Shrek The Musical announces casting ahead of Edinburgh Playhouse run, tickets on sale now

Shrek The Musical announces casting ahead of Edinburgh Playhouse run, tickets on sale now

Laura Main plays Princess Fiona in the upcoming run of Shrek The Musical

Classic Ogre tale comes to Scotland over the festive period, from Tue 12 Dec to Sun 7 Jan

Shrek the Musical has announced casting for the upcoming UK tour, tickets for which are on sale now.

After the huge success of the first run, the hit musical is back, touring the country throughout 2018. First of all, though, there's a festive run at Edinburgh Playhouse from Tue 12 Dec to Sun 7 Jan.

Aberdeen-born Laura Main, who plays Shelagh Turner in hit TV show Call The Midwife, is taking on the role of Princess Fiona, with Welsh actor Steffan Harri returning as the loveable ogre Shrek, who has his world turned upside down when fairytale creatures disturb the peace and solitude at his swamp.

Marcus Ayton will play the role of Shrek's donkey sidekick, while Samuel Holmes plays the villain of the piece, the diminutive and dastardly Lord Farquaad.

The show opens at Edinburgh Playhouse on Tue 12 Dec, before playing across the UK throughout 2018.

Shrek The Musical Tour Dates 2017/18:
Tue 12 Dec - Sun 7 Jan – Edinburgh Playhouse
Tue 16 Jan - Sun 28 Jan – Palace Theatre, Manchester
Wed 31 Jan - Sun 11 Feb – Empire Theatre, Sunderland
Wed 14 Feb - Sun 25 Feb – New Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham
Wed 2 May - Sun 13 May – Regent Theatre, Stoke-on-Trent
Wed 30 May - Sun 10 Jun – New Victoria Theatre, Woking
Tue 12 Jun - Sun 24 Jun – Liverpool Empire
Wed 25 Jul - Sun 5 Aug – Milton Keynes Theatre
Wed 8 Aug - Sun 19 Aug – Hippodrome Theatre, Bristol

Tickets for Shrek The Musical are on sale now.

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the information displayed here is accurate, always check with the venue before attending (especially during the Covid-19 pandemic).

Shrek the Musical

  • Directed by: Nigel Harman
  • Written by: David Lindsay-Abaire (lyrics)

An all-singing, all-dancing stage version of the popular films, packed with laughs and the odd tear.

ADC Theatre, Cambridge

Tue 1 Jun

£13–£52 (£11–£44) / 01223 300085

Wed 2 Jun

£13–£52 (£11–£44) / 01223 300085

Thu 3 Jun

£13–£52 (£11–£44) / 01223 300085

…and 7 more dates until 12 Jun

De Warenne Academy, Conisbrough

Wed 7 Jul

£4 / 01709 864001

Thu 8 Jul

£4 / 01709 864001

Fri 9 Jul

£4 / 01709 864001

Sat 10 Jul

£4 / 01709 864001

The Forum Theatre, Stockport

Wed 22 Sep

£15–£18 / 0844 8773377

Thu 23 Sep

£15–£18 / 0844 8773377

Fri 24 Sep

£15–£18 / 0844 8773377

Sat 25 Sep

£15–£18 / 0844 8773377

Also at: