Ed Sheeran joins The O2's 10th birthday shows lineup

Chart-topping singer adds an extra date to his mostly sold-out upcoming tour

Ed Sheeran

Despite many of his upcoming UK tour dates already being sold out, there's some good news for fans of Ed Sheeran who may have missed out on tickets. Ed has just announced that he'll be taking part in the O2's 10th Birthday celebrations, performing at the London venue on Thu 22 Jun.

Sheeran's popularity has sky-rocketed in recent years, especially since becoming a bona fide member of Taylor Swift's (in)famous squad. Being besties with Taylor sure does have its advantages but don't worry guys, they're DEFINITELY not dating, as Ed has insisted multiple times, calling such tabloid speculation 'lazy journalism'. Glad he cleared that up.

It may be true that the champion of feminism that is Taylor Swift has had a lot to do with his rapid rise to international stardom but Ed has been quietly winning over audiences in the UK since the release of his debut album + (pronounced 'plus' in case you weren't sure) and 2014 follow-up x (or 'multiply' for those not cool enough to be in the know). And now the singer-songwriter / occasional rapper / one-time Rasta virtuoso is dominating the charts, with his new album ÷ ('divide'... there's definitely a theme here), which has already sold an unprecedented number of copies. To further add to all the Sheeran-related excitement, it's been announced that Ed will be popping up in Westeros for a cameo in the next series of Game of Thrones.

Jamiroquai, alt-J and Céline Dion have also already been confirmed to take part in the O2 10th Birthday series, with Jamiroquai playing two dates on 23 and 24 Jun, alt-J making an appearance on 16 Jun and Céline Dion performing on 20 and 21 Jun, with extra dates added for 29 and 30 Jul. But don't hang around if you're wanting to see Ed – tickets go on sale today at 5pm and are expected to sell out fast.

Ed Sheeran tour dates:
Tue 28 Mar – Royal Albert Hall, London, Teenage Cancer Trust series (SOLD OUT)
Wed 12 April – 3 Arena, Dublin
Thu 13 April – 3 Arena, Dublin
Sun 16 April – SSE Hydro, Glasgow (SOLD OUT)
Mon 17 April – SSE Hydro, Glasgow (SOLD OUT)
Wed 19 April – Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle
Thu 20 April – Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle
Sat 22 April – Manchester Arena (SOLD OUT)
Sun 23 April – Manchester Arena (SOLD OUT)
Tue 25 April – Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham (SOLD OUT)
Wed 26 April – Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham (SOLD OUT)
Fri 28 April – Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham
Sat 29 April – Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham
Mon 1 May – The O2, London (SOLD OUT)
Tue 2 May – The O2, London (SOLD OUT)
Wed 3 May – The O2, London (extra date) (SOLD OUT)
Thu 22 Jun – The O2, 10th Anniversary Show

Tickets for The O2 10th Birthday show go on sale on Mon 13 Mar at 5pm.

Ed Sheeran

Folky rapping singer-songwriter on the block, mooning over girls and stuff, such as on the big hit 'The A-Team'.

Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham

Fri 28 Apr

£44.80–£77.80 / 0871 945 6000

Sat 29 Apr

£44.80–£77.80 / 0871 945 6000

Manchester Arena

Sat 22 Apr

Sold out / 0844 847 8000

Sun 23 Apr

Sold out / 0844 847 8000

Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle upon Tyne

Wed 19 Apr

£44–£77 / 0844 493 6666

Thu 20 Apr

£44–£77 / 0844 493 6666

Also on at: