Books

1,317 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Predictably Irrational

Bernard Ross Why do we still have a headache after taking a 1p aspirin which disappears when we take a 50p one? And why are we attracted to a 2for1 meal discount but fail to save for a pension? Most of the time we think we’re making rational decisions. But are we really? Don't miss this entertaining mix of stand-up and…

theSpace @ Surgeons Hall, Edinburgh

Fri 2 Aug

Theatre 3

£10 (£5) / 0845 508 8515

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Sat 3 Aug

Theatre 3

£10 (£5) / 0845 508 8515

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Sun 4 Aug

Theatre 3

£10 (£5) / 0845 508 8515

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

…and 12 more dates until 17 Aug

Revisiting Classic Children's Stories: Lou Kuenzler & Sophie Mckenzie (Single Event Ticket)

Childrens authors Sophie McKenzie and Lou Kuenzler share their experiences of unlocking ways to create fresh tellings of classics they loved as children. The event will include readings from Sophies Becoming Jo, inspired by Little Women, and Lous Finding Black Beauty/The Return Of The Railway Children. There will also be…

Queen's Park, London NW6

Sun 30 Jun

£5

Royal National Mòd

The Royal National Mòd is Scotland’s premier Gaelic festival and is famous for celebrating our Gaelic linguistic and cultural heritage. In 2019, the festival takes its celebration to the city of Glasgow.

Various venues: Glasgow

Fri 11 Oct

Times & prices to be confirmed

Sat 12 Oct

Times & prices to be confirmed

Sun 13 Oct

Times & prices to be confirmed

…and 6 more dates until 19 Oct

Sara Sheridan

Presented by Speaker Buzz. Feminist, activist, author, perfumer and journalist – Sara has many fascinating strings to her bow. The Edinburgh-based writer has a particular passion for talking about telling the story of forgotten women in history, women’s rights, feminism, diversity and the history of the British lady.

The Lighthouse Spiegeltent, North Berwick

Tue 6 Aug

£10

Part of Fringe by the Sea.

Sarah Jane Douglas - Just Another Mountain

Artist, Munroist and blogger Sarah Jane Douglas will be here to talk about her powerful, beautifully written memoir Just Another Mountain. Everybody is welcome, and the event is free.

Waterstones, Inverness

Thu 27 Jun

Free / 0843 290 8405

Saturday Morning Storytime: Somebody Swallowed Stanley

Join us on Saturday, July 6th @ 11am in the Children's section where we will be reading "Somebody swallowed Stanley" by Sarah Roberts and Hannah Peck, the perfect book to introduce children to the issue of plastic in our oceans. "Plastic bags don't belong in the sea!" Everybody has a taste for Stanley - and the other…

Waterstones, Belfast

Sat 6 Jul

Free / 028 9024 0159

Saturday Storytime - Hotel Flamingo Holiday Heatwave

Anna and her animal friends are excited to hear King Penguin is to stay at Hotel Flamingo, but there is a heatwave and the ice is running out! How will they keep the penguins cool?

Waterstones West End, Edinburgh

Sat 29 Jun

Free / 0131 226 2666

Sci-Fi And Fantasy Book Group

Join us as we read *The Loosening Skin * by Aliya Whiteley in July. Copies will be available behind the ground floor tills. We'll be meeting at 6pm in the cafe or in the basement. For any questions you may have, please contact us at events.edinburghwestend@waterstones.com Looking forward to seeing you all!

Waterstones West End, Edinburgh

Wed 31 Jul

Free / 0131 226 2666

Simon Thomas In Conversation

Former Sky Sports and Blue Peter presenter Simon Thomas will be in conversation about his new book 'Love Interrupted: Navigating Grief One day At a Time' with Francesca Perryman. *Love, Interrupted *tells the story of a man deeply traumatised by the death of his soul mate. It asks some hard questions about how you…

Waterstones Broad Street, Reading

Wed 26 Jun

£4.00 general admission / 0118 958 1270

Sir Chris Bonington: Life & Times

Sir Chris Bonington – Life & Times Presented by Speakers from the Edge Sir Chris Bonington is Britain's best known mountaineer and one of the most successful expedition leaders in history. He began climbing at the age of 16 and has undertaken 19 Himalayan expeditions, including four to Everest. He is renowned for…

Music Hall, Aberdeen

Wed 4 Dec

£20 / 01224 641122

Storytelling

Join us every Friday morning at 10am as we read from some of our fantastic selection of picture books. Enjoy well loved classic tales or discover something new!

Waterstones, Romford

Fri 12 Jul

Free / 01708 747482

Storytime

Join our lovely bookshop storyteller upstairs in the cafe on Tuesday mornings for stories, colouring and activities galore! The first storytime session will be on the 25th of June, and we will be reading Six Dinner Sid so come and join the fun!

Waterstones, Hastings

Tue 25 Jun

Free / 01424 722253

Strange Tales from the Darker Side

Prepare yourself for an evening of unusual tales from the darker side, illusion and mind-reading mysteries as well as a little bit of audience participation. Held in the Dining Room of Newton House, it is a perfect setting for an evening that will send shivers down your spine.

