Dolly Parton to release new studio album Pure & Simple

Dolly Parton to release new studio album Pure & Simple

Country star’s new release also contains her 2014 Glastonbury live set

Dolly Parton has spent more nearly 50 years in the music industry and doesn’t show signs of putting down her cowboy hat any time soon. Her 43rd studio album Pure & Simple will be released in August.

As well as 12 brand new tracks, the album also includes Parton’s triumphant 2014 Glastonbury headline set. ‘I may not be pure, but I'm as simple as they come,’ says Parton in classic Dolly style. ‘This new project is really special to me because I'm taking my fans back to my roots. I feel like these songs have a pure, tender side and we didn't go overboard with arrangements.’

More worldwide gem than national treasure, Parton has been performing since 1967 and is known globally for tracks including ‘Jolene’, ‘I Will Always Love You’, ‘Islands in the Stream’ and ‘9 to 5.’ As well as touting her catchy country wares, Parton has also had a pretty successful film career, having starred in 9 to 5 with Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin, The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas for which she received a Best Actress Golden Globe nomination, and perennial weepy Steel Magnolias. She also has her own theme park, Dollywood, (because why on earth not) and campaigns on behalf of children’s literacy, particularly with her Imagination Library, which sends one book per month to every child enrolled from birth until they enter kindergarten.

Pure & Simple Tracklist (CD1)
1. Pure and Simple
2. Say Forever You'll be Mine
3. Never Not Love You
4. Kiss It (And Make it All Better)
5. Can't be that Wrong
6. Outside Your Door
7. Tomorrow is Forever
8. I'm Sixteen
9. Head over High Heels
10. Forever Love
11. Mama
12. Lovin' You

Live From Glastonbury Tracklist (CD2)
1. Fire Medley: Baby I'm Burning / Great Balls of Fire / This Girl Is On Fire
2. Why'd You Come in Here Lookin' Like That
3. Jolene
4. Blue Smoke
5. Coat of Many Colors
6. Rocky Top
7. Mud Song
8. Banks of the Ohio
9. Here You Come Again
10. Two Doors Down
11. Islands in the Stream
12. 9 to 5
13. Lay Your Hands on Me (featuring Richie Sambora)
14. I Will Always Love You

Pure & Simple is out via Dolly Records / RCA Nashville on Fri 19 Aug.