After 12pm, Music, Hip hop

124 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Big Narstie

London-based grime and hip hop artist.

Mango's Bar & Club, Falmouth

Fri 1 May

£9.99 / 01326 316909

Hip Hop Karaoke

Rap, R&B and hip hop sing-along.

The Jazz Cafe, London NW1

Sun 24 May

£7 / 0844 847 2514

The Social, London W1W

Thu 30 Apr

£5 / 020 7636 4992

Hip hop open mic.

£5 / 020 7636 4992

Putting a fresh twist on the ancient art of karaoke, HHK Lets you get on the mic.

Thu 7 May

£5 / 020 7636 4992

Hip hop open mic.

Thu 14 May

£5 / 020 7636 4992

Hip hop open mic.

…and 6 more dates until 25 Jun

Jamie XX

Hip hop from the masked American rapper.

St John At Hackney Church, London E5

Fri 5 Jun

£18.50 / 020 8985 5374

The Spalding Suite

  • Directed by: Benji Reid

Dance theatre show inspired by the UK's basketball subculture; mixing poetry, spoken word, storytelling and live music with elements of hip-hop and choreography influenced by the game. Directed by Benji Reid.

ARC: Stockton Arts Centre, Stockton-on-Tees

Tue 12 May

Donations welcome / 01642 525199

Birmingham Hippodrome

Thu 14 May

£12 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

Fri 15 May

£12 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

Sat 16 May

£12 (£8) / 0844 338 5000

Brighton Dome

Tue 5 May

Corn Exchange

£15 / 01273 709709

Wed 6 May

Corn Exchange

£15 / 01273 709709

Also on at:

Tyga

Well-connected rapper from the Cash Money stable.

IndigO2, London SE10

Tue 28 Apr

£28.90–£40.29 / 0871 220 0260

The Ministry of Sound, London SE1

Tue 28 Apr

£10 / 0870 060 0010

  • 22:00 – 04:00 Tyga The Ministry of Sound, London
back to top

Ugly Duckling

Old school funky hip hop invested with humour and intelligence.

229 The Venue, London W1W

Tue 5 May

prices vary / 020 7323 7229

Wed 6 May

£16.50 / 020 7323 7229

The Boileroom, Guildford

Fri 8 May

£11 / 01483 440022

Cambridge Junction

Mon 11 May

£10 / 01223 511511

Also on at:

Dalek

Hailed by critics as risk takers and pioneers for a new generation of hip-hop, Dalek are back on the road in 2015 and heading to London playing May 1st at Oslo in London.

Oslo, London E8

Fri 1 May

£12.50 / 0115 941 5840

Gosfest

Local artists and bands play across two stages and four days at this family-friendly festival featuring over 96 bands. This year opens with the Gosport Carnival.

Venue TBC, Edinburgh

Thu 30 Jul

£15 day ticket (Children £5) / 02393 787613

  • 14:30 – 23:00 Gosfest Venue TBC, Edinburgh

Fri 31 Jul

£15 day ticket (Children £5) / 02393 787613

  • 12:00 – 23:00 Gosfest Venue TBC, Edinburgh

Sat 1 Aug

£15 day ticket (Children £5) / 02393 787613

  • 12:00 – 23:00 Gosfest Venue TBC, Edinburgh

Sun 2 Aug

£15 day ticket (Children £5) / 02393 787613

  • 12:00 – 23:00 Gosfest Venue TBC, Edinburgh

J Cole

American rapper and producer signed to Jay-Z's Roc Nation label.

Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham

Fri 15 May

£30.50–£34.50 / 0871 945 6000

Manchester Arena

Thu 14 May

£30.50–£34.50 / 0844 847 8000

Motorpoint Arena Cardiff

Sat 16 May

£30.50 / 02920 224488

Also on at:

Jam Piece

Dance battle featuring crews from far and wide. All styles of hip hop are on show in front of an international judging panel.

The Studio at the Edinburgh Festival Theatre

Sat 2 May

£5 / 0131 622 8086

  • 13:00 – 16:00 Jam Piece The Studio at the Edinburgh Festival Theatre
back to top

Kate Tempest

Hip hop lyricist, playwright, poet and MC, who released her latest Everybody Down in May 2014, and has supported the likes of Billy Bragg, Scroobius Pip and John Cooper Clarke.

