Film, Workshops

18 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Animation Drop In and Weekly Studio

Drop-in animation workshop for ages 12–18.

Central Library, Edinburgh

Fri 6 Mar

Free / 0131 242 8100

Thu 12 Mar

Free / 0131 242 8100

Fri 13 Mar

Free / 0131 242 8100

…and 24 more dates until 5 Jun

Aboyne and Deeside Festival

A small yet diverse festival that offers an eclectic selection of classical, folk and contemporary music, politics, thought, art, drama, literature and film.

Various venues: Aboyne & Deeside

Sat 25 Jul

Times & prices vary / 07799 772316

Sun 26 Jul

Times & prices vary / 07799 772316

Mon 27 Jul

Times & prices vary / 07799 772316

…and 14 more dates until 10 Aug

After 9/11 – Film Theory Course

A six-week course examining cinema that deals explicitly and implicitly with the events of September 11, 2001, and its aftermath.

Hackney Picturehouse, London E8

Mon 16 Mar

Prices to be confirmed / 0871 902 5734

An Introduction to French Cinema

A six-week course led by John Digance, exploring French cinema.

Hackney Picturehouse, London E8

Tue 24 Mar

0871 902 5734

Behind the Scenes: Stop Motion Animation

Make your very own short film using stop motion animation techniques. Ages 8–13.

Polka Theatre, London SW19

Thu 9 Apr

Times & prices to be confirmed / 020 8543 4888

back to top

Big Sunday Dundee WestFest

Big Sunday is Dundee WestFest’s own mini festivalette. Magdalen Green is filled with stalls, children’s rides, art activities, live music, sport tasters, a beer garden and food vendors.

Magdalen Green, Dundee

Sun 7 Jun

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01382 433 647

Contemporary Cinema Course

This beginner's course is ideal for people wishing to broaden their understanding of contemporary cinema. Taught by Dr Nessa Johnston and featuring five films.

Glasgow Film Theatre

Mon 16 Mar

Times to be confirmed / £78 (£65) / 0141 332 6535

Please note this course runs 16 Mar–25 May.

Tue 17 Mar

Times to be confirmed / £78 (£65) / 0141 332 6535

Please note this course runs 16 Mar–25 May.

Wed 18 Mar

Times to be confirmed / £78 (£65) / 0141 332 6535

Please note this course runs 16 Mar–25 May.

…and 68 more dates until 25 May

Counterflows

Counterflows marries the local to the international with artists from around the world collaborating with homegrown talent in spaces across Glasgow.

Various venues: Glasgow

Fri 3 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07939 607934

Sat 4 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07939 607934

Sun 5 Apr

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 07939 607934

Discovery Film Festival

Scotland's international film festival for young audiences (3+) combines the best youth cinema from around the world with a series of creative workshops and events.

Dundee Contemporary Arts

Sat 24 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Sun 25 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Mon 26 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

…and 13 more dates until 8 Nov

Frame by Frame

Do you have a film and want to get it screened? Keen to get involved in making films? Want to meet other filmmakers or just see locally produced films? Then Renfrewshire's Frame by Frame is the place to be.

Paisley Arts Centre

Tue 17 Mar

£2 / 0300 300 1210

Thu 19 Mar

£2 / 0300 300 1210

back to top

Gender Programming

A day-long celebration with fancy dress, photography workshops, scratch performances, dinner, discussions and film screenings. Ages 12+.

Platform, Glasgow

Sat 7 Mar

Times vary / £8 (£3.50–£4.50) / 0141 276 9696

Make Your Mark Visual Arts & Film Class

Classes exploring the work of a range of artists, directors and approaches to film and the visual arts. No previous experience or knowledge is necessary. All materials provided.

The Belmont, Aberdeen

Sun 8 Mar

£70–£85 / 01224 343500

Psychoanalysis and Film

A six week course led by Monika Loewy, which explores psychoanalysis in cinema.

Hackney Picturehouse, London E8

Tue 10 Mar

0871 902 5734

Tue 17 Mar

0871 902 5734

Refugee Festival Scotland

This annual festival of arts and cultural events and activities celebrates the contribution of refugees to our communities and promotes better understanding of why people seek sanctuary.

Various venues: Scotland

Wed 3 Jun

Times & prices vary

Thu 4 Jun

Times & prices vary

Fri 5 Jun

Times & prices vary

…and 16 more dates until 21 Jun

World of Nightmares: A Global History of Horror

A six-week course led by Jonathan Owen, exploring horror films, and their role in different parts of the world.

Hackney Picturehouse, London E8

Thu 9 Apr

0871 902 5734

World of Nightmares Film Theory Course: British Horror

A session exploring Britain's tradition of Gothic and romantic horror films.

Hackney Picturehouse, London E8

Thu 16 Apr

0871 902 5734

World of Nightmares Film Theory Course: Italian Horror

A film course led by Jonathan Owen, which covers aspects of Italian horror.

Hackney Picturehouse, London E8

Thu 23 Apr

Prices to be confirmed / 0871 902 5734

XpoNorth

A two-day cross genre festival devoted to crafts, publishing, screen and broadcast as well as music. There's workshops, masterclasses and conferences during the day, evening showcases of music and film as well as opportunities to network with movers and shakers in the creative industries.

Various venues: Inverness

Wed 10 Jun

Times vary / Free

Thu 11 Jun

Times vary / Free