Music, Classical within 5 miles of Edinburgh

99 events within 5 miles

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Sunday 22 March

Old St Paul's Church, Edinburgh £12 (£10; Students £5) 0131 556 3332

Music by composers from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

St Giles' Cathedral, Edinburgh Free 0131 226 0673

Edinburgh Napier Chamber Choir performs Elgar's 'My love dwelt in a northern land'; Brahms's 'In stiller Nacht'; Coleridge Taylor's 'The Evening Star'; Sullivan's The long day closes; Robin McLeish's Three Songs (premiere) and Ivo Antognini's 'There is another sky'.

Tuesday 24 March

Reid Concert Hall, Edinburgh Free 0131 651 4336

Stravinsky: Three Pieces for String Quartet; Bartok: String Quartet No 2 Op 17.

Wednesday 25 March

St Giles' Cathedral, Edinburgh Free 0131 226 0673

Pianists from Edinburgh Napier University.

Thursday 26 March

St Mary's Cathedral, Edinburgh £10 (£7; Children £3) 0131 225 6293

Beethoven: 'Coriolan' Overture; Saint-Saens: Cello Concerto No 1 and John Bevan Baker: Songs of Courtship.

Friday 27 March

Usher Hall, Edinburgh £15–£35 (disabled £7.50–£17.50; under 26s/mature students/unemployed £6; under 16s free) 0131 228 1155

Saturday 28 March

Canongate Kirk, Edinburgh Prices to be confirmed 0131 556 3515

The choir performs Herbert Howells' Requiem and Ligeti's eerie Lux Aeterna.

St Cuthbert's Church, Edinburgh Prices to be confirmed 0131 229 1142

Brahms' German Requiem, performed with the Edinburgh Players.

St Giles' Cathedral, Edinburgh £8 (£5) 0131 226 0673

Music for Passiontide and Easter by Lassus, Praetorius, Scheidt, Schein and Schütz.

Monday 30 March

St Giles' Cathedral, Edinburgh Free 0131 226 0673

Highland Park Orchestra from Highland Park, Illinois.

Saturday 4 April

The Brunton, Musselburgh £12 (£24.95 in High Tea) 0131 665 2240

Playing music by Bach, Mozart and Ravel.

Tuesday 7 April

The Brunton, Musselburgh £6 (£12 inc lunch) 0131 665 2240

Playing Schubert's String Quartet in A minor ‘Rosamunde’.

Friday 10 April

Saturday 11 April

Usher Hall, Edinburgh £15–£20 (£13; students & schoolchildren £5) 0131 228 1155

Sian Edwards conducts Tchaikovsky's Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture, Strauss's Oboe Concerto with guest soloist Julian Scott, and Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique.

Usher Hall, Edinburgh Prices vary 0131 228 1155

Featuring oboe soloist Julian Scott and conductor Sian Edwards. The programme includes Strauss Oboe Concerto, Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet Overture and Berlioz Symphonie Fantastique.

Monday 13 April

Tuesday 14 April

Wednesday 15 April

Church Hill Theatre, Edinburgh Prices to be confirmed 0131 447 7597

Thursday 16 April

Scottish National Gallery, Edinburgh Free 0131 624 6200

Music by Mozart, Ravel, Bizet and Ireland.

Church Hill Theatre, Edinburgh Prices to be confirmed 0131 447 7597

Friday 17 April

Church Hill Theatre, Edinburgh Prices to be confirmed 0131 447 7597
Usher Hall, Edinburgh £15–£35 (disabled £7.50–£17.50; under 26s/mature students/unemployed £6; under 16s free) 0131 228 1155

Saturday 18 April

Church Hill Theatre, Edinburgh Prices to be confirmed 0131 447 7597
St Cuthbert's Church, Edinburgh £tbc on the door 0131 229 1142

Sunday 19 April

Usher Hall, Edinburgh £12–£32 (£10) 0131 228 1155

Smetana's Bartered Bride Suite; Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in E minor; Vaughan Williams' Lark Ascending and Dvořák's Symphony No. 7 in D minor. Jiří Bĕlohlávek conducts, with guest soloist Josef Špaček (violin).

Monday 20 April

Tuesday 21 April

The Brunton, Musselburgh £6 (£12 inc lunch) 0131 665 2240

Double bill of Horn Quintets by Mozart and James MacMillan.

Friday 24 April

Usher Hall, Edinburgh £12–£37 (disabled £6–£18.30; under 26s / mature students / unemployed £6; under 16s free) 0131 228 1155
back to top
The Queen's Hall, Edinburgh £15 0131 668 2019

Saturday 25 April

Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh £20 (£18)

Part of Spark: Greyfriars Festival of Worship and the Arts.

Sunday 26 April

Mayfield Salisbury Parish Church, Edinburgh Free 0131 667 1522

The choir and members of Jubilo perform Handel's Dettingen te Deum under the direction of Walter Thomson, with organ accompaniment from John Willmett. Part of Festival of Sacred Music.

Wednesday 29 April

St Peter's Church, Edinburgh Free 0131 662 9171

Stockhausen: Tierkreis/Signs of the Zodiac; Michael Bonaventure, In Orbit II (2013); the world premiere of Iain Matheson's Imaginary Music; Jean Langlais' *2nd Symphonie “alla Webern”' (1977).

Thursday 30 April

Scottish National Portrait Gallery, Edinburgh Free 0131 624 6200

This concert features special guests.

Friday 1 May

Usher Hall, Edinburgh £12–£37 (disabled £6–£18.50; under 26s / mature students / unemployed £6; under 16s free) 0131 228 1155

Friday 8 May

Usher Hall, Edinburgh £12–£37 (disabled £6–£18.50; under 26s / mature students / unemployed £6; under 16s free) 0131 228 1155