Talks & lectures, Festival

28 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

GastroFest

Science and gastronomy converge at this foodie mini-fest organised by Edinburgh International Science Festival. Food producers, chefs and mixologists help sciencey types explore the experiences of taste, disgust, pleasure and other aspects of consumption through demos, workshops, exhibitions and discussions.

Various venues: Edinburgh

Sat 4 Apr

Times & prices vary / 0844 557 2686

Sun 5 Apr

Times & prices vary / 0844 557 2686

Mon 6 Apr

Times & prices vary / 0844 557 2686

…and 13 more dates until 19 Apr

Cinema Made in Italy

Annual five day Italian film festival. Catch the latest cinematic gems from Italy, and go behind the scenes with a series of lively Q&A sessions.

Ciné lumière, London SW7

Thu 5 Mar

£10–£12 / 020 7871 3515

Fri 6 Mar

£10–£12 / 020 7871 3515

Sat 7 Mar

£10–£12 / 020 7871 3515

…and 2 more dates until 9 Mar

West End Festival

Taking over the West End of Glasgow each year, the festival treats the ears to a great musical line-up, tantalises all the senses with a carnival and delves into the creative depths of local studios and exhibitions with the Hidden Lane open days.

Various venues: Glasgow

Fri 5 Jun

Times & prices vary / 0141 341 0844

Sat 6 Jun

Times & prices vary / 0141 341 0844

Sun 7 Jun

Times & prices vary / 0141 341 0844

…and 21 more dates until 28 Jun

Aberdeen's 50+ Festival

A widely-varied programme of events aimed at people over 50, with equal emphasis on entertainment and education. Workshops, cookery demonstrations, art classes and keep fit sessions are complemented by live music performances, walks, exhibitions and plays, both in public venues around Aberdeen and on site in nursing homes.

Various venues: Aberdeen

Tue 1 Sep

Times & prices vary / 01224 523913

Wed 2 Sep

Times & prices vary / 01224 523913

Thu 3 Sep

Times & prices vary / 01224 523913

…and 10 more dates until 13 Sep

Alchemy Film and Moving Image Festival

Annual film festival with a focus on screening work that relates to the natural world, to landscape, to mankind’s relationship with natural forces, or to alchemy itself. The festival has a focus on high quality artistic projects and experimental short film from around the world, mixing this with thematically-related…

Tower Mill, Hawick

Thu 16 Apr

Times & prices vary / 01450 360688

Fri 17 Apr

Times & prices vary / 01450 360688

Sat 18 Apr

Times & prices vary / 01450 360688

Sun 19 Apr

Times & prices vary / 01450 360688

back to top

Bangor Music Festival

Music festival covering everything from jazz to prog-rock to electronica. 2015's festival features Decibel, Heather Roche, Graham Fitkin, The Muffin Men and a special Zappa Day celebrating musical maverick Frank Zappa,

Various veneus: Bangor

Wed 4 Mar

Times vary / £5–£10

Thu 5 Mar

Times vary / £5–£10

Fri 6 Mar

Times vary / £5–£10

…and 2 more dates until 8 Mar

Booked!

A free, local literature festival run by West Dunbartonshire Libraries that nevertheless manages to book some big name authors for its programme of talks, signings and more unusual events. The 2014 programme included Sir Hew Strachan, Colin Campbell, Alistair Moffat, Janis Sharp and James Oswald.

Various venues: Dunbar

Mon 11 May

Times vary / Free / 01389 608978

Provisional dates.

Tue 12 May

Times vary / Free / 01389 608978

Provisional dates.

Wed 13 May

Times vary / Free / 01389 608978

Provisional dates.

…and 10 more dates until 23 May

Boswell Book Festival

A quirky literary festival devoted to biography and the first modern biographer, James Boswell. Set at his former home of Auchinleck House, the fest spans talks, performances and workshops by writers, actors and artists.

Dumfries House, Cumnock

Fri 8 May

Times & prices vary / 01290 425959

Sat 9 May

Times & prices vary / 01290 425959

Sun 10 May

Times & prices vary / 01290 425959

Colonsay Festival of Spring

This tiny island comes alive with a series of events that showcase its natural beauty: workshops and tours, whisky tasting and cake baking, music, exhibitions and film screenings.

Various venues: Colonsay, Isle of Colonsay

Mon 27 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07850 230000

Tue 28 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07850 230000

Wed 29 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07850 230000

…and 18 more dates until 17 May

Counterflows

Counterflows marries the local to the international with artists from around the world collaborating with homegrown talent in spaces across Glasgow.

Various venues: Glasgow

Fri 3 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07939 607934

Sat 4 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07939 607934

Sun 5 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07939 607934

back to top

Cowalfest

Walking festival that takes place amid the natural splendour of the Cowal peninsula with walks focussing on heritage, wildlife or just a good work-out. As well as an extensive range of guided walks for all ages and abilities, there are also drama workshops for children, horse riding, orienteering, exhibitions, art…

Cowal Peninsula

Fri 2 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01369 703785

Sat 3 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01369 703785

Sun 4 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01369 703785

…and 7 more dates until 11 Oct

Dance Show LIVE

Whether you're an up-and-coming dancer, a seasoned pro or a flat-footed newbie, there's something for everyone at this festival of dance, featuring performances, workshops and talks. Featuring Perri and Jordan from Diversity, Luke McFarlane (winner of Got to Dance) and many more.

