Jess Glynne wins big at ASCAP Awards

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 11 November 2016
Jess Glynne

Jess Glynne

Jess Glynne was a bigger winner at this year's ASCAP Awards taking home the Vanguard Award and EDM Song prize

Jess Glynne was honoured with two awards at the 2016 American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers Awards.

The 27-year-old singer took home the prestigious Vanguard Award and best EDM Song for her smash hit 'Hold My Hand' at the star-studded bash held at London's One Embankment on Thursday night (10.11.16).

MNEK was also the recipient of the Vanguard accolade.

80s pop legends Duran Duran took home the biggest honour of the night, the Golden Note Award, which recognises artists who have achieved an extraordinary career milestone.

ASCAP president Paul Williams presented the award to Simon Le Bon, Nick Rhodes and Roger Taylor.

Speaking on stage, he said: "In addition to their brilliant songwriting, Duran Duran have continued to innovate across the board."

And prolific songwriter Amy Wadge also received two prizes on the night, Song of the Year and Top Digital Song for 'Thinking Out Loud', which she co-wrote with Ed Sheeran.

Coldplay's 'A Sky Full of Stars' was among those named for the EDM Winning Songs along with Years & Years' 'King'.

And in the Hot 100 Winning Songs category Sir Paul McCartney, Kanye West and Rihanna's 'FourFiveSeconds' and Ella Henderson's 'Ghost' were winners.

The full list of ASCAP Awards 2016 winners this year is as follows:

ASCAP Golden Note Award - Duran Duran

ASCAP Vanguard Award - Jess Glynne

ASCAP Vanguard Award - MNEK

ASCAP Global Impact Award - Anthony Hannides, Michael Hannides, Levi Lennox, Joe Garrett ('Pillowtalk' by Zayn Malik)

ASCAP Song of the Year - Amy Wadge ('Thinking Out Loud' by Ed Sheeran)

ASCAP Top Digital Song - Amy Wadge ('Thinking Out Loud' by Ed Sheeran)

ASCAP Top EDM Song - James Newman ('Blame' by Calvin Harris ft. John Newman)

ASCAP Film Score of the Year - Patrick Doyle (Cinderella)

ASCAP EDM Song Award - Jess Glynne ('Hold My Hand')

ASCAP Hot 100 Winning Songs

Thomas William Raybould ('The Hills' by The Weeknd)

Lloyd Oliver Wills, Everton Bonner ('Post To Be' by Omarion ft. Chris Brown & Jhene Aiko)

Sir Paul McCartney ('FourFiveSeconds' by Rihanna, Kanye West & Paul McCartney)

Joel Pott ('Budapest' by George Ezra)

Ella Henderson ('Ghost' by Ella Henderson)

ASCAP EDM Winning Songs

Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion ('A Sky Full of Stars' by Coldplay)

Olly Alexander, Mikey Goldsworthy, Emre Turkmen ('King' by Years And Years)

Marli Harwood ('Stole The Show' by Kygo ft. Parson James)

Philip Bentley ('Secrets' by Tiësto & KSHMR ft. Vassy)

ASCAP Top Film Music Awards

Lorne Balfe ('Home' (2015), 'Terminator Genisys')

Daniel Pemberton ('The Man From U.N.C.L.E')

Martin Phipps ('Woman In Gold')

Ben Salisbury, Geoff Barrow ('Ex Machina')

ASCAP Top Television Series Awards

Julian Gingell, Barry Stone ('American Idol' (Fox))

Daniel McGrath, Josh Phillips ('Dancing With The Stars' (ABC))

John Lunn ('Downtown Abbey' (PBS))

Post a comment