Music, Folk, free events

113 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Open Mic with Southside Sessions

Acoustic Open Mic hosted by the Southside Sessions. All musicians/styles are welcome, acoustic guitar, jam session options and good vibes provided.

The Butterfly & the Pig @ the Corona, Glasgow

Tue 7 Apr

Free / 0141 258 1811

Tue 14 Apr

Free / 0141 258 1811

Tue 21 Apr

Free / 0141 258 1811

…and 36 more dates until 29 Dec

Jayz, Glasgow

Sun 5 Apr

Free / 0141 387 9046

Sun 12 Apr

Free / 0141 387 9046

Sun 19 Apr

Free / 0141 387 9046

…and 36 more dates until 27 Dec

Tuesday Jamnastics with Lewis Gibson

An open but orchestrated jam night hosted by Lewis Gibson of The Mighty Midas Touch.

Nobles Cafe, Bar & Restaurant, Edinburgh

Tue 31 Mar

Free / 0131 629 7215

Tue 7 Apr

Free / 0131 629 7215

Tue 14 Apr

Free / 0131 629 7215

…and 24 more dates until 29 Sep

Traditional Scottish Music Session

Every Tuesday musicians perform Scottish folk music complete with fiddles and banjos.

Whiski, Edinburgh

Tue 7 Apr

Free / 0131 556 3095

Tue 14 Apr

Free / 0131 556 3095

Tue 21 Apr

Free / 0131 556 3095

…and 36 more dates until 29 Dec

Camden Easter Monday Music Festival

A wonderful Bank Holiday Monday full of live music from midday until midnight!

Fiddler's Elbow, London NW5

Mon 6 Apr

Free / 020 7485 3269

Sunday Sessions

Live folk music, with Bloody Marys and coffee there for the drinking.

The Flying Duck, Glasgow

Sun 5 Apr

Free / 0141 564 1450

Sun 12 Apr

Free / 0141 564 1450

Sun 19 Apr

Free / 0141 564 1450

…and 36 more dates until 27 Dec back to top

Alan Anderson

An acoustic set from Alan Anderson.

Maggie May's, Glasgow

Sun 5 Apr

Free / 0141 548 1350

Sun 12 Apr

Free / 0141 548 1350

Sun 19 Apr

Free / 0141 548 1350

…and 33 more dates until 6 Dec

Bluegrass/Americana Jam Session

Bassist John Allan and mandolinist Wilf James host a monthly bluegrass jam session. All levels welcome, from beginner to advanced pickers. Acoustic instruments only please.

Bar Gumbo, Glasgow

Mon 27 Apr

Free / 0141 334 7132

Mon 25 May

Free / 0141 334 7132

Mon 29 Jun

Free / 0141 334 7132

…and 8 more dates until 29 Feb 2016

Folk Friday

Relaxed folk night.

The Tolbooth Tavern, Edinburgh

Fri 3 Apr

Free / 0131 629 4500

Fri 10 Apr

Free / 0131 629 4500

Fri 17 Apr

Free / 0131 629 4500

…and 35 more dates until 18 Dec

Iron Horse Irish Traditional Music Session

A weekly open traditional Irish music session with some Scottish tunes as well.

The Iron Horse, Glasgow

Wed 1 Apr

Free / 01413322215

Wed 8 Apr

Free / 01413322215

Wed 15 Apr

Free / 01413322215

…and 6 more dates until 27 May

Zeffirellis, Ambleside

Fri 3 Apr

Free / 01539 433 845

back to top

Sofi's Nocturnes

A new name and slightly broader format at Sofi's Unplugged Open Stage now welcoming performers of all kinds, from musicians to poets to comedians. House guitar provided (for those who need it) and every performer gets a beer on the house.

Sofi's, Edinburgh

Sun 5 Apr

Free / 0131 555 7019

Sun 12 Apr

Free / 0131 555 7019

Sun 19 Apr

Free / 0131 555 7019

…and 36 more dates until 27 Dec

Trad Thursdays

Informal folk and traditional music session.

