Chris Stapleton, Eric Church and Maren Morris lead CMT nominations

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 31 August 2016
Maren Morris

Maren Morris

The 50th Country Music Awards have announced the nominations in advance of the November ceremony

Chris Stapleton, Eric Church and Maren Morris lead the nominations for this year's Country Music Awards with five nods apiece.

'Tennessee Whisky' singer Chris is up for the coveted Entertainer of the Year prize, alongside Garth Brooks, Luke Bryan, Carrie Underwood and Keith Urban, while he also scored nominations in the Single of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Video of the Year and Musical Event of the Year categories, with the latter coming for 'You Are My Sunshine', his duet with wife Morgane.

Meanwhile, Eric is also up for Single of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, and Music Video of the Year, with his other two nominations coming in the Album of the Year and Song of the Year categories.

Newcomer Maren has been given the nod in the album, single, and song shortlists, while she is also up for Female Vocalist of the Year and New Artist of the Year, and is stunned by her haul.

She tweeted: "I just said "YAS QUEEN" to myself.

"But seriously, am so humbled by these nominations. Fight for your art and the rest follows suit. (sic)"

Hot on the heels of the trio are Dierks Bentley, Carrie Underwood, and Keith Urban, who picked up four nominations each, while Tim McGraw is up for three prizes.

Carrie will again team up with Brad Paisley to host the ceremony, which takes place in Nashville, Tennessee, on 2 November, and will broadcast live on ABC.

CMT Awards 2016 nominations:

Entertainer of the Year:

Garth Brooks

Luke Bryan

Chris Stapleton

Carrie Underwood

Keith Urban

Album of the Year:

'Black' - Dierks Bentley

'Hero' - Maren Morris

'Mr. Misunderstood' - Eric Church

'Ripcord' - Keith Urban

'Storyteller' - Carrie Underwood

Single of the Year:

'Die a Happy Man' - Thomas Rhett

'Humble and Kind' - Tim McGraw

'My Church' - Maren Morris

'Nobody to Blame' - Chris Stapleton

'Record Year' - Eric Church

Song of the Year:

'Burning House'- Cam

'Die a Happy Man' - Thomas Rhett

'Humble and Kind' - Tim McGraw

'My Church' - Maren Morris

'Record Year' - Eric Church

Male Vocalist of the Year:

Dierks Bentley

Eric Church

Tim McGraw

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year:

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

New Artist of the Year:

Kelsea Ballerini

Brothers Osborne

Maren Morris

Old Dominion

Cole Swindell

Vocal Duo of the Year:

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Joey + Rory

Maddie & Tae

Vocal Group of the Year:

Lady Antebellum

Little Big Town

Old Dominion

Rascal Flatts

Zac Brown Band

Music Video of the Year:

'Burning House' - Cam

'Fire Away' - Chris Stapleton

'Humble and Kind' - Tim McGraw

'Record Year' - Eric Church

'Somewhere on a Beach' - Dierks Bentley

Musical Event of the Year:

'Different For Girls' - Dierks Bentley feat. Elle King

'Home Alone Tonight' - Luke Bryan featuring Karen Fairchild

'The Fighter' - Keith Urban (featuring Carrie Underwood)

'Think of You' - Chris Young (duet with Cassadee Pope)

'You Are My Sunshine' - Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton

Musician of the Year:

Jerry Douglas (Dobro/Lap Steel Guitar)

Paul Franklin (Steel Guitar)

Dann Huff (Guitar)

Brent Mason (Guitar)

Derek Wells (Guitar)

Post a comment