Before 5pm, Kids

4,663 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

The Lost Carnival

An immersive and mysterious experience featuring theatre, circus, music and visual trickery.

Burrs Country Park, Bury

Sat 23 May

£10 / 0161 253 5353

Sun 24 May

£10 / 0161 253 5353

Mon 25 May

£10 / 0161 253 5353

Extreme Stunt Show Air Battle

An exciting stunt show where the Extreme Team take to the air to battle it out with performers defying gravity to perform stunts.

Addington Park, London

Sun 28 Jun

£6–£12

Avenue of Remembrance, Colchester

Sun 7 Jun

£6–£12

Cyfarthfa Park, Merthyr Tydfil

Sun 24 May

£6–£12

Mon 25 May

£6–£12

Foodies Festival

Michelin starred and award-winning chefs cook up a storm at this year's festival dedicated to epicureans, as well as offerings from local producers and workshops for food lovers young and old.

Alexandra Palace, London N22

Fri 3 Jul

Prices vary / 020 8365 2121

Sat 4 Jul

Prices vary / 020 8365 2121

Sun 5 Jul

Prices vary / 020 8365 2121

Clapham Common, London SW4

Fri 24 Jul

Prices vary

Sat 25 Jul

Prices vary

Sun 26 Jul

Prices vary

The Downs, Bristol

Fri 26 Jun

Prices vary

Sat 27 Jun

Prices vary

Sun 28 Jun

Prices vary

Also on at:

Chaplin's Circus

Chaplin's Circus will be bringing its unique pantomime circus.

Brookfield Park, Littlehampton

Mon 25 May

£21 / 01903 737951

Tue 26 May

£21 / 01903 737951

Wed 27 May

£21 / 01903 737951

…and 4 more dates until 31 May

Family Show

Family friendly cabaret with circus, aerial, song, dance and comedy.

Wild Cabaret & Wicked Lounge, Glasgow

Sun 24 May

0141 552 6165

  • 14:00 – 16:00 Family Show Wild Cabaret & Wicked Lounge, Glasgow

Sun 31 May

0141 552 6165

  • 14:00 – 16:00 Family Show Wild Cabaret & Wicked Lounge, Glasgow

Sun 7 Jun

0141 552 6165

  • 14:00 – 16:00 Family Show Wild Cabaret & Wicked Lounge, Glasgow
…and 29 more dates until 27 Dec back to top

Dinosaur Zoo

Dinosaurs aren't extinct! They're just hiding out on the other side of the world. Dinosaur Zoo takes its Jurassic creations on tour with an opportunity for children to get right up close.

Edinburgh Festival Theatre

Sat 19 Sep

£13.50 / 0131 529 6000

Sun 20 Sep

£13.50 / 0131 529 6000

Kings Cross Theatre, London

Sat 18 Jul

£14.50–£24.50

Sun 19 Jul

£14.50–£24.50

Mon 20 Jul

£14.50–£24.50

…and 35 more dates until 30 Aug

Lanark Memorial Hall

Tue 8 Sep

£12.50–£15 / 01555 667999

Wed 9 Sep

£12.50–£15 / 01555 667999

Also on at:

Ben and Holly's Little Kingdom

  • Directed by: Richard Lewis
  • Written by: Mani Svavarsson (music)

Richard Lewis' adaptation of the award-winning television animation set in a miniature world of fairies, elves and insects. The production features original music by Mani Svavarsson, with original lyrics by Matt Lewis.

Beck Theatre, Hayes

Sat 6 Jun

£16.50 / 020 8561 8371

Sun 7 Jun

£16.50 / 020 8561 8371

Bristol Hippodrome

Wed 26 Aug

£14.50–£16.50 / 0844 847 2325

Thu 27 Aug

£14.50–£16.50 / 0844 847 2325

Broxbourne Civic Hall, Hoddesdon

Wed 2 Sep

£15.50

Thu 3 Sep

£15.50

Also on at:

…and at 4 other places

Milkshake!

An interactive musical spectacular featuring children's television presenters.

Carnegie Theatre, Workington

Thu 28 May

£12 (Children £10; £40) / 01900 602122

The Harlequin, Redhill

Sat 20 Jun

£10.50–£12.50 / 01737 276 500

The Kings Hall, Herne Bay

Sat 13 Jun

£10.50–£12.50 / 01227 787787

Also on at:

The Netherlands National Circus

An award-winning circus spectacular blending together aerial feats, acrobatics, comedy, dance and theatre.

Ascot Racecourse

Sat 23 May

£7–£26 / 0870 727 8765

Sun 24 May

£7–£26 / 0870 727 8765

Bass Recreation Ground, Derby

Tue 9 Jun

£12–£26

Wed 10 Jun

£12–£26

Thu 11 Jun

£12–£26

…and 3 more dates until 14 Jun

East Holmes Field, Ilkley

Tue 16 Jun

£7–£26 / 01943 600453

Wed 17 Jun

£7–£26 / 01943 600453

Also on at:

Paddle Steamer Waverley 40th Anniversary Cruise

Sail away aboard the world's last sea-going paddle steamer. Celebrating 40 years of preservation.

Glasgow Science Centre

Sat 23 May

£27–£31 (Children £13.50–£15.50) / 0141 420 5000

Visit Dunoon / Rothesay

Sun 24 May

£29–£37 (Children £14.50–£18.50; Seniors £27–£35) / 0141 420 5000

Visit Rothesay / Tarbert

Mon 25 May

£27–£29 (Children £13.50–£14.50; Seniors £23–£27) / 0141 420 5000

Visit Dunoon / Rothesay

back to top

Newtown Church Fete 2015

A quintessentially English garden fete with something for all the family.

