Afternoon events, Kids

1,667 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Gandeys Thrill Circus

An all-human circus of action-packed antics.

The Britannia Stadium, Stoke-on-Trent

Sat 7 Mar

£8–£26 / 0871 663 2008

Featuring a special guest appearance from Stoke legend Neil Baldwin as Nello the Clown.

Sun 8 Mar

£8–£26 / 0871 663 2008

Featuring a special guest appearance from Stoke legend Neil Baldwin as Nello the Clown.

Mon 9 Mar

£8–£26 / 0871 663 2008

Featuring a special guest appearance from Stoke legend Neil Baldwin as Nello the Clown.

…and 6 more dates until 15 Mar

Jurassic Adventures

Fun family show about dinosaurs and the people that study them.

Adam Smith Theatre, Kirkcaldy

Sat 14 Mar

£17 (£15; Family £14.50; Children £15) / 01592 583302

Beck Theatre, Hayes

Tue 31 Mar

£16 (£14) / 020 8561 8371

Buxton Opera House

Sat 14 Mar

£16 (Children £14) / 0845 127 2190

Also on at:

Circus Wonderland

Britain's most magical circus is back! Circus Wonderland is returning to Fareham for the perfect half term treat.

Stoneham Park, Eastleigh

Wed 4 Mar

£12 (£10) / 023 8061 3361

Thu 5 Mar

£12 (£10) / 023 8061 3361

Fri 6 Mar

£12 (£10) / 023 8061 3361

Cadbury Easter Egg Trail

Children's entertainment and an exciting Easter trail with chocolate eggs and prizes to be won at the end.

National Trust: Barrington Court, Ilminster

Fri 3 Apr

£2 per trail, plus admission £10.90, child £5.40, family £27.20 / 01460 241938

Sat 4 Apr

£2 per trail, plus admission £10.90, child £5.40, family £27.20 / 01460 241938

Sun 5 Apr

£2 per trail, plus admission £10.90, child £5.40, family £27.20 / 01460 241938

Mon 6 Apr

£2 per trail, plus admission £10.90, child £5.40, family £27.20 / 01460 241938

Cirque Berserk

A large-scale family circus show with jugglers, acrobats, aerialists, dancers, musicians and stuntmen. Highlights include Hercules the strongman, award-winning clown Tweedy and a hair-raising motorcycle routine from Globe of Death.

Birmingham Repertory Theatre

Fri 20 Mar

£18.50–£30 / 0121 236 4455

Sat 21 Mar

£18.50–£30 / 0121 236 4455

Sun 22 Mar

£18.50–£30 / 0121 236 4455

Grand Theatre, Swansea

Tue 3 Mar

£16–£22 / 01792 475715

Marina Theatre, Lowestoft

Sat 14 Mar

£25; £20–£10 (£20) / 01502 533200

Also on at:

back to top

Baby Loves Disco

Baby Loves Disco is a chance for babies, toddlers, preschoolers and their parents to get their respective grooves on and enjoy some dayclubbing with real club DJs spinning retro and pop tunes. Chillout room, themed crafts, facepainting, healthy snacks and more – all included in the price, plus licensed bar for parents.

DNA, London SW11

Sat 28 Mar

£9.94–£144.19 / 07986 527947

Sat 25 Apr

£9.94–£144.19 / 07986 527947

Sat 30 May

£9.94–£144.19 / 07986 527947

Sat 27 Jun

£9.94–£144.19 / 07986 527947

Electric Circus, Edinburgh

Sun 19 Apr

£8.94–£128.75 / 07986 527947

Sun 21 Jun

£8.94–£128.75 / 07986 527947

Hummingbird, Glasgow

Sun 8 Mar

£8.94–£128.75 / 07986 527947

Sun 12 Apr

£8.94–£128.75 / 07986 527947

Sun 10 May

£8.94–£128.75 / 07986 527947

Sun 14 Jun

£8.94–£128.75 / 07986 527947

The Sooty Show

Sweep, Soo and Richard join the loveable bear to celebrate his birthday party – where things don't seem to be going to plan.

Aylesbury Waterside Theatre

Thu 9 Apr

£15–£30

Beck Theatre, Hayes

Mon 30 Mar

£15 / 020 8561 8371

Churchill Theatre, Bromley

Fri 3 Apr

£15 / 08441 717620

Also on at:

Art Maker

Art Cart has had a makeover and is now Art Maker! Drop in to the gallery and make your own masterpiece using materials provided. Go four times and you can earn a badge. Ages 4–12.

