Best circus shows touring the UK, from Chinese State Circus to Cirque Berserk

This article is from 2016.

Best circus shows touring the UK, from Chinese State Circus to Cirque Berserk

Shaolin Warriors, Chinese State Circus

We round-up the best shows that will make you want to run away and join the circus

The circus is coming to town. Well, a lot of different circuses are coming to a lot of different towns, actually, and we've picked out some of the best, which have everything from motorcycle stunts to aerial acrobatics.

Chinese State Circus Dynasty
30 world-class Chinese acrobats, aerial artists, and jugglers make up the internationally-acclaimed Chinese State Circus troupe. Their latest show, Dynasty, features acrobatics in its purest form: no gimmicks or tricks, just supreme physical skill and a mastery of martial arts, as acrobats, aerial artists, and jugglers interact with the legendary Shaolin Warriors.
Chinese State Circus, touring the UK until Dec 2016.

Planet Circus
If you like motorbike stunts, clowns and aerial antics, this is the show for you. This family circus specialises in stunt action. The starring act is Team Brazil in the Splitting Globe of Death, which features eight motorcyclists zooming around inside a steel cage at over 60mph.
Planet Circus, Circus Site, Nottingham, Tue 8–Sun 20 Nov.

Moscow State Circus: 7 Zhelaniy
The internationally-acclaimed troupe presents a new show, based on the Russian folklore story of Cvetik-Semicvetik, or 'the flower with seven colours'. Acts include a 13-person springboard troupe, a high wire ballerina and performative rollerskaters.
Moscow State Circus, StarCity, Birmingham, Tue 20 Dec–Sun 8 Jan 2017.

Cirque Berserk
This large-scale family circus show has it all: aerialists, acrobats, dancers, musicians, jugglers and stuntmen. Look out for Hercules the strongman and Tweedy the clown.
Cirque Berserk, touring until Mar 2017.

Chinese State Circus: Dynasty

The Chinese State Circus present a new production for 2017, Dynasty. Thirty world-class Chinese acrobats, aerial artists and jugglers are joined by the masters of martial arts, the legendary Shaolin Warriors, for a thrilling show of acrobatics.

Duloch Park, Dunfermline

Tue 15 Aug

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32)

Wed 16 Aug

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32)

Thu 17 Aug

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32)

…and 3 more dates until 20 Aug

King's Park, Stirling

Tue 8 Aug

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32) / 01786 443113

Wed 9 Aug

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32) / 01786 443113

Thu 10 Aug

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32) / 01786 443113

…and 3 more dates until 13 Aug

Queen's Links, Aberdeen

Mon 24 Jul

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32)

Tue 25 Jul

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32)

Wed 26 Jul

£12–£36 (Children £10–£32)

…and 4 more dates until 30 Jul

Also at:

The Circus of Horrors: The Never Ending Nightmare

The troupe celebrates its 21st anniversary with its latest spectacular featuring an amalgamation of bizarre, brave and beautiful acts all woven into an Alice in Horrorland type story driven by a mainly original soundscape.

Central Park, Plymouth

Sat 9 Sep

£16–£28

Sat 16 Sep

£16–£28

Electric Palace, Bridport

Wed 16 Aug

£24 / 01308 428 354

Globe Theatre, Blackpool

Fri 27 Oct

£16–£25

Sat 28 Oct

£16–£25

Sun 29 Oct

£16–£25

…and 2 more dates until 31 Oct

Also at:

…and at 20 other places

Gerry Cottle's Circus

The traditional big top show brings the thrills and spills again, with 50 acts, including illusionists, skaters, clowns, bike tricks and much more.

Paignton Green Seafront

…and 23 more dates until 29 Aug

Torre Abbey, Torquay

Mon 24 Jul

Tue 25 Jul

Wed 26 Jul

…and 4 more dates until 30 Jul

Moscow State Circus: Gostinitsa

The internationally-acclaimed Russian circus troupe returns with ever more impressive acrobatics, clowning and aerial feats.

Branksome Recreation Ground, Poole

Thu 24 Aug

£12–£36

Fri 25 Aug

£12–£36

Sat 26 Aug

£12–£36

…and 3 more dates until 29 Aug

Dunorlan Park, Tunbridge Wells

Thu 31 Aug

£12–£36 / 01892 526121

Fri 1 Sep

£12–£36 / 01892 526121

Sat 2 Sep

£12–£36 / 01892 526121

Sun 3 Sep

£12–£36 / 01892 526121

Eel Brook Common, London SW6

Wed 18 Oct

£12–£36 / 020 3795 2176

Thu 19 Oct

£12–£36 / 020 3795 2176

Fri 20 Oct

£12–£36 / 020 3795 2176

…and 9 more dates until 29 Oct

Also at:

Planet Circus

Big top shenanigans to thrill all the family, including motorbike stunts, clowns and aerial and high wire antics.

Circus Site, Scarborough

Mon 24 Jul

£6.99–£15

Tue 25 Jul

£6.99–£15

Wed 26 Jul

£6.99–£15

…and 33 more dates until 28 Aug

Cirque Berserk

A large-scale family circus show with jugglers, acrobats, aerialists, dancers, musicians and stuntmen. Highlights include Hercules the strongman, award-winning clown Tweedy and a hair-raising motorcycle routine from Globe of Death.

Comments

Post a comment