SAY Award 2017 shortlist announced

SAY Award 2017 shortlist announced

2016 SAY Award winner Anna Meredith

Find out the ten albums now vying for the top spot

This year's SAY Award shortlist has been announced. Of the 10 albums in contention, half are from previous nominees: C Duncan, Honeyblood, Meursault, Mogwai and RM Hubbert (who won in 2013 for Thirteen Lost & Found).

Since March, 300 public submissions have been whittled down to a longlist of 20, chosen by a panel of 100 'impartial nominators'. The final 10 comprise nine albums selected by an independent panel of judges, and one from a 72-hour online vote. This year's public vote was won by Pictish Trail.

The overall winner – who will take home a prize of £20,000 – will be announced on 28 June at a ceremony in Paisley Town Hall (itself in competition to become UK City of Culture 2021).

Previous winners of the annual prize include Anna Meredith (2016), Kathryn Joseph (2015) and Young Fathers (2013).

SAY Award 2017 shortlist:
C Duncan, The Midnight Sun
Ela Orleans, Circles Of Upper And Lower Hell
Honeyblood, Babes Never Die
Konx-om-Pax, Caramel
Meursault, I Will Kill Again
Mogwai, Atomic
Pictish Trail, Future Echoes
Rachel Newton, Here's My Heart Come Take It
RM Hubbert, Telling The Trees
Sacred Paws, Strike A Match

This year's winner will be announced at a ceremony at Paisley Town Hall on Wed 28 June.

SAY Award 2017

Announcement of the winner of the 2017 Scottish Album of the Year Award in the surroundings of Paisley's Town Hall.

Post a comment