Busted announce new LP Night Driver

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 9 September 2016


Busted are to release their first record in 13 years in November

Busted have announced their first album in 13 years.

The pop rock trio - comprised of Charlie Simpson, Matt Willis and James Bourne - will release 'Night Driver' on November 11 and have teased that it will be unlike their previous material because they feel the old songs "belong to that time".

Guitarist James said: "The last thing we wanted to do was try to recreate what we used to have.

"It belongs to that time. All real artists evolve, all real artists try things, it's unnatural not to."

And frontman Charlie - who quit the rock/pop group in 2005 and previously vowed never to return - added that the album is a "reflection" of themselves now.

He said: "On this record, we're older, we've had completely different experiences than what we'd have been talking about ten years ago. It's an authentic reflection of who we are today."

Matt, James and Charlie recently confirmed that, following the success of their current 'Pigs Can Fly' arena tour, they are "elated" to be starting a "new chapter" as a band and will be releasing new music after striking up a deal through Warner Music.

Bassist Matt, 33, said: "We wrote some awesome songs together and now Busted are back! The three of us went into the studio with no preconceptions, and were so elated with the results that we wanted to start a new chapter of our band!

"We are having an incredible time on our arena tour and are now looking forward to releasing new music through a global partnership with East West. It's great to see Dan, Howard and the team as excited about the new music as we are."

Matt believes the new tracks are the best they've ever done and that fans may be "shocked" at first because the style is very different to their previous offerings like 'Year 3000' and 'What I Go To School For'.

He said: "It's the best s**t we've ever done by ten times. The first single is f***ing ridiculous. I'm more proud of our first single than anything I've ever done in my life. It is the most epic song, it's ridiculous.

"I think people are going to be a bit shocked but it's what we wanted. It wasn't on purpose, we just started working and ended up writing these certain style of songs, in a certain type of way and it all happened."

Busted have been playing two new songs 'Coming Home' and 'Easy', both featured on the record, at their shows including their May comeback tour and a debut performance at Isle of Wight Festival in June.

The record is the follow-up to 2003's 'A Present for Everyone'

'Night Driver' tracklisting:

'Coming Home'

'Night Driver'

'On What You're On'

'New York'

'Thinking Of You'

'Without It'

'One Of A Kind'

'I Will Break Your Heart'

'Kids With Computers'


'Out Of Our Minds'

'Those Days Are Gone'

Post a comment