. Time: 11:30am - 5pm. Price: £35. Where: Theatre Delicatessen, 119 Farringdon Road, London, EC1R 3DA. Tube: Farringdon (Circle, Metropolitan and Hammersmith & City lines). www.hooplaimpro.com

Theatre Delicatessen, London EC1R

Sat 16 May

£35

Hoopla John Cremer Workshop

Date: Saturday 27th June 2015. Time: 11am - 5pm. Cost: £50. Where: Theatre Delicatessen, 119 Farringdon Road, London, EC1R 3DA. Tube: Farringdon (Circle, Metropolitan and Hammersmith & City lines). Ages: 18+. www.hooplaimpro.com

Theatre Delicatessen, London EC1R

Sat 27 Jun

£50

Hoopla Narrative Improv Workshop

Date:  Saturday 21st February 2015. Time: 11:30am - 5pm. Where: Theatre Delicatessen, 119 Farringdon Road, London, EC1R 3DA. Tube: Farringdon (Circle, Metropolitan and Hammersmith & City lines). www.hooplaimpro.com

Theatre Delicatessen, London EC1R

Sat 30 May

£25

Hoopla Playback Theatre Workshop

Playback Theatre workshop with Victoria Howden and Jane Beavis of Plays of our Lives playback theatre. A one day intensive workshop on Playback theatre – a form of improv based on stories told by audience members.

Theatre Delicatessen, London EC1R

Sat 2 May

£35

back to top

Hoopla Scenes Improv Workshop

Date:  Saturday 20th June 2015. Time: 11:30am - 5pm. Where: Theatre Delicatessen, 119 Farringdon Road, London, EC1R 3DA. Tube: Farringdon (Circle, Metropolitan and Hammersmith & City lines). www.hooplaimpro.com

Theatre Delicatessen, London EC1R

Sat 20 Jun

£30

Hoopla Short-Form Improv Workshop

Date:  Saturday 13th June 2015. Time: 11:30am - 5pm. Where: Theatre Delicatessen, 119 Farringdon Road, London, EC1R 3DA. Tube: Farringdon (Circle, Metropolitan and Hammersmith & City lines). www.hooplaimpro.com

Theatre Delicatessen, London EC1R

Sat 13 Jun

£25

Horrible Histories: Barmy Britain

  • Directed by: Neal Foster
  • Written by: Neal Foster

The hit book and TV series is brought to the stage in a quirky exploration of the history of Britain. Based on the children's books by Terry Deary.

Garrick Theatre, London WC2H

Sat 25 Jul

£15–£37.50 / 0844 482 9673

Wed 29 Jul

£15–£37.50 / 0844 482 9673

Thu 30 Jul

£15–£37.50 / 0844 482 9673

…and 18 more dates until 5 Sep

House

Have you ever looked through a window into someone else's world? The house is for sale but after the move, what is left behind? Staged by twelve actors in a Victorian town house and linked with 'House 2' in a converted council house. This intimate devised performance invites the audience to travel through time and memory…

45 Springfield Road, Brighton

Sat 9 May

£10

  • 11:30 House 45 Springfield Road, Brighton

How the Koala Learnt to Hug

  • Written by: Steven Lee

Learn about the power of a good hug with a host of animals including Karen the koala bear and Natalie the wombat. Ages 4+.

MAC (Midlands Arts Centre), Birmingham

Sat 3 Oct

Theatre

£8 / 0121 446 3232

Wyvern Theatre, Swindon

Sat 2 May

£10.50 (Children £9.50; £38) / 01793 524481

back to top

Hugless Douglas

Blunderbus present the tale of poor hugless Douglas – the bear who is searching for the perfect cuddle. Ages 3–7.

Loughborough Town Hall

Sat 4 Jul

£10 (£5) / 01509 231914

I, Elizabeth

Dyad Productions 1568: at a vital crossroads in history, a young queen steps from the shadows to confess her thoughts on marriage, succession, religion and war. But time is against her. Using only Elizabeth's words, the much loved 2010 hit returns to Assembly for a limited run. Its political parallels acutely relevant…

Assembly Roxy, Edinburgh

Fri 7 Aug

Upstairs

£8 / 0131 623 3030

Preview Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Sat 8 Aug

Upstairs

£13 (£12) / 0131 623 3030

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Sun 9 Aug

Upstairs

£13 (£12) / 0131 623 3030

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

…and 16 more dates until 31 Aug

The Imperial Ice Stars: The Nutcracker On Ice

The award-winning 26-strong company of Olympic, World, European and National champion skaters welcomes Dancing On Ice stars Olga Sharutenko and Keith Chegwin for a colourful and acrobatic adaptation of Tchaikovsky's ballet.

Royal Albert Hall, London SW7

Sat 2 Jan 2016

£26–£52.50 / 020 7589 8212

Into the Woods

The Talentz Musical Theatre Company Direct from the West End of Kent, The Talentz Musical Theatre Company brings this fresh interpretation of Sondheim's spellbinding musical. Staged with a live band, this dark tale brings together the brightest young talents from across the South East.

Greenside @ Nicholson Square, Edinburgh

Mon 24 Aug

Downstairs

£9 (£7)

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Tue 25 Aug

Downstairs

£9 (£7)

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Wed 26 Aug

Downstairs

£9 (£7)

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

…and 3 more dates until 29 Aug

Investigate Morning: Noises Off

Join actors, playwrights, directors and theatre specialists to discuss some of the themes in Michael Frayn's acclaimed farce.

The Octagon Theatre, Bolton

Sat 27 Jun

£6.50 / 01204 520661

back to top

Studd Hill Community Hall, Herne Bay

Fri 15 Jan 2016

£3–£6 / 07710 620250

Jack and The Beanstalk

Jack trades his cow for some 'magic beans' – is it any wonder his Mum is angry? Lucky for him, the beans grow into a massive beanstalk – surely fame and fortune await?

Grand Opera House, York

Tue 15 Dec

£10–£25.50

Wed 16 Dec

£10–£25.50

Thu 17 Dec

£10–£25.50

Jo Bannon: Exposure

An autobiographical, one-to-one performance piece which asks whether it is possible to see people clearly for who or what they really are.

Salisbury Arts Centre

Wed 6 May

£5 (£3; £2 mems; £4) / 01722 321744

Johannes & Margarethe

JES present a re-imaging of what happened to Hansel and Gretel after they entered the witches house. Suitable for ages 6+.

The Studio at the Edinburgh Festival Theatre

Fri 15 May

£12 (£8) / 0131 228 1404

Part of Imaginate Festival.

Sat 16 May

£12 (£8) / 0131 228 1404

Part of Imaginate Festival.

The Journey Home

The Journey Home From the acclaimed children’s book by award winning author Frann Preston-Gannon This is a story about a Polar Bear who sets off in search of a new home when the ice starts melting. Travelling through storms, busy shipping lanes and across oceans, he picks up some exciting friends along the way. Meet…

Burnley Youth Theatre

Tue 26 May

£3–£6 / 01282 427 767

back to top