SECC, Glasgow

Sun 30 Aug

£16.50 (Family £54.50; Children £14.50) / 02920 799199

Dig for Victory Show

A 1940s themed festival celebrating the 'best of British'. Featuring historical re-enactments, restored war-time vehicles, vintage clothing, a children's trail and more.

North Somerset Showground, Bristol

Sat 13 Jun

Times & prices to be confirmed

Dundee Mountain Film Festival

The UK's longest continuous running mountain film festival showcases an international programme of films by local film makers, presentations and book signings by world renowned mountaineers, adventurers and expedition leaders, and art and photography exhibitions.

Bonar Hall, Dundee

Fri 27 Nov

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01382 730699

Sat 28 Nov

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01382 730699

Dundee Science Festival

A range of exciting and stimulating events, talks, shows and hands-on exhibits demonstrating the wonderful world of science. Everything from fossils to forensics are covered, with fun for kids as well as stand-up comedy and social events for grown-ups.

Various venues: Dundee

Sat 31 Oct

Times & prices vary

Sun 1 Nov

Times & prices vary

Mon 2 Nov

Times & prices vary

…and 13 more dates until 15 Nov back to top

Edinburgh Short Film Festival

Ten events over two weekends, showcasing a selection of the best shorts by filmmakers from across the globe.

Various venues: Edinburgh

Fri 13 Nov

Times & prices vary

Sat 14 Nov

Times & prices vary

Sun 15 Nov

Times & prices vary

…and 7 more dates until 22 Nov

Emporium of Dangerous Ideas

A unique education festival developed and promoted by the sector agency College Development Network, aimed at challenging, provoking and generating ideas about how education could be.

Various venues: Scotland

Tue 9 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01786 892000

Wed 10 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01786 892000

Thu 11 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01786 892000

…and 8 more dates until 19 Jun

Environmental Art Festival Scotland: EAFS

The Environmental Art Festival Scotland (EAFS) explores our relationship with the landscape and environment through a series of environmental art commissions, performances, discussions and events.

Various venues: Dumfries & Galloway

Fri 28 Aug

Times & prices vary / 07791 013943

Sat 29 Aug

Times & prices vary / 07791 013943

Sun 30 Aug

Times & prices vary / 07791 013943

Family History Festival

A series of exhibitions, talks and performances bringing to life stories of families associated with the communities of Berwick-upon-Tweed, Tweedmouth and Spittal from across the centuries. The Festival aims to foster links with families from the UK and beyond that have historical connections with the town.

Berwick Town Hall, Berwick-upon-Tweed

Sat 3 Oct

Free / 01289 330900

Part of Berwick 900.

Sun 4 Oct

Free / 01289 330900

Part of Berwick 900.

Festival Of The Moving Image

The award-winning festival returns with a new program including a walking tour, live Q&A with film director Mike Leigh and film screenings.

The Bloomsbury Theatre, London WC1H

Mon 2 Mar

£6.50 day ticket; £13 festival ticket (£9) / 020 3108 1000

back to top

The Folio Prize Fiction Festival

Featuring some of the world's leading literary figures in addition to the shortlisted authors, the three festival opens with a new initiative for 2015: The Folio Society Lecture, delivered by internationally acclaimed author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

The British Library, London NW1

Sat 21 Mar

£40 (£28; Seniors £32 for weekend passes) / 0843 208 1144

Part of Folio Prize Fiction Festival.

Sun 22 Mar

£40 (£28; Seniors £32 for weekend passes) / 0843 208 1144

Part of Folio Prize Fiction Festival.

Highland Archaeology Festival

A fortnight of investigations into Scotland's ancient past, including walks, practical demonstrations, family events, self-guided trails, insights into recent research, historical talks, and plenty of chances for visitors to get their hands dirty exploring what lies beneath this famous landscape.

Various venues: Highlands

Fri 2 Oct

Times & prices vary

Sat 3 Oct

Times & prices vary

Sun 4 Oct

Times & prices vary

…and 14 more dates until 18 Oct

Just Festival

Formerly known as the Festival of Spirituality and Peace. Just Festival offers a programme to help people explore their spirituality by engaging with others and promoting peace with live music, talks, dance shows and exhibitions.

Various venues: Edinburgh

Fri 7 Aug

Times & prices vary / 0131 228 4249

Sat 8 Aug

Times & prices vary / 0131 228 4249

Sun 9 Aug

Times & prices vary / 0131 228 4249

…and 22 more dates until 31 Aug

Let's Dance International Frontiers

Ten day dance festival showcasing dance from the UK and around the world.

Curve Theatre, Leicester

Wed 29 Apr

Prices vary / 0116 242 3595

Thu 30 Apr

Prices vary / 0116 242 3595

Fri 1 May

Prices vary / 0116 242 3595

…and 17 more dates until 18 May

Loch Fyne Food Fair

In operation since 1990, the Loch Fyne Food Fair celebrates the best local produce Scotland has to offer. Alongside Loch Fyne Oysters own seafood stands, the event features live music throughout both days, a craft tent and a dedicated children’s area hosting a whole range of exciting activities.

Clachan, Cairndow

Sat 16 May

Times & prices vary / 01499 600482

Sun 17 May

Times & prices vary / 01499 600482