SAY Award 2016 shortlist announced

SAY Award 2016 shortlist announced

2014 winners, Young Fathers / credit: Neil Thomas Douglas

Previous winners Young Fathers compete with Chrvches, Emma Pollock and FFS

The shortlist for this year's Scottish Album of the Year Award has been announced. Celebrating the best albums released by Scottish artists between April 2015 and March 2016, the winner can look forward to a first prize of £20,000.

This year's public vote was won by FFS, the novel supergroup comprising Franz Ferdinand with US rockers Sparks.

Now in its sixth year, the previous winners are Young Fathers, RM Hubbert, Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat, plus last year's victor Kathryn Joseph for her debut album Bones You Have Thrown Me and Blood I've Spilled.

SAY Award 2016 shortlist:
Anna Meredith, Varmints
Auntie Flo, Theory of Flo
C Duncan, Architect
Chvrches, Every Open Eye
Emma Pollock, In Search of Harperfield
FFS, FFS (public vote winner)
Lau, The Bell That Never Rang
Young Fathers, White Men Are Black Men Too
The Revenge, Love That Will Not Die
Steve Mason, Meet the Humans

This year's winner will be announced at a ceremony at Paisley Town Hall on Wed 29 June.

Post a comment