Green Day to headline Download Festival France

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 10 November 2016
Green Day

Green Day

Green Day will join Linkin Park, System of a Down and Blink-182 at next year's Download Festival France

Green Day are to play next year's Download Festival France.

The 'Boulevard Of Broken Dreams' hitmakers will join already-announced acts Linkin Park, System of a Down and Blink-182 at the annual music event, held in Paris from June 9 until June 11.

The band, which is comprised of Billie Joe Armstrong, Tré Cool and Mike Dirnt, will take to the stage on the final day Sunday 11, just after Prophets of Rage rock the arena, but it's not yet known if they're planning to jet across to the UK beforehand to play at the British version as well - like the System of a Down are.

The UK version of the festival, which is held on the same three days at Donington Park, Leicestershire, will see Aerosmith, Biffy Clyro and System of a Down headline, with the 'Toxicity' hitmakers closing the first night on Friday, June 9.

The band, who will be headlining for the second time after heading up the main stage in 2011, said: "It'll have been a couple of years since our memorable 'Wake Up The Souls' show at Wembley, so returning to the UK to headline Download, a festival we always love to play, is really exciting for us.

"The energy and atmosphere there is always electric."

The line up for the UK version of Download also sees Rob Zombie, Slayer, Five Finger Death Punch, Of Mice & Men, Fozzy, Sleeping With Sirens, Simple Plan, Every Time I Die, The Story So Far, Motionless In White and AFI performing.

However, organisers of the Parisian version are yet to release any more details - including the acts - on their event.

Post a comment