Roman Rabinovich returns to Scotland to make his RSNO debut

Roman Rabinovich returns to Scotland to make his RSNO debut

credit: Balazs Borocz Pilvax

US-based pianist appeals to younger audiences by sharing what he loves

A hit at last year's Lammermuir Festival, the young US-based pianist Roman Rabinovich is causing quite a stir on the international piano circuit. He returns to Scotland to make his debut with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra in Edinburgh and Glasgow in October. Born in Uzbekistan and first taught piano by his mother at age six, Rabinovich is not only a pianist – with the honour of being one of the first three young pianists of outstanding promise to be championed by Sir András Schiff in his Building Bridges series – but also a composer and highly talented visual artist, often creating artwork to illustrate what he is doing musically.

'For me,' he says, 'playing the piano, composing and visual art come from the same creative impulse. There are many parallels between the two art forms and one informs the other. There are colours and sense of line in music and there are tonalities and structure in painting.'

Much of his artwork is created on an iPad, which he also uses in place of a conventional printed score if not performing from memory. Combined with his talent across multiple art forms, Rabinovich is particularly appealing to younger generation audiences.

Thinking about the exuberance of Mendelssohn's 'Piano Concerto No 1', which he plays with the RSNO and conductor Sir Roger Norrington, Rabinovich says, 'Composing helps me to understand how great composers created their masterpieces and keeps my performing life fresh. It is ultimately about self-expression and wanting to communicate and share what I love.'

Usher Hall, Edinburgh, Fri 21 Oct; Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, Sat 22 Oct

RSNO: Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No1

Poet, lover, dreamer, radical: Robert Schumann was the ultimate Romantic. So we’re thrilled to welcome Sir Roger Norrington, a conductor who’s devoted his career to making this music sound fresh, passionate and new. He’s going to conduct all four of Schumann’s symphonies across two Seasons: tonight, the joyous fanfares of…

Post a comment