Film, Workshops

11 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Big Sunday Dundee WestFest

Big Sunday is Dundee WestFest’s own mini festivalette. Magdalen Green is filled with stalls, children’s rides, art activities, live music, sport tasters, a beer garden and food vendors.

Magdalen Green, Dundee

Sun 7 Jun

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01382 433 647

Contemporary Cinema Course

This beginner's course is ideal for people wishing to broaden their understanding of contemporary cinema. Taught by Dr Nessa Johnston and featuring five films.

Glasgow Film Theatre

Sun 26 Apr

Times to be confirmed / £78 (£65) / 0141 332 6535

Please note this course runs 16 Mar–25 May.

Mon 27 Apr

Times to be confirmed / £78 (£65) / 0141 332 6535

Please note this course runs 16 Mar–25 May.

Tue 28 Apr

Times to be confirmed / £78 (£65) / 0141 332 6535

Please note this course runs 16 Mar–25 May.

…and 27 more dates until 25 May

Animation Drop In and Weekly Studio

Drop-in animation workshop for ages 12–18.

Central Library, Edinburgh

Thu 30 Apr

Free / 0131 242 8100

Fri 1 May

Free / 0131 242 8100

Thu 7 May

Free / 0131 242 8100

…and 9 more dates until 5 Jun

Refugee Festival Scotland

This annual festival of arts and cultural events and activities celebrates the contribution of refugees to our communities and promotes better understanding of why people seek sanctuary.

Various venues: Scotland

Wed 3 Jun

Times & prices vary

Thu 4 Jun

Times & prices vary

Fri 5 Jun

Times & prices vary

…and 16 more dates until 21 Jun

The Regal Film Academy

Practical film making course for for beginners, covering everything from story ideas to finding venues to show your film. Work together in groups or by yourself and use the equipment and props to write, shoot and edit your first masterpiece. Ages 15+.

Regal Community Theatre, Bathgate

Sat 2 May

£10 per week; £100 for the full course / 01506 630085

Please note: This course runs 4 Apr–6 Jun.

Sat 9 May

£10 per week; £100 for the full course / 01506 630085

Please note: This course runs 4 Apr–6 Jun.

Sat 16 May

£10 per week; £100 for the full course / 01506 630085

Please note: This course runs 4 Apr–6 Jun.

…and 3 more dates until 6 Jun back to top

Aboyne and Deeside Festival

A small yet diverse festival that offers an eclectic selection of classical, folk and contemporary music, politics, thought, art, drama, literature and film.

Various venues: Aboyne & Deeside

Fri 24 Jul

Times & prices vary / 07799 772316

Sat 25 Jul

Times & prices vary / 07799 772316

Sun 26 Jul

Times & prices vary / 07799 772316

…and 13 more dates until 8 Aug

Discovery Film Festival

Scotland's international film festival for young audiences (3+) combines the best youth cinema from around the world with a series of creative workshops and events.

Dundee Contemporary Arts

Sat 24 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Sun 25 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Mon 26 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

…and 13 more dates until 8 Nov

Filming Drama

Cameraman Jerry Kelly presents a hands-on film workshop. Ages 18+.

An Lanntair Arts Centre and Cinema, Isle of Lewis

Sat 23 May

£28–£35 / 01851 708480

  • 10:00 – 16:00 Filming Drama An Lanntair Arts Centre and Cinema, Isle of Lewis

Scenehouse – Modelmaking Short Course

Theatrical modelmaking workshop.

The Lighthouse Studios, Edinburgh

Fri 17 Jul

£90 per day (for both days £170)

Fri 31 Jul

£90 per day (for both days £170)

Set Design Workshop

TV art director David Wilson leads this workshop on designing and producing sets and props for TV. Ages 18+.

An Lanntair Arts Centre and Cinema, Isle of Lewis

Fri 12 Jun

£28–£35 / 01851 708480

XpoNorth

A two-day cross genre festival devoted to crafts, publishing, screen and broadcast as well as music. There's workshops, masterclasses and conferences during the day, evening showcases of music and film as well as opportunities to network with movers and shakers in the creative industries.

Various venues: Inverness

Wed 10 Jun

Times vary / Free

Thu 11 Jun

Times vary / Free