Meonwood, Fareham

Sat 23 May

£2 / 01329 833823

Bookbug Session

Rhymes, stories and songs to stimulate and delight wee ones. Suitable for under threes. Booking is essential.

Broxburn Library

Sat 23 May

Free / 01506 775600

Part of Bookbug Week.

Burntisland Library

Sat 23 May

Free / 01592 583203

Part of Bookbug Week.

Central Library, Edinburgh

Sat 23 May

Free / 0131 242 8100

Part of Bookbug Week.

Also on at:

…and at 1 other place

Stick Man

  • Directed by: Sally Cookson
  • Written by: Benji Bower (music)

Scamp Theatre bring Julia Donaldson’s popular picture book to life in this engaging family show.

G Live, Guildford

Wed 22 Jul

£12 / 0844 770 1797

Hertford Theatre

Sat 20 Jun

Phone for prices / 01992 531500

Sun 21 Jun

Phone for prices / 01992 531500

The Hexagon, Reading

Wed 8 Jul

£14.50 (Children £12.50; £44.80) / 0118 960 6060

Also on at:

Horrible Histories: Incredible Invaders

An irreverent look at the gruesome aspects of British history and invaders from the Romans to the Vikings.

Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

Wed 1 Jul

£13.50–£16.50 (Children £11.50–£14.50; £11.50–£14.50; £11.50–£14.50) / 01274 432000

Thu 2 Jul

£13.50–£16.50 (Children £11.50–£14.50; £11.50–£14.50; £11.50–£14.50) / 01274 432000

Sat 4 Jul

£13.50–£16.50 (Children £11.50–£14.50; £11.50–£14.50; £11.50–£14.50) / 01274 432000

Belgrade Theatre, Coventry

Thu 28 May

£14.25 (Children £9.75) / 02476 553055

Sat 30 May

£14.25 (Children £9.75) / 02476 553055

Darlington Civic Theatre

Thu 25 Jun

£13.50 (Children £10) / 01325 486555

Sat 27 Jun

£13.50 (Children £10) / 01325 486555

Sun 28 Jun

£13.50 (Children £10) / 01325 486555

Also on at:

Montgomery Street Picnic in the Park

Lots of family activities are on offer at this fun day in the park.

Montgomery Street Park, Edinburgh

Sat 23 May

Free

back to top

T-his/T-hat

Interactive dance performance with plenty of involvement for kids. Ages 2–7.

Assembly Roxy, Edinburgh

Sat 23 May

Children £5 / 0131 623 3030

Sun 24 May

Children £5 / 0131 623 3030

The Ugly Duckling

Musical version of the well-known classic.

National Trust: Speke Hall, Liverpool

Sun 24 May

£2–£5 £5 tickets and £2 unders 2's / 0151 427 7231

£2–£5 Tickets £5 and Under 2's £2 / 0151 427 7231

Mon 25 May

£2–£5 see above / 0151 427 7231

£2–£5 under 2's £2, All other tickets £5 / 0151 427 7231

Millport Country & Western Festival

A rootin' tootin' weekend of country and western gigs across several venues on the Isle of Cumbrae. Bands appearing this year include Ellis County, Paul Taylor, Stillwater, Western Express, Pete Shaw, Carson City, Donna Wylde, Smokin' Gunns, and McKenzie. Diana Dawson will host two line-dance workshops and the Silver…

Millport Town Hall

Sat 5 Sep

£10 Weekend wristband for venue entry; £5 for a single day / 01475 530741

Sun 6 Sep

£10 Weekend wristband for venue entry; £5 for a single day / 01475 530741

Voca People

The YouTube sensations take their show on the road – expect a capella / beatboxing and mouth music like you've never heard before.

Rose Theatre, Kingston upon Thames

Sun 24 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 482 1556

Mon 25 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 482 1556

Tree Fu Tom

An adventure through the magical world of Treetopolis with the Beebies star.

Alhambra Theatre, Dunfermline

Fri 24 Jul

£12.50 / 01383 740384

Capitol, Horsham

Sat 11 Jul

£13 (Children £11) / 01403 750 220

The Courtyard, Hereford

Wed 29 Jul

£13.50 ( £11.50; £11.50; £42; Children £11.50 under 16s) / 01432 340555

Also on at:

…and at 10 other places back to top

Fabulous Fifties

Exhibition taking a nostalgic look back at the 50s.

National Museum of Rural Life, East Kilbride

Sun 24 May

Included in admission / 0300 123 6789

Kingston Lacy Car Boot Sale

Discover a bargain or sell unwanted items.

National Trust: Kingston Lacy, Wimborne Minster

Sat 20 Jun

£0.50; £6 per car / 01202 883 402

Sat 18 Jul

£0.50; £6 per car / 01202 883 402

Meet Terry Deary

The author of the beloved Horrible Histories series stops by for a book signing.

Waterstones West End, Edinburgh

Sat 23 May

Free / 0131 226 2666

The Queen's Feast

Mary of Guise is dining with some of her lords and ladies – you can visit the cooks to see what they're whipping up, and meet the courtiers and they anxiously wait to see them. Plus, there's entertainment from musicians, jesters and dancers.

Stirling Castle

Sat 23 May

Included in admission / 01786 450000

Sun 24 May

Included in admission / 01786 450000

Cake, Bake and Food Festival

Hundreds of stalls offering cakes and cakes and other delights to make your tastebuds mighty happy.

Walpole Park, Gosport

Sat 23 May

Cancelled / 02393 787613

Sun 24 May

Cancelled / 02393 787613

Mon 25 May

Cancelled / 02393 787613

back to top