Days out, Outdoor

7 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Shetland Nature Festival

From puffins to killer whales, otters to Britain's rarest flowers, Shetland is a cornucopia of wildlife, and this festival wants everybody to know it as well as to experience it first hand. This Nature Festival features a series of guided walks, family days out and evening talks.

Various venues: Shetland

Sat 6 Jul

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01595 694688

Sun 7 Jul

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01595 694688

Mon 8 Jul

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01595 694688

…and 6 more dates until 14 Jul

Crieff & Strathearn Drovers' Tryst Walking Festival

Annual celebration of the life, work and play of the people who made Crieff the cattle-droving crossroads of Scotland in the 1700s. The modern day Tryst is a week-long festival in October run by volunteers and built around a programme of guided walks and evening social events.

Various venues: Strathearn & Perthshire

Sat 5 Oct

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01764 650606

Sun 6 Oct

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01764 650606

Mon 7 Oct

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01764 650606

…and 5 more dates until 12 Oct

Dundee Mountain Film Festival

The UK's longest continuous running mountain film festival showcases an international programme of films by local film makers, presentations and book signings by world renowned mountaineers, adventurers and expedition leaders, and art and photography exhibitions. The 2018 programme features Benedict Allen, leading…

Bonar Hall, Dundee

Thu 28 Nov

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01382 434940

Fri 29 Nov

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01382 434940

Sat 30 Nov

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01382 434940

Highland Archaeology Festival

A fortnight of investigations into Scotland's ancient past, including walks, practical demonstrations, family events, self-guided trails, insights into recent research, historical talks, and plenty of chances for visitors to get their hands dirty exploring what lies beneath this famous landscape.

Various venues: Highlands

Sat 28 Sep

Times & prices to be confirmed

Sun 29 Sep

Times & prices to be confirmed

Mon 30 Sep

Times & prices to be confirmed

…and 18 more dates until 18 Oct

Midlothian Outdoor Festival

Previously known as the Midlothian Walking Festival, this event has now grown into a larger and broader celebration of activities from the outdoor world. A range of goings-on take place over the nine days of this festival, including guided walks, talks, wildlife watching, downhill snow sports, and cycling through the…

Various venues: Midlothian

Sat 10 Aug

Times & prices to be confirmed

Booking is essential.

Sun 11 Aug

Times & prices to be confirmed

Booking is essential.

Mon 12 Aug

Times & prices to be confirmed

Booking is essential.

…and 6 more dates until 18 Aug

Scottish Borders Walking Festival

The Scottish Borders has some of the most breathtaking scenery in the UK. The Scottish Borders Walking Festival, the oldest established walking festival in Scotland, has a reputation for being one of the friendliest walking festivals of the year. The 2019 festival is hosted by Selkirk and the Ettrick and Yarrow Valleys.

Victoria Halls, Selkirk

Sat 7 Sep

Times to be confirmed / £3–£8

Sun 8 Sep

Times to be confirmed / £3–£8

Mon 9 Sep

Times to be confirmed / £3–£8

…and 5 more dates until 14 Sep

Tweed Valley Forest Festival

A celebration of the rich woodland culture of the Borders in a variety of locations around the beautiful Tweed Valley. The 2019 event will again feature the Peebles wood market, the Scottish conker championships, Carvefest, woodland walks, activities and much more.

Tweed Valley Forest Park, Glentress

Sat 19 Oct

Times & prices to be confirmed / 07801 308991

Sun 20 Oct

Times & prices to be confirmed / 07801 308991