Oasis to release unheard tracks

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 22 July 2016
Noel and Liam Gallagher

Noel and Liam Gallagher

Oasis are to reissue their third album 'Be Here Now' as a triple-disc collection featuring a new version of 'D'You Know What I Mean?' and a host of previously unheard songs

Oasis are to reissue their third album 'Be Here Now' with previously unheard tracks.

The LP - which originally came out in August 1997 - is to be re-released as part of the band's 'Chasing The Sun' series and will be available from October 7 via Big Brother Recordings.

The reissue contains unheard song 'If We Shadows', a demo version of 'Trip Inside (Be Here Now)' which became 'Be Here Now' on the final tracklisting and a new mix of 'D'You Know What I Mean?' - the first single from the record which was number one in several countries.

Noel Gallagher - who broke up Oasis in 2009 when he walked out of the group following a bust-up with his brother Liam - had intended to remix the entire album due to what he considers to be the over-produced sound of the original release but after completing his 'NG's 2016 Rethink' of 'D'You Know What I Mean?' he decided to leave the rest of the songs in their original "mental" format.

He said: "I've tried to redo the whole album. I went into the studio and after about two days I was like, 'This is missing the point, the album is supposed to be this f***ing mental.' We got as far as the first track before we couldn't be arsed any more and gave up ... It does sound f***ing mega though!

"I went back to a couple of things I'd edited and thought, 'No, they sound f***ing s**t, they sound better when there's no singing before three minutes, so, y'know, you're kind of digesting the cocaine before the singing starts. It is to be accompanied with a crate of beer and a bag of f***ing charlie, and don't be making any plans for the next couple of days. That's the spirit in which it was intended. And if you listen to it in that spirit, it might be the greatest album of all time."

As well as the rarities the reissue also includes a disc of demo versions of the songs recorded on the Caribbean island of Mustique and all the B-sides from the album's singles, including highlights such as 'Stay Young', 'Angel Child' and 'Going Nowhere'.

'Be Here Now - Chasing The Sun Edition' comes in the following formats: Standard CD and digital download, Special Edition 3 x CD and deluxe digital download, 12in vinyl LP with download code for two volumes of bonus content and the limited edition Super Deluxe Box Set - which includes LP, Special Edition 3 x CD, hardback coffee table book with new sleeve notes, exclusive vinyl plus a 12in white label sampler of the 'Mustique demos' and Oasis merchandise.

'Be Here Now - Chasing The Sun Edition' tracklisting:

Disc 1 - 'Be Here Now':

'D'You Know What I Mean?'

'My Big Mouth'

'Magic Pie'

'Stand By Me'

'I Hope, I Think, I Know'

'The Girl In The Dirty Shirt'

'Fade In-Out'

'Don't Go Away'

'Be Here Now'

'All Around The World'

'It's Gettin' Better (Man!!)'

'All Around The World (Reprise)'

Disc 2 - B-sides and Extra Tracks:

'Stay Young'

'The Fame'


'(I Got) The Fever'

'My Sister Lover'

'Going Nowhere'

'Stand By Me' (Live At Bonehead's Outtake)

'Untitled' (Demo)

'Help!' (Live In LA)

'Setting Sun' (Live Radio Broadcast)

'If We Shadows' (Demo)

'Don't Go Away' (Demo)

'My Big Mouth' (Live At Knebworth Park)

'D'You Know What I Mean?' (NG's 2016 Rethink)

Disc 3 - Mustique Demos:

'D'You Know What I Mean?' (Mustique Demo)

'My Big Mouth' (Mustique Demo)

'My Sister Lover' (Mustique Demo)

'Stand By Me' (Mustique Demo)

'I Hope, I Think, I Know' (Mustique Demo)

'The Girl In The Dirty Shirt' (Mustique Demo)

'Don't Go Away' (Mustique Demo)

'Trip Inside (Be Here Now)' (Mustique Demo)

'Fade In-Out' (Mustique Demo)

'Stay Young' (Mustique Demo)

'Angel Child' (Mustique Demo)

'The Fame' (Mustique Demo)

'All Around The World' (Mustique Demo)

'It's Gettin' Better (Man!!)' (Mustique Demo)

Post a comment