Laura Mvula and Kano get four MOBO nominations each

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 21 September 2016
Laura Mvula

Laura Mvula

The 2016 MOBO Awards nominations have been announced and Laura Mvula and Kano lead the way with four nominations each

Laura Mvula and Kano lead the way at this year's MOBO Awards with four nominations each.

The 'Overcome' singer could walk away from the ceremony at The SSE Hydro in Glasgow on November 4 with an armful of gongs as she is up for Best Female Act, Best Album for 'The Dreaming Room', Best R&B/Soul Act and Best Video for 'Phenomenal Woman'.

Kano will battle it out with Laura in the Best Album category for his LP 'Made In The Manor', while the rapper is also listed in categories for Best Male Act, Best Grime Act and Best Song for his track 'Three Wheel-Ups' with Giggs and Wiley.

Hot on the heels of his Mercury Prize win Skepta is up for the accolades; Best Male Act, Best Grim Act and Best Album for 'Konnichiwa', while Craig David's comeback has been recognised with two nominations for Best Male Act and Best Song for his single with Big Narstie 'When The Bassline Drops'.

Three-piece girl band M.O - Annie Ashcroft, Frankee Connolly and Nadine Samuels - have received a nomination for Best Song for their hit 'Who Do You Think Of?' and they are thrilled to have been recognised by the MOBOs, which recognises music of black origin.

Speaking at the announcement of the MOBO nominations at London's Ronnie Scott's Jazz Club, Frankee told BANG Showbiz: "We are so excited we can't stop smiling."

Annie added: "We will celebrate by picking out our outfits. We do celebrate but we always think, 'Work on the next thing.' But this is a massive tick off the bucket list so I think we can celebrate."

M.O are up against the likes of Krept & Konan, Chase and Status, Ghetts, Craig David, Lethal Bizzle, Naughty Boy, Tinnie Tempah and WSTRN, to name but a few of those listed in the Best Song category.

Speaking about their competition, Annie said: "Everyone is amazing in that category, it's humbling and we feel great to be put in with all those great artists. We've grown up watching the MOBOs ever since we can remember it, and seeing how much it's progressed and how much it influences people and it's opened so many doors, so it's a massive part of our lives music-wise. We are the only girl group which is amazing."

Michael Kiwanuka is nominated for Best Album for 'Love & Hate' and Best R&B/Soul Act and like M.O he is thrilled to have been recognised at an awards show he has grown up following.

Kiwanuka told BANG Showbiz: "It feels awesome, especially, (being in a category with) good artists, it's a good year this year for British music and British black music, it's awesome. I've watched the MOBOs growing up, the years of Ms Dynamite, so it means a big deal, close to home it's the first thing that you can relate to ... the MOBOs is on your doorstep so you feel like one day maybe you can achieve that so it's nice to be here. It's definitely more important to be part of the MOBOs than a reality show because it promotes people's art and unique individuality. I feel that other stuff in the media is not really supporting that."

MOBOs 2016 full list of nominations:

Best Male Act:

Craig David




Tinie Tempah

Best Female Act:

Katy B

Lady Leshurr

Laura Mvula

Little Simz


Best Newcomer:


AJ Tracey



Izzy Bizu

Kojey Radical


Nadia Rose

Ray Blk


Best Album:

Giggs - Landlord

Kano - Made In The Manor

Laura Mvula - The Dreaming Room

Michael Kiwanuka - Love & Hate

Skepta - Konnichiwa

Best Hip Hop Act:



Little Simz

Section Boyz

Wretch 32

Best Song:

Abra Cadabra Feat. Krept and Konan "Robbery (Remix)"

(Produced by Yamaica)

Chase & Status Feat. Frisco "Funny"

(Produced by Chase & Status)

Craig David Feat. Big Narstie "When The Bassline Drops"

(Produced by White N3rd)

Ghetts - "You Dun Know Already"

(Produced by Sir Spyro)

J.Hus "Friendly" (Produced by J5)

Jorja Smith "Blue Lights"

(Produced by Joice)

Kano Feat. Giggs & Wiley "Three Wheel-Ups"

(Produced by Swifta Beater)

Lethal Bizzle "Wobble"

(Produced by Diztortion)

M.O "Who do you think Of"

(Produced by Fred Gibson)

Naughty Boy Feat. Beyoncé & Arrow Benjamin "Runnin'"

(Produced by Naughty Boy)

Tinie Tempah Feat. Zara Larsson "Girls Like"

(Produced by KDA)

WSTRN "In 2"

(Produced by PRGRSHN for PARALLEL)

Best Video:

Bugzy Malone - Moving

(Directed by Bugzy Malone)

Kojey Radical - Footsteps

(Directed by The Rest)

Laura Mvula - Phenomenal Woman

(Directed by Alex Southam)

M.I.A - Borders (Directed by M.I.A)

Nadia Rose - SKWOD

(Directed by Reece Proctol)

Best R&B/Soul Act:

James Blake

Laura Mvula

Michael Kiwanuka



Best Grime Act (In Association With BBC Radio 1XTRA):

AJ Tracey





Best International Act:

(This category will be reduced to 5 final nominees on 17 October)

Anderson .Paak


Bryson Tiller

Chance The Rapper

DJ Khaled


Frank Ocean

Justin Bieber

Kanye West


Major Lazer



Tory Lanez

Travis Scott

Best Jazz Act:

Bill Laurance

Cory Henry

Esperanza Spalding

Jacob Collier

Michael Janisch

Best Gospel Act:

Andrew Bello

Guvna B

Sarah Teibo


Volney Morgan & New-Ye

Best Reggae Act:






Best African Act:

(This category will be reduced to 5 final nominees on 17 October)


Kwamz & Flava


Mr Eazi

Mr Silva


Tekno Miles

Tiwa Savage


Yemi Alade

Post a comment