Daryl Hall wants paying by The xx for Hall and Oates sample

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 11 November 2016
Daryl Hall

Daryl Hall

Daryl Hall has no issue with The xx sampling Hall & Oates sampling their hit as long as he receives a cheque

Daryl Hall doesn't mind The xx sampling Hall & Oates if they "pay" him royalties.

The 70-year-old singer was quite happy for the 'Angels' group - comprised of Romy Madley Croft, Oliver Sim and Jamie xx - to use the American rockers' 1981 hit 'I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)' on their comeback single 'On Hold' as he likes to hear other people's interpretation of his songs, but he will want some money for it.

He told website Genius.com: "It's always interesting to hear what somebody does with my songs. After a song is written, it belongs to the world and can be interpreted anyway they want. As long as I get paid, of course. Have fun and pay me."

'On Hold' is the lead single from The xx's new album 'I See You', which is released on January 13, 2017.

Announcing the record, they said: "We know these are uncertain times and we hope the joy & love we found making the record will get out into the world, in however small a way."

Their third studio album is the follow-up to 2012's 'Coexist'.

The xx teased the record by sharing a playlist of music they'd been listening to in a bid to get inspired.

Tracks they'd chosen to share included Aretha Franklin's 'Day Dreaming', Solange's 'Weary', Drake's 'With You', Frank Ocean's 'Ivy' and Radiohead's 'Ful Stop'.

Meanwhile, they also announced their first tour in two years, which takes place in November and December in Eastern Europe and Japan.

The xx's 'I See You' tracklisting:

01. 'Dangerous'

02. 'Say Something Loving'

03. 'Lips'

04. 'A Violent Noise'

05. 'Performance'

06. 'Replica'

07. 'Brave For You'

08. 'On Hold'

09. 'I Dare You'

10. 'Test Me'

11. 'Naive' (Bonus Track)

12. 'Seasons Run' (Bonus Track)

13. 'Brave For You' (Marfa Demo) (Bonus Track)

Post a comment