BBC SSO: The Lark Ascending & Vaughan Williams Symphonies

This listing is from a previous year.  Search for current listings.

Andrew Manze as conductor brings together two of Vaughan Williams' greatest works, the dissonant and troubled Symphony No 4 and the serene and tranquil Symphony No 5, along with undoubtedly the composer's most famous work: The Lark Ascending. The soloist is the outstanding young violinist Jennifer Pike, who kicks it all off on her own with JS Bach's Sonata No 1 for unaccompanied violin BWV 1001.

Jump to videos or comments

Performance times

We have no details of upcoming performances, if you do please let us know.

BBC: Andrew Manze on Vaughan Williams

Comments & ratings

Post a comment