National Trust: Dinefwr Park & Castle, Llandeilo

Fri 18 Oct

£15 Booking essential / 01558 824512

Sunday 30th June Day Pass (All Day Pass)

SUNDAY 30th JUNE SCHEDULE12:30pmThat Difficult First Novel - Deirdre Shanahan, Yvonne Bailey Smith, Penny Faith *Free Event2:00pmThe Music of What Happens Seamus Heaney at 80 - Catherine Heaney, Martin Rosenbaum, Adam LowSimon Mayo in conversation with Shyama Perera - Simon Mayo, Shyama PereraModern Life is Rubbish!…

Queen's Park, London NW6

Sun 30 Jun

£18

Superhero Activities

Design your own Superhero badge, have a go at code cracking, find your Superhero name, and draw a super-cool comic strip!

Waterstones West End, Edinburgh

Sat 6 Jul

Free / 0131 226 2666

Taste The Rainbow!

To mark the 3rd year of Fife Pride, ON Fife libraries are proud to bring you a multi-coloured extravaganza of an event. Join us at Tiffany's Lounge in Dunfermline's Carnegie Hall on Tuesday 2nd July from 7pm where you'll be greeted by the Drag sensation that is April. You'll laugh, you'll listen to brilliant book…

Carnegie Hall, Dunfermline

Tue 2 Jul

£15 (£12.50; Children £12.50) / 01383 602302

Tidelines Book Festival

Largs-based book festival with a great little line-up of events for kids and adults alike.

Harbour Arts Centre, Irvine

Thu 26 Sep

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01294 274059

Fri 27 Sep

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01294 274059

Sat 28 Sep

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01294 274059

Sun 29 Sep

Times & prices to be confirmed / 01294 274059

TYNTEfest 2019: Beatrix Potter tales

In celebration of National Playday, TYNTEfest is a day for 2-5 year olds and their families.

Tyntesfield, Bristol

Wed 7 Aug

Free Booking essential (Children £9 Booking essential)

Thu 8 Aug

Free Booking essential (Children £9 Booking essential)

Walking The Dark Streets Of Crime With Joseph Knox And A. A. Dhand

Brace yourselves for a stroll down the darkest alleys of crime fiction. Joseph Knox and A. A. Dhand, two acclaimed and bestselling contemporary writers of urban noir, discuss how location influences their work and the development of their continuing broken hero characters, CI Virdee and Aidan Waits while writing in a…

Waterstones High Street, Birmingham

Tue 16 Jul

£3 / 0121 633 4353

Writing Children's Fiction with Ally Sherrick

Introductory workshop on writing for children and young people with author Ally Sherrick.

Guildford Library

Wed 26 Jun

£25 (£20) / 01273 735353

1.5 Degrees Live!

The 2018 IPCC Report on the impacts of global warming of above 1.5 degrees is the most important climate report in history. We don’t have much time. The clock is ticking. This is 1.5 Degrees Live! Find out what all the fuss is about. This is the live, five-day reading of this fascinating and devastating climate report.

Greenside @ Infirmary Street, Edinburgh

…and 2 more dates until 16 Aug

300 Words Competition Final For Under 16S

300 Words Competition for under 16sWith compere Elaine BakerHear all 9 winners of this years 300 Words competition as they share their work in front of a live audience. Prizes will be awarded to the three winners in each of our three categories: 8 under, 9 - 12, 13 - 15, together with a prize for the overall winner, who…

Wantage Methodist Church

Sun 27 Oct

£3–£6

4 BROWN GIRLS WHO WRITE

4 BROWN GIRLS WHO WRITE Presents The Poetry Phamily A poetic celebration of the freshest new voices bursting onto the spoken word scene exploring sex, love, language, gender and race. Following the sell-out release of their debut poetry collection, 4 Brown Girls Who Write are raw, bold and entertaining, performing…

Old Tolbooth Market, Edinburgh

Wed 31 Jul

Bothy

£5

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Thu 1 Aug

Bothy

£5

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Fri 2 Aug

Bothy

£5

Part of Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

…and 2 more dates until 4 Aug

9 -12 & Ya Summer Reading Challenge Launch

IT'S NEARLY THE SUMMER HOLIDAYS! A time to relax, stay up late, spend time with your family and friends and FINALLY get round to reading all those books you meant to read during the school year but didn't have time for. Join us from 6.15pm-7pm as we launch our summer reading challenge. It doesn't matter if you want to…

Waterstones, Glasgow

Thu 27 Jun

Free / 0141 616 3933

9-12 Years Book Club

This month we will be discussing 'The Umbrella Mouse' by Anna Fargher, perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Gill Lewis. Once we have finished talking about the book there will be an activity relating to 'The Umbrella Mouse' to do! Refreshments are provided

Waterstones, Boston

Sun 21 Jul

Free / 01205 360002