Nominees announced for the 2017 Scottish Alternative Music Awards

Nominees announced for the 2017 Scottish Alternative Music Awards

The Van T's

Shortlisted acts include The Van T's, Sam Gellaitry, Shogun and Siobhan Wilson.

Since 2009, the Scottish Alternative Music Awards have done much to shine a spotlight on the best emerging talent in the Scottish music scene, playing a significant role in the careers of a number of bands and artists over the years.

Now in its eighth year, the nominees for the 2017 awards have been announced, with shortlisted acts including grime superstar Shogun, Glasgow DJ duo Illyus & Barrientos and indie-folk singer-songwriter Siobhan Wilson. In the run up to the 2017 awards, the SAMAs have spent the year popping up all over Scotland at events such as Xpo North with The Ninth Wave, and Paisley's Sma' Shot festival with Rachel Sermanni.

This year's ceremony, taking place at The Garage, is set to be the biggest yet with Jim Gellatly, Vic Galloway and Laura Boyd announced as special guest hosts and disco-punk outfit WHITE, electro-pop trio BooHooHoo and psych-rock band Holy Mountain set to perform live. Past winners include Be Charlotte, Gerry Cinnamon and Colonel Mustard & The Dijon 5.

Founder Richy Muirhead said: 'The 28 shortlisted acts represent the diversity and high quality of music in Scotland right now. I feel there is something on the list for everyone from grime to electro, rock and more. The SAMAs are designed to allow the audience to discover new music, and this list does exactly that. Members of the music industry formed the shortlist, now the public can have their say in a short vote in October – the team and I are excited for the ceremony in three weeks!'

The winners will be announced at the ceremony on Thu 12 Oct. Tickets are available now.

The full nominees for 2017:

Best Rock/Alternative
Pure Grief
Medicine Men

Best Newcomer
Jutland Songs

Best Hip Hop
Kid Robotik
Asthmatic Astronaut

Best Electronic
Illyus & Barrientos
Sam Gellaitry
Golden Teacher

Best Acoustic
Siobhan Wilson
Callum Beattie
Gus Harrower
Lewis Capaldi

Best Live Act
Indigo Velvet
The Van T's
Oskar Braves

Best Metal
Sithu Aye

Scottish Alternative Music Awards

A celebration of underground Scottish music, with seven unique music awards and live music performances.