Metallica finish new album

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 22 September 2016


Metallica have finally finished working on new album 'Hardwired... To Self Destruct', just two months before it's due to be released

Metallica have finished their new album.

The heavy metal band completed work on 'Hardwired... To Self Destruct', which is due to be released on November 18, and have been tweaking the final product over the last week to make sure that everything was exactly how they wanted it.

A post on official Metallica website read: "Guess what?!? It's DONE! We have put the finishing touches on our next album 'Hardwired...To Self-Destruct' and are looking forward to the next phase of unleashing it to the world, waking the monster that is Metallica and hitting the road. (sic)"

Drummer Lars Ulrich - who is joined by frontman James Hetfield, guitarist Kirk Hammett, and bassist Rob Trujillo - also featured in a video on the website which saw him mark off the last 'x' on the work board indicating which parts of each song have been completed.

In the video, the 'Enter Sandman' hitmaker said: "Are we done with this record? Oh we are? Shall I put the last x on the board? Is there a ribbon cutting thing or scissors or anything?"

The 'Master of Puppets' hitmaker also teased there would be another Metallica record coming "any decade now after this one", a joke in reference to the fact that 'Hardwired... To Self Destruct' will be their first release since 2008's 'Death Magnetic'.

The metal veterans also announced they have made changes to the deluxe edition of the album, replacing the previously announced 'Riff Origins' with a live recording of their set from Rasputin's in Berkeley, California, from this year's Record Store Day.

The bonus CD will also feature a new recording of 'Lords of Summer', previously available only as a limited edition single during Black Friday in 2014.

'Hardwired... To Self Destruct' updated track listing:

Disc One

  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We're Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Dream No More
  6. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

  1. Confusion
  2. ManUNkind
  3. Here Comes Revenge
  4. Am I Savage?
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out the Bone

Disc Three (bonus)

  1. Lords of Summer (2016)
  2. Ronnie Rising Medley
  3. When a Blind Man Cries
  4. Remember Tomorrow
  5. Helpless (live at Rasputin Music)
  6. Hit the Lights (live at Rasputin Music)
  7. The Four Horsemen (live at Rasputin Music)
  8. Ride the Lightning (live at Rasputin Music)
  9. Fade to Black (live at Rasputin Music)
  10. Jump in the Fire (live at Rasputin Music)
  11. For Whom the Bell Tolls (live at Rasputin Music)
  12. Creeping Death (live at Rasputin Music)
  13. Metal Militia (live at Rasputin Music)
  14. Hardwired (live in Minneapolis)

Elsewhere on the web

Post a comment