Malone's Irish Bar, Edinburgh

Thu 2 Apr

Free / 0131 226 5954

Thu 9 Apr

Free / 0131 226 5954

Thu 16 Apr

Free / 0131 226 5954

…and 10 more dates until 25 Jun

Atlantic Currants

The four-piece performs Americana, plus Celtic and English folk.

The Bricklayer's Arms, Sevenoaks

Sun 26 Apr

Free

The Louis Armstrong, Dover

Fri 17 Apr

Free / 01304 204759

The Ship Centurion, Whitstable

Thu 30 Apr

Free / 01227 264740

Also on at:

Berwick May Fair

Traditional street market.

Marygate, Berwick-upon-Tweed

Fri 22 May

Free

Part of Berwick 900.

Sat 23 May

Free

Part of Berwick 900.

Sun 24 May

Free

Part of Berwick 900.

Mon 25 May

Free

Part of Berwick 900.

Fiddlefit

The fiddle and guitar duo performs folk and alternative country.

The Bell & Crown, Canterbury

Wed 1 Apr

Free / 01227 784639

  • 21:00 – 23:00 Fiddlefit The Bell & Crown, Canterbury

Wed 3 Jun

Free / 01227 784639

  • 21:00 – 23:00 Fiddlefit The Bell & Crown, Canterbury

The Bell Inn, Romney Marsh

Sun 19 Apr

Free

  • 15:00 – 18:00 Fiddlefit The Bell Inn, Romney Marsh

The Coopers Arms, Rochester

Sun 31 May

Free

  • 19:00 – 21:00 Fiddlefit The Coopers Arms, Rochester

Also on at:

back to top

The Listening Room

Acoustic open mic session.

The Blue Blazer, Edinburgh

Sun 5 Apr

Free / 0131 229 5030

Sun 12 Apr

Free / 0131 229 5030

Sun 19 Apr

Free / 0131 229 5030

…and 87 more dates until 18 Dec 2016

Louise Jordan

Acoustic folk songstress.

Zeffirellis, Ambleside

Fri 15 May

Free / 01539 433 845

Lucy Ward

The singer-songwriter and guitarist from Derby performs acoustic indie-folk.

Katie Fitzgerald's, Stourbridge

Thu 21 May

Times to be confirmed / Free / 01384 374410

Martin Carthy

The respected English folk singer and guitarist.

Katie Fitzgerald's, Stourbridge

Thu 28 May

Times to be confirmed / Free / 01384 374410

Matt Dunn

Acoustic covers and mash-ups from the artist.

Biddy Mulligans, Edinburgh

Tue 31 Mar

Free / 0131 220 1246

  • 22:00 – 01:30 Matt Dunn Biddy Mulligans, Edinburgh

Tue 7 Apr

Free / 0131 220 1246

  • 22:00 – 01:30 Matt Dunn Biddy Mulligans, Edinburgh

Tue 14 Apr

Free / 0131 220 1246

  • 22:00 – 01:30 Matt Dunn Biddy Mulligans, Edinburgh
…and 3 more dates until 5 May back to top

Metric Acorn

A showcase of rock, blues and folk.

The Blues Kitchen, London NW1

Tue 19 May

Free / 020 7387 5277

Mic Edgar's Folk 'n' Blues Band

Folk and blues from Mic Edgar and his band.

Maggie May's, Glasgow

Thu 2 Apr

Free / 0141 548 1350

Thu 9 Apr

Free / 0141 548 1350

Thu 16 Apr

Free / 0141 548 1350

…and 35 more dates until 17 Dec

Muckle Flugga

Trad Scottish music from this ceilidh band.

Whiski, Edinburgh

Mon 6 Apr

Free / 0131 556 3095

Mon 13 Apr

Free / 0131 556 3095

Mon 20 Apr

Free / 0131 556 3095

…and 36 more dates until 28 Dec

Sarah McQuaid

The Spanish-born singer-songwriter and guitarist plays traditional tunes alongside contemporary songs.

The Blue Anchor, Helston

Thu 2 Apr

Free / 01326 562821

The Young Folk

The band plays alt folk with support from India Electric Co., Paulo Morena.

The Bedford, London SW12

Mon 13 Apr

Free / 020 8682 8940

back to top