Brighton Dome

Thu 14 May

Corn Exchange

£10–£16 / 01273 709709

LoveBox

London's boutique dance festival founded by Groove Armada. 2014's line-up features MIA, Chase & Status, Nas (performing Illmatic), A$ap Rocky, Katy B, The Horrors, Bonobo, Sub Focus, Annie Mac, Cyril Hahn, BANKS, Crystal Fighters and more.

Victoria Park, London E9

Fri 17 Jul

£45–£75

Sat 18 Jul

£45–£75

Open Mic

Open stage for local musicians and singer-songwriters.

The Brunswick, Hove

Mon 4 May

Free / 01273 733984

Mon 11 May

Free / 01273 733984

Mon 18 May

Free / 01273 733984

…and 5 more dates until 22 Jun

Action Bronson

Big beardy alternative rapper from New York, who's vocal style has been compared to Ghostface Killah (Wu-Tang Clan).

The Institute, Birmingham

Fri 18 Sep

£18.50 / 0844 844 0444

O2 ABC, Glasgow

Tue 15 Sep

£18.50 / 0141 332 2232

O2 Academy Bristol

Sat 19 Sep

£18.50 / 0844 477 2000

Also on at:

Afrofuturism

The band plays a mix of jazz, soul, hip hop, electronic and world music.

The Hope, Brighton

Sun 3 May

Free

Sun 10 May

Free

Sun 17 May

Free

Sun 24 May

Free

back to top

Akala

Akala aka Kingslee Daley, brother to Ms Dynamite, steps up to the hip hop plate in his own right.

The Bodega, Nottingham

Tue 28 Apr

£11 / 0845 413 4444

Colston Hall, Bristol

Mon 27 Apr

The Lantern

£12.50 / 0117 922 3686

  • 20:00 Akala Colston Hall, Bristol

Electric Circus, Edinburgh

Fri 1 May

£11.50 / 0131 226 4224

With Mic Righteous.

Also on at:

Akua Naru

The hip hop songstress performs tracks from her debut album The Journey Aflame.

The Garage, London N5

Thu 15 Oct

£14.50 / 0844 847 1678

Ana Tijoux

A performance by the respected MC and hip hop artist.

Rich Mix, Bethnal Green

Thu 30 Apr

Main Space

£16.80 / 020 7613 7498

Astroid Boys

Hip hop, rap and beatboxing crew.

The Barfly, London NW1

Tue 28 Apr

£8 / 0844 847 2424

Classic Grand, Glasgow

Thu 30 Apr

£7.95 / 0141 847 0820

Digital, Newcastle upon Tyne

Mon 4 May

£7 / 0191 261 9755

Also on at:

Astronautalis

American alternative hip hop artist.

100 Club, London W1D

Wed 27 May

£9 adv / 020 7636 0933

The Green Door Store, Brighton

Thu 28 May

£9 / 07944 693214

back to top

The Balkanoes

The band fuses Eastern European and Jewish folk music with support from The Inexplicables, Ram1 & The Ites Band and Carpetface.

Hootananny, London SW2

Fri 22 May

£4 / 020 7737 7273

Bastion

The outfit plays soul and hip hop with support from Normanton Street, Sumo Chief and Mei The Music.

New Cross Inn, London SE14

Fri 1 May

£5 / 020 8692 1866

  • 19:00 Bastion New Cross Inn, London

Beardyman

The first person to retain the UK Beatbox Champion title for two years in a row embarks on his Beardytron Beta tour.

Cambridge Junction

Thu 5 Nov

£18 / 01223 511511

King George's Hall, Blackburn

Fri 27 Nov

£18 / 01254 582579

Loughborough Town Hall

Sat 17 Oct

£19 / 01509 231914

Also on at:

Big Sean

Detroit rapper who got his break on Kanye West's GOOD Music label.

The Institute, Birmingham

Mon 29 Jun

£21.50 / 0844 844 0444

Manchester Academy

Tue 30 Jun

£21.50 / 0161 275 2930

O2 ABC, Glasgow

Wed 1 Jul

£23.50 / 0141 332 2232

Bi:Lingual

Rock and roll hip hop outfit featuring Dylan Cartlidge Aaron Lythe and Stephanos Louca. With support from The Treated and Yellow Creatures.

Wharf Chambers, Leeds

Sat 30 May

Phone for prices

back to top