Belcea Quartet & Pavel Haas Quartet

Two quartets join forces for performances of Haydn's Quartet Op. 33 No 5, Shostakovich's Quartet No 8 in C Minor Op. 110 and Mendelssohn's Octet in E flat Op. 20.

Belcea Quartet & Pavel Haas Quartet

credit: Marco Borggreve

HAYDN Quartet in G, Op 33 No 5 [BSQ] SHOSTAKOVICH Quartet No 8 in Cm, Op 110 [PHQ] MENDELSSOHN Octet in E-flat, Op 20

Belcea String Quartet Pavel Haas Quartet

Playing together for the first and only time, these two wonderful quartets form an octet for music that offers more joy per second than any other we know. Before it, two different and powerful masterpieces: Haydn’s life-affirming joy contrasting with Shostakovich’s profound tragedy.

Text supplied by third party.

Performance times

Bowhouse, St Monans

Bowhouse Farm, St Monans, Fife, KY10 2DB

Sat 29 Jun

£18–£25 (ages 7–17 £5) / 01333 720200

Post a comment