Afternoon events, Days out, Science

17 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Enlightened! A Walking Tour of Edinburgh's New Town in the Age of Reason

Explore the New Town with Enlightened! walking tours and learn about how clever Edinburgh's people of yore were. Booking is essential.

Dundas House, Edinburgh

Tue 21 Apr

£10 (groups of five or more £8 per person) / 07459 109460

Meet outside.

Tue 28 Apr

£10 (groups of five or more £8 per person) / 07459 109460

Meet outside.

Sun Over the Botanics

The Astronomical Society of Glasgow (if there's a scientific society with a cooler name, we've yet to hear of it) offers you a chance to safely view the surface of the sun.

Glasgow Botanic Gardens

Sun 26 Apr

Free / 0141 276 1614

Alternative Dream Therapy

Installation performance and personalised experience in which Dr Stratus guides audience members through the nonsensical world of dreams. A co-production between NapTrap and Theatre Delicatessen.

Theatre Delicatessen, London EC1R

Sat 25 Apr

£10 (£8)

Sat 2 May

£10 (£8)

Sat 9 May

£10 (£8)

…and 3 more dates until 30 May

Burke's Bones and Other Curiosities from the Anatomy Collections

A glimpse into the University's anatomy collection.

Anatomical Museum, Edinburgh

Sat 16 May

Free

Part of Festival of Museums.

Dr Bunhead's Secret Science Lab

Hair-raising science experiments (okay, demonstrations) from TV's Dr Bunhead.

Pavilion Theatre, Worthing

Fri 24 Jul

£8.50 / 01903 206206

Sat 25 Jul

£8.50 / 01903 206206

back to top

Eat the Sun for Lunch

How does the energy from the sun get inside plants and end up in our bodies? Learn about the amazing science beneath the leaves. Demonstrations and hands-on activities for kids and big kids. Children must have adult supervision. Event supported by International Year of Light – Celebratory Events in Caithness.

Seadrift Visitor Centre, Thurso

Tue 4 Aug

Free / 01847 821531

Expanding The Universe In 45 Minutes

Take poetry to a whole new dimension at this event that mixes images from the Hubble telescope with poetry. Lie on the floor and let the sensations surround you.

The Edge Arts Centre, Much Wenlock

Sat 25 Apr

Sold out / 01952 728911

Finding our 'Most Wanted': The Bugs Count

Take part in the Bug Count Survey and find out why the Harlequin Ladybird is a menace (short answer: it squirts unpleasant-smelling liquid on people and is kind of bitey.) Not for those with an aversion to invertebrates, obviously. Dress appropriately.

Castlemilk Stables, Glasgow

Thu 21 May

Free / 0141 634 2673

GCU Research Day

Talks, meet the expert events and interactive displays for GCU Research Day.

The Arc, Glasgow

Fri 5 Jun

Free / 0141 331 8633

Jessops Academy Live Photography Event

Cameras are demonstrated and tips handed out in this live photography event.

Glasgow Caledonian University

Sat 16 May

£8 / 0141 354 0069

back to top

Lichen Walk and Air Survey

Learn how to monitor air quality by examining what lichens are growing on nearby tress.

Castlemilk Stables, Glasgow

Thu 10 Sep

Free / 0141 420 5010

Rescheduled from Thu 24 Sep.

Dams to Darnley Country Park, Glasgow

Sat 21 Nov

Free / 0141 420 5010

Meet at the World Buffet Carpark, just off Nitshill road.

Mini Professors

Classes tailored for wee scientists ages 2–4, featuring songs, experiments, stories and more.

Basingstoke Discovery Centre

Mon 22 Jun

£6 / 01256 478670

Ministry Of Science Live

Interactive science show exploring the inventors and engineers who have shaped the modern world we live in.

Alban Arena, St Albans

Mon 25 May

£14.50 (Children £12.50 under 16s) / 01727 844488

Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells

Sun 31 May

£12.50 / 01892 530613

Baths Hall, Scunthorpe

Thu 21 May

£12.50–£14.50 / 0844 854 2776

Also on at:

Profeng Lecture, Engineering Video Games and Beyond

Lectures designed to get young people interested in engineering – in this case, engineering video games. Booking is essential.

Glasgow Science Centre

Mon 15 Jun

Free / 0141 420 5000

Rich Soils and Wriggling Worms: The Soil Survey

Take part in the survey to find out what's up with the soil, and learn to identify earthworms. Dress appropriately for outdoor work.

Castlemilk Stables, Glasgow

Thu 18 Jun

Free / 0141 634 2673

Track the Epidemic: The Tree Health Survey

Learn about tree diseases and how to monitor tree health in your area.

Castlemilk Stables, Glasgow

Thu 27 Aug

Free / 0141 634 2673

Dams to Darnley Country Park, Glasgow

Sat 12 Sep

Free

Meet at the World Buffet car park off Nitshill Road.

What's Your Poison?

A look at the history of some rather dangerous substances.

Anatomical Museum, Edinburgh

Fri 15 May

Free

Please note: Tickets are on sale from Mon 20 Apr Part of Festival of Museums.