Longlist for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2016 announced

Longlist for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2016 announced

William McIlvanney, 'father of Scottish detective fiction'

The McIlvanney Prize for best Scottish crime novel is awarded at Bloody Scotland in September

There's been a murder! Many murders. In fact, if we were to count up all the deaths in the ten novels selected for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Scotland would seem a pretty dicey destination.

The longlist was chosen by an independent panel of readers and features giants of the genre, in both authors and characters. Ian Rankin's nominated novel, Even Dogs in the Wild, marks the 20th outing of maverick policeman and Oxford Bar frequenter John Rebus (now retired) and the fifth of Malcolm Fox of The Complaints. Other established authors include; Val McDermid with Splinter the Silence, the ninth story in the Tony Hill and Carol Jordan series, which sees the pair tackle some personal issues as well as an online predator; and Stuart MacBride, who brings Sergeant Logan McRae and foul-mouthed DCI Steel together to solve their tenth case in the granite city.

The shortlist also features new characters. ES Thomson's Beloved Poison is the first outing of apothecary Jem Flockhart, with a sequel due to be published in early 2017. When Flockhart discovers strange relics hidden in the chapel at St Saviour's Infirmary her quest to understand their meaning reveals long forgotten, potentially deadly secrets. A Fine House in Trinity is the debut novel of Lesley Kelly and tells the story of unemployed chef Joseph Staines, who inherits a dilapidated mansion under suspicious circumstances.

Longlist for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2016:
Even Dogs in the Wild – Ian Rankin (Orion)
Open Wounds – Douglas Skelton (Luath)
The Damage Done – James Oswald (Michael Joseph)
The Special Dead – Lin Anderson (Macmillan)
In the Cold Dark Ground – Stuart MacBride (Harper Collins)
Black Widow – Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown)
The Jump – Doug Johnstone (Faber)
Splinter the Silence – Val McDermid (Little, Brown)
Beloved Poison ES – Thomson (Little, Brown)
A Fine House in Trinity – Lesley Kelly (Sandstone)

This year’s Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival is the first since the death of William McIlvanney, a man often credited as the father of Scottish detective fiction. Bloody Scotland 2016 is dedicated in his honour and the winner of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year will now be awarded The McIlvanney Prize. The ceremony takes place on the festival's opening evening on Fri 9 Sep.

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the information displayed here is accurate, always check with the venue before attending (especially during the Covid-19 pandemic).

Bloody Scotland

An innovative festival drawing on Scotland's love of the literary macabre and celebrating crime writing by bringing together leading Scottish and international writers, showcasing debut voices and encouraging new writers. As well as interviews and panels there is a torchlight procession, criminal cabaret, a crime writer's…

Various venues: Stirling

Fri 17 Sep

Times & prices vary

Lin Anderson

Edinburgh crime writer Lin Anderson discusses her latest work. Lin Anderson is the co-founder of crime writing festival Bloody Scotland and author of numerous thrillers. She has written two series of novels, one starring forensic scientist Rhona MacLeod and the other private investigator Patrick de Courvoisier.

Doug Johnstone

Scottish author Doug Johnstone discusses his latest novel, Crash Land, a thriller set amidst the stark Orkney landscape. Doug Johnstone is a writer, musician and journalist based in Edinburgh. His novels include The Ossians, Gone Again and The Dead Beat. His 2016 book, The Jump was shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for…

Post a comment