Coldplay to release EP in 2017

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 22 November 2016


Coldplay have confirmed they will release new music in 2017 - an EP called 'Kaleidoscope'

Coldplay are to release new music in 2017.

The 'Everglow' hitmakers - made up of Chris Martin, Jonny Buckland, Guy Berryman and Will Champion - have confirmed they are working on new tunes at the moment for an EP which will be called 'Kaleidoscope'.

A tweet on the group's official Twitter account read: "Hello everyone, we're working on some new songs for next year. It's called the Kaleidoscope ep. We hope you're well, love cm #KaleidoscopeEP (sic)"

The band's last record was seventh studio album 'A Headful Of Dreams', which was released in December 2015, and some suggested it could be their last one after frontman Chris hinted the record might be their swansong.

He previously said: "It's our seventh thing, and the way we look at it, it's like the last 'Harry Potter' book or something like that.

"Not to say that there might not be another thing one day, but this is the completion of something.

"I have to think of it as the final thing we're doing. Otherwise we wouldn't put everything into it."

Coldplay are no stranger to putting out EPs as they released a hat-trick of such records in the late 1990s before they shot to fame.

The band dropped EP 'Safety' in 1998, followed by 'Brothers & Sisters' a year later and 'The Blue Room' in the same year.

But they rose to prominence in 2000 with 'Shiver', the first single from their debut album 'Parachutes' which became their first top 40 hit.

In June that year they dropped their breakthrough single 'Yellow', which reached number four in the UK Singles Chart, and haven't looked back since.

Post a comment