Scottish National Gallery, Edinburgh

Sun 5 Apr

Free / 0131 624 6200

  • 14:00 – 16:00 Art Maker Scottish National Gallery, Edinburgh

Sun 3 May

Free / 0131 624 6200

  • 14:00 – 16:00 Art Maker Scottish National Gallery, Edinburgh

The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas: Children Touring Partnership

  • Written by: Angus Jackson (adaptation)

A moving play set during the Second World War, seen through the eyes of Bruno, the eight-year-old son of the commandant at a concentration camp, whose forbidden friendship with a Jewish boy on the other side of the camp fence has startling and devastating consequences.

Liverpool Playhouse

Sat 4 Apr

£12.50–£25 / 0151 709 4776

The Lowry, Salford

Thu 16 Apr

£15–£19 / 08432 086000

Sat 18 Apr

£15–£19 / 08432 086000

Malvern Theatres

Wed 11 Mar

Festival Theatre

£10–£24.50 / 01684 892 277

Thu 12 Mar

Festival Theatre

£10–£24.50 / 01684 892 277

Sat 14 Mar

Festival Theatre

£10–£24.50 / 01684 892 277

Also on at:

The Jungle Book (Over 3s)

The wonderful and enchanting tale of The Jungle Book is brought to life in The Colour House Children's Theatre. This show is a must for all the family and is guaranteed to be full of all the fun and excitement.

Colour House Theatre, London SW19

Sat 7 Mar

£10 (£8) / 020 8542 5511

Sun 8 Mar

£10 (£8) / 020 8542 5511

Sat 14 Mar

£10 (£8) / 020 8542 5511

…and 9 more dates until 12 Apr back to top

Dinosaur Zoo

Dinosaurs aren't extinct! They're just hiding out on the other side of the world. Dinosaur Zoo takes its Jurassic creations on tour with an opportunity for children to get right up close.

Birmingham Hippodrome

Fri 13 Mar

£12.50 / 0844 338 5000

Sun 15 Mar

£12.50 / 0844 338 5000

Cliffs Pavilion, Southend-on-Sea

Mon 30 Mar

£13.50–£16.50 / 01702 351135

  • 13:30 – 14:00 Dinosaur Zoo Cliffs Pavilion, Southend-on-Sea

Fairfield Halls, Croydon

Fri 20 Mar

Ashcroft Theatre

£14–£16.50 / 020 8688 9291

Sat 21 Mar

Ashcroft Theatre

£14–£16.50 / 020 8688 9291

Also on at:

Junior Rugby Tots

Start them young on the road to Murrayfield glory at this specifically designed play programme that uses the multiple skills of rugby to create a fun environment where kids can develop basic core motor skills. Ages 2–3.5 years.

Boroughmuir Rugby Club, Edinburgh

Sun 8 Mar

£7.25 / 0131 443 7571

Sun 15 Mar

£7.25 / 0131 443 7571

Sun 22 Mar

£7.25 / 0131 443 7571

Sun 29 Mar

£7.25 / 0131 443 7571

Man at Arms Guided Tour

The Man at Arms tells bloodthirsty tales of siege warfare and castle life, with a selection of medieval weapons to show off.

Dirleton Castle, North Berwick

Sun 5 Apr

Included in admission / 01620 850330

Octonauts and the Deep Sea Volcano Adventure

A deep sea adventure with Captain Barnacles, Kwazii and Peso, in this brand new live stage show.

Alban Arena, St Albans

Wed 13 May

£15.50 / 01727 844488

Thu 14 May

£15.50 / 01727 844488

Bristol Hippodrome

Sat 25 Apr

£16.50 / 0844 847 2325

Sun 26 Apr

£16.50 / 0844 847 2325

Cliffs Pavilion, Southend-on-Sea

Wed 27 May

£16.50 / 01702 351135

Thu 28 May

£16.50 / 01702 351135

Also on at:

…and at 14 other places

ABC, Music and Me

Activities for kids aged 2–5 encompassing music, dance, movement, sound and encouraging hand eye coordination.

St Francis Centre, Glasgow

Mon 9 Mar

Free / 0141 429 0275

Mon 16 Mar

Free / 0141 429 0275

Mon 23 Mar

Free / 0141 429 0275

…and 3 more dates until 13 Apr back to top

The Basil Brush Show

Basil Brush and his human chum Mr Stephen (aka Chris Pizzey) present to you a show jam packed with fun, storytelling and song.

Aberystwyth Arts Centre

Sun 22 Mar

£7–£14 / 01970 623 232

The Apex, Bury St Edmunds

Thu 9 Apr

£14 (£12; £42) / 01284 758000

Aylesbury Waterside Theatre

Thu 13 Aug

£15–£30

Also on at:

…and at 22 other places

Glasgow St Patrick’s Day Festival

Live music, Irish ceili dancing, activities for kids and more at Merchant Square's St Paddy's celebrations.

Merchant Square, Glasgow

Sat 14 Mar

Free / 0141 552 3038

Part of Glasgow St Patrick’s Festival.

Stick Man

  • Directed by: Sally Cookson
  • Written by: Benji Bower (music)

Scamp Theatre bring Julia Donaldson’s popular picture book to life in this engaging family show.

Connaught Theatre, Worthing

Sat 2 May

£8.50 ( £28) / 01903 206206

  • 14:00 Stick Man Connaught Theatre, Worthing

Curve Theatre, Leicester

Mon 18 May

£10–£14 (Children £10–£14 under 6s) / 0116 242 3595

Tue 19 May

£10–£14 (Children £10–£14 under 6s) / 0116 242 3595

Wed 20 May

£10–£14 (Children £10–£14 under 6s) / 0116 242 3595

Thu 21 May

£10–£14 (Children £10–£14 under 6s) / 0116 242 3595

Lincoln Drill Hall

Thu 9 Apr

£11 ( £40) / 01522 873894

Also on at:

Doctor for a Day

Find out what it's like to be a doctor, as you learn to take a pulse, measure blood pressure and make your own stethoscope and doctor's bag.

Museum of the University of St Andrews

Sat 14 Mar

Free / 01334 461660

For ages 3–6

Free / 01334 461660

For ages 7–12

Wee Dub Sunday Social

Laidback Sunday session of good music and Jamaican food, special cocktails, kids reggae disco and kids dub station.

Hemma, Edinburgh

Sun 8 Mar

Free / 0131 629 3327

Part of Wee Dub Festival.

back to top

Beauty & The Beast: Easter Pantomime

An Easter pantomime starring Bobby Davro and Dani Harmer, featuring all the usual magic, music and jokes.

Octagon Theatre, Yeovil

Tue 7 Apr

£19 / 01935 422884

Wed 8 Apr

£19 / 01935 422884

The Pavilion Theatre, Weymouth

Thu 9 Apr

£19 (Children £17 under 16s; £65) / 01305 783225

Danny Champion of the world

Follow the journey of a young English boy, Danny, and his father William, the most exciting Dad a boy has ever had. The pair live in a caravan fixing cars for a living. But his Dad has a secret hobby - poaching pheasants. When Victor Hazell, a local developer, wants to take over the land their garage is on trouble…

Beacon Arts Centre, Greenock

Tue 28 Apr

The Beacon Theatre

£8 / 01475 723723

Disney on Ice: Magical Ice Festival

A colourful and exciting ice show featuring characters from Frozen, Tangled, The Little Mermaid and more.

Aberdeen Exhibition & Conference Centre (AECC)

Thu 12 Mar

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 477 9000

Fri 13 Mar

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 477 9000

Sat 14 Mar

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 477 9000

Sun 15 Mar

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 477 9000

Capital FM Arena, Nottingham

Thu 7 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 412 4624

Fri 8 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 412 4624

Sat 9 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 412 4624

Sun 10 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 412 4624

First Direct Arena, Leeds

Thu 14 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 248 1585

Fri 15 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 248 1585

Sat 16 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 248 1585

Sun 17 May

Prices to be confirmed / 0844 248 1585

Also on at:

Dr Bunhead's Exploding Easter Egg Show

Join Dr Bunhead for some serious Easter action with rainbow foam fountains, an Easter egg explosion and a bunny bazooka.

George Square Lecture Theatre, Edinburgh

Fri 10 Apr

£6 / 0131 651 2189

Part of Edinburgh International Science Festival.

Family Storytime

Interactive storytelling sessions for families with children under 7 years. Advance booking strongly recommended.

Scottish Youth Theatre, Glasgow

Sat 7 Mar

£5; book all five stories and get one free (Family £15; Children under one free) / 0141 552 3988

How The Elephant Got Its Trunk

Sun 8 Mar

£5; book all five stories and get one free (Family £15; Children under one free) / 0141 552 3988

How The Elephant Got Its Trunk

Sat 21 Mar

£5; Book all five stories and get one free (Family £15; Children under one free) / 0141 552 3988

How The Rhino Got Its Skin

…and 6 more dates until 7 Apr back to top